We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Ranked #145 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, Japan
2 reviews
“Good Location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stylish Hotel and best choice for couples. Located near subway station and good access to sightseeing points. We stayed at junior suite with terrace. The room has bath on the terrace and enjoy taking a bath under starlights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Seiichi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Seiichi I,
Thank you for the favorable comments. I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    621
    203
    67
    40
See reviews for
273
766
107
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located, just outside the main tourist area, close to metro stations. Every thing was fine and up to Hilton standards, but the staff stood out, in being genuinly friendly and guessing your smallest wish. Would definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Maarten B,
Thank you for visiting the Alexandra Barcelona Doubletree by Hilton and sharing your valued comments.
I'm pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one.
Your comments are certainly invaluable to me and my dedicated Team Members.
Than you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel charges a steep 35 Euros a night for parking AND they require you to turn over the car keys at the front desk in case the "car needs to be moved". Whether you own the are or are in a rental, usually only the driver or owner is INSURED to drive that vehicle. If a hotel employee moves and damages the car, it puts the owner or renter at RISK. General Manager and Front Desk Managers are NOT service oriented and do not bother to return calls in an effort to resolve issues. They alone give the Hilton brand a very bad name.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
7 Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jeannie C,
I am happy to see that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and the comfort of your room, including the complimentary breakfast in the morning as a Hhonors Diamond member but I am totally disappointed about the issue that you had regarding the car park.
Our car park has a flat rate of 35€ per night as you can see advertised at any website. In addition, as usual we kindly inform our guests upon check in over this service and its charge.
I must say that I totally disagree when I am reading your opinion about not being attended by us, as my front desk manager talk tou you a couple of times and I also wrote to you an email about this issue.
We do appreciate and recognize our Diamond members as our most valued guests, that the reason why we prepare a personal welcome letter, we offer complimentary breakfast, free wifi, complementary bottle of water, we allocate our best rooms and we upgrade them when is possible. We are always available for you 24h in our careline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In the midst of a stay at the lovely Alexandra - the rooms are nice and well-appointed, but apparently not all room views are worthwhile. Unfortunately, our room overlooks a dingy courtyard - an opaque glass window that is only supposed to tilt 10cm but opens all the way because the lock seems to be busted. Being a Diamond member, and having used a lot of points for this stay, I asked that our room be changed to something with a better view. They said to come back later in the day and they would accommodate a room change, as the hotel was "fully booked" but would have something available after checkouts were processed. Upon return, there is no room available, and the only excuse available is that the individual who offered us the room is an intern and didn't know any better. Again, I want to take nothing away from the beauty of this hotel and the comfort of the actual room, but to talk this room up as some form of upgrade (because it's the highest floor) is an insult, especially after reading reviews of "gorgeous balconies". This unfortunate event just further tarnishes my view of how Hilton treats its most loyal customers. I'm disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrManderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear MrManderson,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience and for choosing the Alexandra Barcelona Doubletree by Hilton.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and value the feedback. The Alexandra Barcelona Doubletree by Hilton Team will incorporate your comments into our ongoing service training and daily preventive processes.
I hope you will give us another opportunity to show the quality hospitality and installations you deserve should you return to the Alexandra Barcelona.
Again, my sincere apology and thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's good to see that there is now a Hilton hotel in the centre of Barcelona, and we were really pleased with our stay.

The location is great, with plenty nearby, and an easy walk to Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. We had a drink at sitting outside the hotel and the service was very friendly.

Our room was at the front of the hotel with a big balcony. We didn't have any problem at all from noise and it was nice to be able to sit there and watch the world go by.

Breakfast was good.

We have another stay booked for a few weeks time, and are very much looking forward to staying at the Alexandra again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear KeithJenner,
Thank you for the favorable feedback.
I'm glad to know we exceeded your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here only one night coming in from a cruise. The location was great, close to the metro. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was modern and clean. The only issues we had was a very unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom and we couldn't get the room cool enough. We thought about letting the front desk know but we were hardly in our room and it didn't seem worth the effort to move. I'm sure they would have accommodated us had we made them aware.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear NJArmyWife,
Thank you for the valued feedback.
I do aplogize for the inconvenient you mentioned about the smell. Please let us know if you have any other issue during your next visit in order to move you to a different room.
I appreciate the comments and suggestions for improvement....which for sure I will consider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family of five stayed here for three nights, and enjoyed this hotel for its convenient location and friendly, helpful staff. We were within easy walking distance to almost everything that we wanted to see and do, and the front desk was very helpful with directions and tips. The rooms were clean and up to date. As Hilton Honors gold members we enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet each morning, with an excellent variety of items and a friendly wait staff.

There are plenty of great restaurants in the area, as well, and the front desk recommended a wonderful spot for tapas on our last night.

I would stay here again, hopefully we will get back to this beautiful city soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sheryl H,
Thank you for sharing your experience.
My Team and I appreciate the excellent feedback and value your loyality to the Hilton Family.
I'm pleased to know we exceeded your expectations and made a memorable impression.
Hope to see back in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#172 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#102 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#154 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#179 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#125 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Property: Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Address: Calle Mallorca 251 | Barcelona, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting innovative design and contemporary amenities, this historic boutique hotel is centrally located in the heart of Barcelona, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya streets, the best shopping, turistic and business area of the city. Boutique design hotel, casual-luxury, terrace-garden, outdoor swimming pool, private meeting rooms and high-level restoration: Solomillo Restaurant a gastronomic brasserie discovery to enjoy a simple and original formula: meat by weight and a Delicatessen Charcuterie with a lot of character, in a relaxed and special atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing