We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Ranked #144 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights before going on a cruise. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is not in the mainstream tourist area but is within walking distance to many of the main attractions. The room was small by U.S. standards but was clean and worked well. The view was to the rear of the building and was to a number of residential buildings. The hotel has a very modern feel. We arrived after flying on a Miami to Barcelona red eye. We were welcomed and staff went out of their way to arrange for our room before normal check in. We also did the Barcelona Tour Bus, which the hotel arranged a discount for. It was an excellent way to see the city in a short period of time and hit all the major attractions. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast, which was included. Breakfast was buffet style and OK, not great. The restaurant recommendations for restaurants, which included a tapas and local seafood restaurant were very good. The bar staff was also very friendly. This being our first trip to Barcelona we had some concern prior to arriving with language barrier. This was not the case as the majority of the staff could converse in english. When we return to Barcelona we would definitely stay at the Alexandra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiser965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Cruiser965,
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and its service, I really appreciate your time to write your experience.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    623
    203
    67
    40
See reviews for
275
768
107
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
216 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here on two occasions in June on either end of a driving trip in Provence. When we first arrived, we were exhausted from our trip and, due to the fact that it was still only about 11:30 am, we were told that we would not able to check in right away, as the rooms were still being cleaned, etc. Within 15 minutes, the gentleman at the front desk (Francisco), advised me that a room was now available and got us right in. (Muchas Gracias, Francisco!! We really needed a shower and a nap.). The hotel was clean and the staff were always friendly and accommodating.

The hotel enjoys a great location, within walking distance to the Placa Catalunya, the Ramblas, Sagrada Familia (about a mile) and around the corner from Gaudi's Casa Batllo and La Perdrera. There are scores of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops in the area and we always felt safe when walking around.

A couple of tips that might be helpful...

There is a small market across the street from the hotel where you can purchase, wine, beer, bottled water, snacks, etc. at reasonable prices.

If you take the Aerobus from the airport to Placa Catalunya...plan to walk to the hotel with your luggage (about 1/2 mile, perhaps a little further). Due to the short distance, the taxis refuse to take you.

There is a great little spot for breakfast around the corner on Rambla Catalunya...staff is friendly and multi-lingual and they serve a breakfast croissant with ham and cheese that is really good (a cost-effective alternative to the hotel breakfast). The place is called El Fornet, it's a chain and there are a lot of them around the area, good quality and good value.

Finally, the hotel is close to the Passeig de Gracia / La Pedrera stops on the Blue and Red Lines of the Barcelona Bus Turistic (the blue buses), so if you are using them as part of your sightseeing transportation, it is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear nucenturion
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I really appreciate it.
Francisco is one of many dedicated Team Members that truely understand the importance of genuine customer service. Our Team Goal is to make sure all guest feel special and welcomed.
Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Friendly welcome ! room was comfortable unfortunately had no view (window gave on a light shaft). Central location close to Paseig de Gracia and Ramblas de Catalunya. Nice restaurants nearby. As I need 200 caracters and because it already took 5 mn to complete the survey the hotel has nothing exiting and no special features which might diferentiate it from any other ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Susanne R
Thank you for taking the time to complete this opinion, I really appreciate it.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room 504 smells like smoke. When I told the staff, they seemed surprised. I asked them if they ever bothered to check the rooms themselves. They said no and would advise housekeeping manager. I said don't bother, the housekeeping manager IS the problem as the hallways were dirty as well. The housekeeping manager obviously does not walk the halls of the hotel. At check-in, they told me I already had checked in (did not). Took them 15 minutes to sort things out. Staff is young and amateur. Location is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank Preston V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Preston V
Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Barcelona a Doubletree by Hilton and sharing your valued feedback.
Please accept my sincere apology for any inconveniences you experienced.
Your comments are certainly invaluable in helping to identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience. I kindly inform you that following local law it is not permitted to smoke in the whole hotel area.
Again, "thank you" and hopefully you'll allow us another opportunity to be your choice of lodging in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were scheduled to stay at this hotel for 3 nights the end of May and had to flee after one night. The rooms were so noisy it was impossible to sleep. You could hear every movement from the room above us (it sounded like people dropping stuff on the floor over and over) and the next morning you could hear the maid sliding the curtains open on the rod in the next room. The staff was generally very attentive. The first room they showed us reeked of smoke. The bellman open the window and escorted us back down to the desk. They were fully booked but they managed to find a room that was available and he helped us get to that room. After he left I heard water running. Walking into the bathroom I could see water pouring our of the wall above the toilet. We ended up back in the smoky room -- which smelled somewhat better. The next morning when we tried to check out they initially told us we'd have to pay for the second night as we hadn't given 24 hours notice. After asking for the manager, they did agree to only have us pay for the night we stayed - you'll notice I didn't say "the night we slept there" as there was little of that. My suggestion is that if you can sleep through anything this would be a nice place to stay, but not for me!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Denise A,
Thank you for sharing the valuable feedback, I kindly take note of your comments in order to make the necessary investment to improve our installations.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were in Barcelona for 3 nights and chose to stay at the Doubletree because we had an excellent experience at the Doubletree in Istanbul. A Doubletree by hilton hotel sticks to what it commits to you, a clean 5 star room with great quality and service. Breakfast was another plus to this well placed hotel. it is a ten minute walk to the famous la ramblas and the metro station is just down the road. the staff at the hotel are well informed and could guide us through all our doubts. Overall, A big thumbs up for this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Chicu88,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review, I really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#172 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#99 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#150 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#178 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#126 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Property: Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Address: Calle Mallorca 251 | Barcelona, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting innovative design and contemporary amenities, this historic boutique hotel is centrally located in the heart of Barcelona, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya streets, the best shopping, turistic and business area of the city. Boutique design hotel, casual-luxury, terrace-garden, outdoor swimming pool, private meeting rooms and high-level restoration: Solomillo Restaurant a gastronomic brasserie discovery to enjoy a simple and original formula: meat by weight and a Delicatessen Charcuterie with a lot of character, in a relaxed and special atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing