We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Ranked #144 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here 4 nights, and were really happy with the stay. The hotel was really nice and the rooms were perfect. The staff was really helpful, and the bartender were first class. He had just joined this hotel after working in a michelin star restaurant, so he really knew what he was doing. He served the most amazing drinks! The positioning of the hotel was ok, it's a little far away from the beach/las ramblas, but it has a metro station nearby. The beds were comfortable and the food was really good. Overall a really good 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    615
    200
    66
    38
See reviews for
267
756
104
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night. We had a basic room with all the essentials. My hubby had breakfast in the morning and said it was good with restaurant style buffet. The breakfast was included with gold member status. We also received a large bottle of water upon request which was a life saver as we were dehydrated from our long plane ride all night.If you want to stay close to the action I would recommend this place. Everything is within walking distance and the metro is so close as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m2347m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you plan on spending your time all day and every day at the beach look at another property. If you are looking at a central location to all the attractions and restaurants this is perfect. If you want to go to the beach it is a short taxi ride. Rooms are great and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Jimriggs

Thank you for sharing your prevoius experience in our hotel,

We agree with you than the location of the property is perfect to visit all the highlights of Barcelona, being in the city center allow you to walk nearly everywhere (Casa Batllo, La Pedrera, Sagrada Familia, Rambla)

If you would like to enjoy the beach there is just 4 metro stops until reach La Barceloneta,

We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I decided to surprise my wife with a short stay in Barcelona for her birthday. I searched online through expedia and the Alexandra Barcelona was recommended. Of all the hotels I could have possibly booked, I'm pleased I chose this one.

On arrival we were greeted with smiling faces from reception and given complimentary cookies. The woman on reception (I think she was called Sara was friendly and offered to show us on the map the sites of Barcelona).

The hotel is modern and in very good condition, the room was also perfect with a stunning bathroom and a balcony which looked onto the main street which is just a short 2 minute walk to the main strip and the designer shops of Barcelona such as Gucci, Cartier, Emporio Armani etc etc.

We stayed in the hotel both evenings for dinner and the service and food was outstanding. On the first evening it rained heavily and we ate inside but on the second evening we ate on the veranda outside and were looked after by a very wonderful waitress called Barbara. The food is also very reasonably priced, we both had a three course meal and two bottles of wine for about 70 euros which is about £50, this we felt was very reasonable as the standard was very good and very 4 star hotel standard.

Breakfast the following morning was also to a very high standard along with the service by several helpful , happy staff. There was catering for all tastes including cooked English, cereal, fruit and meats.

From what we could see the hotel was popular with Americans and the atmosphere appeared to be relaxed and content.

When we checked out on the last day, the receptionists upheld their professional standards of being polite and friendly. Francesco was very helpful and professional on checking out as was the gentleman who organised a taxi for us (he was also the same gentleman who gave us a cookie on arrival) my apologies for forgetting your name but you have a beard and helped carry our bags to the taxi, thank you !

In conclusion, this is an excellent hotel, very worthy of its 4 star status , it was well presented and the staff are a credit to its employer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Nick T

Thank you for choosing our hotel for a such great occasion and share your stay with other guests!

We are truly happy to hear you had a great time to the Alexandra Barcelona and you found our team members helpful.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Not exactly the Hilton I was expecting - but turned out to be perfect. Great location, helpful and friendly staff, clean and quiet room. I would definitely choose to stay there again - actually, more attention and helpfulness than I usually receive from a "big" hotel in the city.

Room Tip: I was happy on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Morganowl

We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Alexandra Barcelona, a DoubleTree by Hilton, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit.

Here at the DoubleTree we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved,

Our team member are more than happy to help you with any question that you may have.

We hope to welcome back soon at Alexandra Barcelona a Doubletree by Hilton

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed early July on one of the higher floors. Hotel quite hotel and only re-branded as DoubleTree earlier this year. Elevators quite small as well as the car park. So watch out if your car is too big, you might not be able to drive up and down the ramp. Breakfast is very good, great service and good food. Staff at the reception also speaks very good English and friendly. Perfect location in the middle of Barcelona's shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. Hotel has nothing to do with DoubleTree brand, very contemporary and in a Bohemian style.

Room Tip: Higher floor due to noise from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kosmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Kosmar01

Thank you very much for sharing your insights from your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their experiences with us.

We look forward welcoming you back son at Alexandra Barcelona, a Doubletree by Hilton.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

we had arrived in Barcelona from a cruise; arriving early at the hotel prior to the posted check-in time the staff was extremly accomodating in handling our needs. Highly recommend the hotel; great location

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Brooke H

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your important opinion with us.

We are truly happy to hear you had a great time at Alexandra Barcelona, a Doubletree by Hilton and you found our team members helpful.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#162 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#101 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#184 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#131 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Property: Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Address: Calle Mallorca 251 | Barcelona, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting innovative design and contemporary amenities, this historic boutique hotel is centrally located in the heart of Barcelona, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya streets, the best shopping, turistic and business area of the city. Boutique design hotel, casual-luxury, terrace-garden, outdoor swimming pool, private meeting rooms and high-level restoration: Solomillo Restaurant a gastronomic brasserie discovery to enjoy a simple and original formula: meat by weight and a Delicatessen Charcuterie with a lot of character, in a relaxed and special atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing