We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of a longer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Ranked #150 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Start of a longer stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Visiting our son in Barcelona started with a couple of days at the Alexandra. The hotel is well located close but not too close to the action, with great bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Bed incredibly comfortable and our room and the rest of the hotel spotless. After orientating ourselves we went on to stay via Air B&B in a super apartment in Gracia. What a city Bafcelona is, can't wait until our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    629
    206
    69
    44
See reviews for
281
777
109
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 wonderful days on a mini break in Barcelona. Family of 5 in two rooms including a suite. Location was a big plus close to many attractions and shops. Staff couldn't be more helpful (especially Carolina at reception) helping with trips tickets and taxis for 5.

Definitely recommend the hotel but make sure breakfast is included.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Ayaz S

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Alexandra. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such detailed positive feedback of your stay, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities convenient and useful.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I looked at other comments about this hotel on TripAdvisor and found some which said the staff were rude. This in my experience is totally untrue. All the staff I met were extremely friendly and approachable. The hotel is conveniently located for Las Ramblas and plenty of other of the Barcelona attractions. The beach is a 20 minute stroll too. My only grievance is that all the floors are wooden and prone to noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 462nigels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear 462nigles

Thanks for your kind review of your stay at the DoubleTree Alexandra. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and found our staff helpful

We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree in future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for 2-days prior to boarding a cruise ship. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast was very good. The location is a brisk 20 minute walk to the Sagrada Família. Numerous restaurants and bars close by. Also, taxi's were readily available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear MarkB

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Alexandra . We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found our location and facilities useful and convenient.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is first class, great reception and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and crisp, all essentials and well maintained. I got a room on the 8th floor and weirdly enought it was in another building but you could only tell because of the elevator design. Not much of a hassle. Great place and great service!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Claudio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton Doubletree for four nights. We had paid for a deluxe room which was worth the extra money as it had a balcony overlooking the street. The rooms don't look huge, probably due to the proportions when you have a high ceiling! Despite not being huge they are clean, modern and comfortable. Unusually, for many European hotels in this chain, there is free WiFi. We like the Hilton brand but are often put off by this not being included and so this is what helped us to make the decision to stay here rather than other similar hotels in the city. Breakfast was also included and had a wide range of quality food with friendly staff seating and serving. We found this really useful as we weren't having to look around for something to eat as soon as we left the hotel. This meant that we could get on with the vast amount of sightseeing that there is to do in this city.
This is not one of the larger Hilton hotels and so feels a lot more friendly and comfortable than some of the bigger hotels in this chain. The staff recognise you and you recognise the staff over the length of the stay. We found all of the staff polite, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only reason that I have given very good rather than excellent for the service is that despite trying very hard to make a reservation for us at a restaurant a 5/10 minute walk away they were unable to do so due to an issue with the telephone number. Instead they gave us a recommendation for a restaurant where we had the worst meal during our time in Barcelona. We did however take a chance and visit Baribau (Carrer d' Aribau 131) the following night, without a reservation. They found us a table and this was a wonderful tapas meal in a modern and stylish restaurant.
This hotel is conveniently located for Sagrada Familia, Casa Mila and Casa Batllo. There is also a Metro stop just around the corner and a stop for the Hop on Hop off bus tour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Monica1080

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Alexandra. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree , we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Alexandra in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel. They accommodated our last minute stay at a good rate without gouging us. We stay on floor #1... a Hilton Honors floor, very modern, all black decorations in the hallway was not our style. The room was very "American" and was very clean, incredible water pressure in the small but clean bathroom. TV did not have the option to rent movies... not a big deal but we were worn down one evening and would have liked just to relax and watch an overpriced hotel movie... Hotel is close to the Gaudi buildings and within walking distance of La Sagrada Familia. Waterfront is an easy taxi ride about 7 euros... close the metro stations.

Room Tip: Stayed on Floor #1 which is actually the 3rd level of the hotel and it was high enough not to hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Floridapic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your opinion

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Alexandra Barcelona, a Doubletree by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#165 of 513 in Barcelona
1,757 reviews
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#129 of 513 in Barcelona
1,563 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
961 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
1,410 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Property: Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Address: Calle Mallorca 251 | Barcelona, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting innovative design and contemporary amenities, this historic boutique hotel is centrally located in the heart of Barcelona, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya streets, the best shopping, turistic and business area of the city. Boutique design hotel, casual-luxury, terrace-garden, outdoor swimming pool, private meeting rooms and high-level restoration: Solomillo Restaurant a gastronomic brasserie discovery to enjoy a simple and original formula: meat by weight and a Delicatessen Charcuterie with a lot of character, in a relaxed and special atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing