We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliest B&B in barcelona”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #45 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This summer we were on a bike trip from Barcelona too Paris.
we were a bit lost and couldn't find a hostel when we met Pablo.
He friendly pointed us the way too some nearby hostels and told us that he also had a bed and breakfast. at first we thought we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room but after we saw the room we were convinced.
and I'm glad we didn't look any further.
the room looked amazing and it's located at the heart of the old city. Pablo and Anna were very nice and showed us al the hip places to visit and even got a free breakfast(they saw we needed the energy for our biking trip). the first night we didn't even go out to see the city because the view from the balcony and the live music down in the streets was just too perfect. after 2 days we continued our trip north but if we'll ever visit Barcelona again we won't hesitate to stay at Pablo an Anna's.
special tip for al the lads: go here with your girlfriend, it's the most romantic reasonable priced place in barcelona.(too bad I was stuck there with a friend :) )

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for El Balcon del Born
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Certainly a great location! In the middle of trendy El Born and within very easy walking distance to train station Estacio de Franca with access to airport and main station Barcelona Sans (this makes for relaxed arrival and departure). Lots of bars and cafes - great area for exploring. Pablo and Anna will help you chosing where to go and are both very nice. As they just opened they will really look after you and it is so much nicer having somebody to talk to compared to staying in an anonymos hotel. I travelled with a friend and we had 2 single beds in room El Palau. BIg room with character - lots of space - high ceiling and best of all is the baclony just big enough for 2 to sit on. You have a little table - so take a drink and watch life go on down below.... very nice to be able to take a break from sightseeing but having the feeling that you are still in the middle of it.
No problem that we didn´t have en suite - bathroom was just across the landing and we pretty much had it to ourselves, Our room was the first in the flat and access to the other rooms was from the main breakfast room - some people might find that inconvenient to walk through there to get to the bathroom. All is very clean. Beds-matraces were good but as everywhere in BNC there is some degree of noise from the street. Take earplugs! Area felt safe to walk around! Good coffee for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere around the breakfast table. Good place to stay -it will bring Barcelona even closer to your heart! What a great city!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mupfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great service, kind owners and good location. 6 to 7 minutes too walck too the beach.
We also lived in a 4star hotell in barcelona, but this was better!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Ove U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were 4 friends back-packing, and we had nothing reserved when arriving in Barcelona. We went from door to door looking for a hostel, and that's when Pablo came out and asked if we needed a room.

And oh my god, when we saw the guest house we were stunned! It was the most beautiful place we slept the entire trip. Such a nice classic interior, very stylish but homie at the same time. Fantastic. Large bedrooms, with great beds.

The owners, Anna and Pablo is a super nice couple. Very helpful and friendly. We felt right at home!

If you ever go to Barcelona, this is the place to stay. No doubt.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Pablo and Anna are a very nice couple. I met them twice when I was in Barcelona. The last time I booked a room with private bathroom for 4 days. The rooms are all very spacious and modern with historic elements. All rooms have large balconies and you can have a view over the historic center. The location is great - next to the picasso museum and the port. In the evenings I just walked down the streets to find some excellent restaurants.
I would prefere the B&B instead of a hotel because at breakfast time you can meet all the other nice travellers. Pablo gives you good advice and some insider information to discover the city. All in all I would highly recommend this place and I will come back definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We reserved this room with relatively little information available - and it was a wonderful find! The location is great for a visit to Barcelona, in the interesting Born area which was perfect for walking and exploring. It is right off a plaza which has a few restaurants and bars which make for a nice atmosphere. The entrance to the building is a little dark and dingy - but the Balcon de Born itself is quite nice and bright. Pablo and Ana were great hosts - they were helpful with ideas and personable. They gave us a great introduction to the area and were constantly looking to improve their service. The breakfast was simple but filling - fairly typical of Spanish breakfasts. The bright dining room and multiple balconies were great spaces to hang out.
The rooms themselves were clean and bright. One room has a private bathroom - but the 2 shared bathrooms were spotless. The only downside was that noise from the people in the plazas below could be disturbing for light sleepers - but a set of earplugs could easily take care of this.
Overall - we had a great stay at Balcon del Born and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: One room with private bath, others with shared baths.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The location is the best place in Barcelona.
You can go walking eveywhere:
To the beach,The cathedral,museo Picasso,Las Ramblas,Ciutadella park....in Born ,is full of very nice restaurants and small cafeterias,bars...
The House is like the photos,very nice and have a very good atmosphere,and very,very clean.
We enjoyed the breakfast very much because we felt like a family with Pablo and Anna.
They are both really nice and helpfull.
For me ,the perfect host.
I would highly recommend this B&B.
I come often to Barcelona but,from now that I know this place,I will always come back because,here I really felt relax,like at Home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#163 of 513 in Barcelona
979 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#431 of 513 in Barcelona
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcino 147
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
602 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
We Boutique Hotel
We Boutique Hotel
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
230 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#24 of 308 in Barcelona
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing