We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in BCN”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #50 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This B&B was just what my friend and I were looking for after 5 weeks of traveling. It is in a great location and the owners are so helpful and nice. The breakfast was typical of Spain; toast, cheese, jam, cereal but they also has great juice, wonderful Spanish coffee and fresh fruit! Not to mention a beautiful porch to sit on and browse the square bellow while you eat.

Rooms, bathroom and the whole apartment was always very clean and beautiful. This is the perfect place for a couple, single, or a few friends to stay, in the perfect location close to the metro, beach, and the beautiful Borne neighborhood. Anything you need or want is in walking distance. I would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a wonderful end to our trip!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony on the plaza and it was so fun to people watch and view the architecture. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shea2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We just returned from Barcelona, where we stayed for a week with the lovely Anna and Pablo at their beautiful bed and breakfast. Located at the perfectly situated El Born, the bed and breakfast is within walking distance to tapas bars, Plaza Espanya, the train station, the Picasso Museum, Santa Maria del Mar, beaches, and so much more. Every detail is managed exquisitely, from the arrival time to the morning coffee, to a fridge stocked with very reasonably priced drinks for your stay. The decor is modern elegant, and the public spaces and bathrooms are absolutely spotless. Take advantage of the room with a private bath by booking in advance. It also helps protect you from some of the street noise. (We had the two front rooms and any evening noise can be managed with ear plugs. And after all, one chooses this location because you want to be in the life of the city.) The tiny balcony allows you to overlook street musicians and the daily parade, within the comfort of your room.

Breakfast is simple and delicious, with bread, cheese, yogurt and fruit. At the end of our trip, it was great to take advantage of laundry facilities, and have a place where we could siesta between sightseeing and a late dinner. Pablo's assistance in locating the restaurants, events and attractions that meet your specific needs are what really makes El Balco a rare treasure. Every meal we had in Barcelona was wonderful, and due to their assistance we discovered paella, great seafood and more.

We felt completely at home here, mostly because the hosts draw wonderful people, and their attention to quality is a wonder. Hotels can be impersonal and full of tourists. We were prized guests in a place that Barcelona came to eat and converse, and that was a wonder.

Room Tip: The back rooms off the street are quieter...book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at El Balcon del Born from September 29th to October 4th. From the minute we arrived (a very late flight 1:00 in the morning) Pablo was there to greet us with a smile. The next day we met Anna who is just lovely. The house is spotless and beautiful.They make sure you have everything you could possibly need---from maps, books and supplies in the fridge at extremely reasonable prices. Breakfast is served between 9 and 11am and they are there to socialize with you. They are exceptional hosts and made our stay in Barcelona so much more than we had hoped. They were so helpful with advice on food, sights and entertainment. They booked us a wonderful evening at the Palau Musica Catalana where Flamenco A Barcelona performed. It was absolutely amazing. When we left I forgot my itouch and I called to let them know and they immediately took it to an UPS courier and had it forwarded to our next stop in Amsterdam. We wished we had stayed longer-------we did not
have enough time in Barcelona. We would certainly stay with Pablo and Anna again. Many thanks Pablo and Anna------for making our stay in Barcelona so memorable.
[---]

Room Tip: Just book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandD344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This summer we were on a bike trip from Barcelona too Paris.
we were a bit lost and couldn't find a hostel when we met Pablo.
He friendly pointed us the way too some nearby hostels and told us that he also had a bed and breakfast. at first we thought we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room but after we saw the room we were convinced.
and I'm glad we didn't look any further.
the room looked amazing and it's located at the heart of the old city. Pablo and Anna were very nice and showed us al the hip places to visit and even got a free breakfast(they saw we needed the energy for our biking trip). the first night we didn't even go out to see the city because the view from the balcony and the live music down in the streets was just too perfect. after 2 days we continued our trip north but if we'll ever visit Barcelona again we won't hesitate to stay at Pablo an Anna's.
special tip for al the lads: go here with your girlfriend, it's the most romantic reasonable priced place in barcelona.(too bad I was stuck there with a friend :) )

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Certainly a great location! In the middle of trendy El Born and within very easy walking distance to train station Estacio de Franca with access to airport and main station Barcelona Sans (this makes for relaxed arrival and departure). Lots of bars and cafes - great area for exploring. Pablo and Anna will help you chosing where to go and are both very nice. As they just opened they will really look after you and it is so much nicer having somebody to talk to compared to staying in an anonymos hotel. I travelled with a friend and we had 2 single beds in room El Palau. BIg room with character - lots of space - high ceiling and best of all is the baclony just big enough for 2 to sit on. You have a little table - so take a drink and watch life go on down below.... very nice to be able to take a break from sightseeing but having the feeling that you are still in the middle of it.
No problem that we didn´t have en suite - bathroom was just across the landing and we pretty much had it to ourselves, Our room was the first in the flat and access to the other rooms was from the main breakfast room - some people might find that inconvenient to walk through there to get to the bathroom. All is very clean. Beds-matraces were good but as everywhere in BNC there is some degree of noise from the street. Take earplugs! Area felt safe to walk around! Good coffee for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere around the breakfast table. Good place to stay -it will bring Barcelona even closer to your heart! What a great city!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mupfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great service, kind owners and good location. 6 to 7 minutes too walck too the beach.
We also lived in a 4star hotell in barcelona, but this was better!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Ove U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were 4 friends back-packing, and we had nothing reserved when arriving in Barcelona. We went from door to door looking for a hostel, and that's when Pablo came out and asked if we needed a room.

And oh my god, when we saw the guest house we were stunned! It was the most beautiful place we slept the entire trip. Such a nice classic interior, very stylish but homie at the same time. Fantastic. Large bedrooms, with great beds.

The owners, Anna and Pablo is a super nice couple. Very helpful and friendly. We felt right at home!

If you ever go to Barcelona, this is the place to stay. No doubt.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#51 of 516 in Barcelona
1,767 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#317 of 516 in Barcelona
1,151 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
La Casa Gran B&B
La Casa Gran B&B
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
217 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#7 of 308 in Barcelona
607 reviews
Eixample
The Patio Barcelona
The Patio Barcelona
#18 of 308 in Barcelona
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing