We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #46 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My sisters and i stayed in the amazing "Balcon del born" at the end of october. I found this wonderful place random in the net and i want to recommend it., Ana and Pablo are really lovely, kind and nice and i have to tell you that you won't be able at all to leave the place! The "barrio" is my favourite one of Barcelona really close to the center. It's full of tapas bar, shops and it takes only ten minutes by foot to reach Plaza Catalunya. Thank you for all guys, i wish you all the best!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_Foti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spend 4 days in Barcelona, friendly welcomed by Anna and Pablo in their nice apartment, with 5 bed rooms. El balcon del Born is a very good place in Barcelona, central, near el barri gotic, with all accommodations, good restaurants and bar just outside the door.
Starting the day with a breakfast on the balcony, is a really nice time to spend. And all the day you feel free to come, having rest, as if you were at your own apartment.
I higly recommend this place for people who are seeking a friendly place, less impersonal than a big hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clotilde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Just finished up a Portugal and Barcelona tour. We were directed to El Balcon del Born from another guesthouse that was unable to accommodate our travel dates. I was a tad skeptical at first seeing there was not a website, however decided to chance it with the friendly email exchanges and PDFs Pablo provided. We flew into Barcelona and took a taxi (approx. 30 euros) – the guesthouse is on a pedestrian street, so the taxi was a tad confused seeing we could not drive right up – however it’s just a short walk. We were greeted by Anna when we arrived and Pablo soon after and from there they took very good care of us. We stayed in a large front room, El Palau – it was just perfect and we had more than enough room. The two shared bathrooms were always spotless and available. The only suggestion I would make is that the early mornings were a tad noisy with outside sounds and other guests staying the house – perhaps a fan for white noise might be helpful to muffle that. Breakfast was always delicious and fresh and got us through much of the day until the first tapas tasting. The balconies offered a great way to enjoy breakfast with a morning espresso. It was a wonderful visit and if Anna & Pablo lived in the States I have a feeling we’d all hangout. At the same they also knew to give you space and enjoy your time in Barcelona. I do hope to make it back someday, but it’s a big world and I hope to see it all…

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARHCambridge_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at this cute and cozy B&B for 3 nights in early June. It is located in the convenient and trendy El Born district. There are trains, sights, cafes/restaurants, and bars all within walking distance.The place itself is clean, comfortable, and well decorated. Free breakfast and wifi are included. Kitchen and washer/dryer unit are available.

Pablo was a awesome host! he really made it feel like home. Pablo, thank you for being so helpful and kind!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smerfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at this lovely hotel with my two friends. We had a relaxing weekend thanks to the very comfortable accommodation. The hotel is clean, pleasant and welcoming. I can highly recommend a stay att the El Balcon del Born.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed for a day and a half with Anna and Pablo, during which they made me feel like THEY were the ones staying with ME. The guest house is soo warm, authentically Barcelonian, immaculately clean and functional. The best memory I have taken with me is the great conversation I had with Pablo, Anna, and the wonderful guests around the breakfast table.
Needless to say, the location is central to everything: La Ramblas, the beach, Gothic neighborhood, all of it ... close enough to get everywhere, yet in the perfectly quaint circle in Born.
I will be back again - I am hooked, and it only took 1 day and half.
Pablo and Anna were most helpful in helping me plan my walking trips and meals - I left feeling I had the best of the best dining experience, the best of the best touring experience, and the best of the best new friends.
Thank you for making my stay so exceptional.

Room Tip: All the rooms a great, but there is only one room with a corner view and another with a dedicated ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3antar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My friends and I were in Barcelona from 7th to 11th October 2011. Initially we were worried that we may not be too comfortable sharing the toilet with other guests at El Balcon but alas, we were wrong! Every part of the guest house was very clean.

The guest house was strategically located near shops and cafes so one can wander about looking for souvenirs to buy or food to eat. It could get a little bit noisy at night with the crowd at the cafe below but it didn't bother me at all. I had a good sleep throughout my stay there.

The best part of El Balcon del Born were the hosts - Pablo and Anna. They were warm, friendly and helpful. I am a Muslim and Pablo suggested to me an area where I could find halal food. Thanks to him, I found a nice Turkish restaurant (about 5-7 mins walk) where I had my lunch and dinner while in Barcelona.

I will definitely recommend everyone to stay at El Balcon del Born to experience the warmth and hospitality of the hosts as well as the comfort of the guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norhayati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
758 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#425 of 515 in Barcelona
335 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#14 of 307 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#5 of 307 in Barcelona
605 reviews
Eixample
Circa 1905
Circa 1905
#20 of 307 in Barcelona
288 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#25 of 307 in Barcelona
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing