We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Barcelona”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #47 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Wroclaw
1 review
“Great Place in Barcelona”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

When we come to Barcelona without any place to sleep or even any information, we met Pablo and Anna (owners) on the street. They were really interested in our situation, lonely on midnihgt in the center of Barcelona, they invated us to their place. Rooms were brilliant, each has own balcon and that is really great! What is more Pablo knows very well whole turistic attractions so he told us about them and even much more. If you will go to the Barcelona go to the El BALCON DEL BORN, beautiful place near to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    65
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
301
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Just spent 3 nights in the B&B.

Very good location, on the doorstep to the very trend Born area, where you will find the best bars in Barcelona, along with plenty of eateries.

The house is a bit hard to find at first as there are no signs or indications of its existence, a bit annoying after a day of travelling, but once we called them, they came and found us and was all good from there.

The hosts are very friendly and do what they can do make your stay in the city a happy one.
And the bed in room 3 - VERY COMFORTABLE!

The only negatives i would give is the noise from the streets & other guests returning late. Maybe this is common in a B&B - this was our first. Also we were expecting a good breakfast, at least something cooked - but toast, juice and yoghurt it was, albeit of good quality, but you can't beat a cooked breakfast in my opinion, or a couple of eggs!

I would definitely stay here again, but next time I would have to ensure that i got the room with the en-suite as I wasn't overly comfortable walking through the breakfast/common room to do my business.

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonlewisusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The room are nice but you have to share the bathroom
Also all the room are on the street so it is super noisy all the nigt.
We didnt like it at all so we moved aftethe first night. The owner is very nice and didnt charge us for the other nights.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank n_cappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

El BdelB is s a really really nice place and I would like it to remain a secret, but Anna and Pablo deserves otherwise. They keep it really nice and clean. They are super people and if you behave, they will be your friends. The best I can say we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christianl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Because of El Balcon del Born, I had an amazing trip to Barcelona. Beautiful B&B in the best location (cobblestone streets with lots of shops and tapas places) and a 5 minute walk to the beach. The house is spotless and at the same time stylish and warm. And each room has its own balcony. Maybe the best part, though, were the hosts, Pablo and Anna, who are sweet and generous and accommodating. I even chose to spend one night in talking with them and drinking wine on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We traveled as a couple and stayed for five nights in mid oktober.

Well, the place was really nice, the position in barcelona is one of the best, the environment is almost too luxurious for a bed and breakfast, and the price is more than fair...

... BUT WE ALL KNEW THAT BEFORE :)

What really made us sad to leave was the warm and cozy feeling we had during our stay at this place and the matter of course which pablo and anna showed, when they tried to find out which insider tips we would like most. Thus, they made our lonely planet guide totaly unnecessary (and look pretty boring, too).

For sure it was this amazing city which made our little trip feel like one of the best times in our lives, but pablo and anna made it possible to find the right places, and to enjoy barcelona just in the way we liked it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a lovely B an B with beautiful furnishings and large comfortable rooms. Anna is a delighful host who spends as much time with you as you require. Pablo joined us for breakfast one morning, he was friendly and helpful too. The rooms are spotless, we had a balcony with a small table and chairs and we had a separate bathroom of which we had the exclusive use. Breakfast was very nice and healthy. The only negative I feel the need to mention is the noise factor. There is a restaurant and a bar in the small street under the window. The noise of the patrons along with the stacking, packing and dragging of chairs and tables into a roller door shed was impossible for us to sleep through without earplugs. Usually this was followed by several motor bikes departing and by half past 12 things had quietened down. More sound sleepers may not find this a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
751 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
1,125 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#425 of 513 in Barcelona
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcino 147
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
599 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
We Boutique Hotel
We Boutique Hotel
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
225 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#25 of 308 in Barcelona
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Property: El Balcon del Born
Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing