We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful place..!!!”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #50 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

what a wonderful place!!! thanks so much to roberto, pablo and tom who made my first barcelona experience amazing, starting from the very responsive, detailed room reservation and information, warm welcome greetings and well explained and prepared maps, tour and restaurants guides to delicious breakfast and coffee and many more.....

i felt really safe to travel by myself because the people at the guest house were just like my great friends who i could count on and felt so comfortable to ask them any questions.

the guest house is located at such a convenient location. i stayed at the guest house for about a week at room 2 with bathroom and balcony; it is really like a paradise! what a delight to just sit at the balcony to enjoy barcelona.. thanks very much!!!! i hope i will come back again to visit in the near future!!!

p.s. all rooms can be locked which are important to me since i am travelling by myself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Location Location Location

We don't normally stay in B&B's though if all we're like this I’d stay in more. Great service and location, OUR only complaint is we wished we'd stayed longer. Great little restaurant diagonally across with the Michelin star, a must eat experience. Tanks for a great stay we'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScarboroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A superbly located B&B in the heart of Barcelona and I don't know if there's anything that could beat this place for location. It's not exactly the cheapest B&B you'll ever stop in but when you weigh up the amount of time and money you'd spend commuting, what you have nearby in terms of sights and restaurants and combine this with the atmosphere and it's absolutely worth it. Pablo and Anna and the guys they have with them running the place are friendly, hospitable and genuine. We had our four year old boy with us who was treated with respect and the odd lollipop was found lying on his bed when we got back. Equally when he melted down and decided to scream there was just a lot knowing nods and understanding. That leads nicely into one piece of advice for family travellers with young children, being in the heart of the city with vibrant night life and late nights, the streets are busy and noisy well into the early hours so if you have light sleepers this is something to bear in mind.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Wow we finally made it to Barcelona
Looking for the B&B after being dropped off by the taxi driver who did not speak English.
We called Pablo and Roberto
Who came down, brought us over and helped carry our luggage.
The place was very clean.
Other guests were having breakfast and we were invited to join.
After filling our stomachs with some fresh croissants and pastries and a good cup of coffee.
We went out to explore the city.
I found the area were we staying was full of restaurants, close to the beach a great location.
And now for the B&B
Pablo and Roberto made this a wonderful experience by helping us find good restaurants, recommending places to see like park Guell. They really made us feel at home.
The only thing that was hard for me was a shared washroom.
Still overall experience excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitshamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I spent six nights at El Balcon del Born in mid-October and had a lovely stay. Our arrival was a bit challenging…no reflection on the B&B…my phone had been stolen in Portugal and the information/photos provided by Roberto that were designed to help us with directions, etc. were no longer available. Those directions would have been very helpful, so be sure to bring them with you if your plans include El Balcon del Born. We asked some shop-keepers in the area for assistance and they pointed the way to the right door. We were met by Anna and Pablo and a nice cold glass of water. That evening, Pablo provided a map of Barcelona with suggestions on things to do and places to eat. All of the staff provided on-going information and recommendations throughout our stay. We never had the sense that we were bothering them or taking up too much of their time when we asked for clarification. When we encountered difficulty obtaining tickets for the Sagrada Familia, Anna accompanied us to the local bank that normally provided these tickets.

Our room was #1, and we found it spacious, comfortable, and clean. Loved the balcony, especially when we returned to the B&B after a busy afternoon of sightseeing. Sitting out there with a cold drink and watching all of the activity on the street was great. I had some reservations about the lack of a private bath, but this wasn't an issue during our stay. Not once in our six day stay did I have to wait for the bathroom.

Breakfasts were very good. Food was plentiful. We particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed juices and croissants. Access to the kitchen was a plus as was the availability of bottled water, beer, tea, and coffee. Some mornings we ate on the balcony at a table for two, but during most of our stay we shared the larger table and had fun chatting with folks from Wisconsin, Holland, Quebec, France, England, etc.

The location of El Balcon del Born is perfect as we were within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see. The daily rate was reasonable; we felt we received great value for the cost.

Other reviewers commented on the noise from the street. We found that this wasn't a problem as we closed our balcony door to sleep and this muffled any noise that might have bothered us. There was a fan in our room, but we never needed it.

Overall, our stay was a very pleasant one in a bustling corner of Barcelona, a city that deserves a longer stay than we could manage. The welcome extended by our hosts, Anna, Pablo, and Roberto made the experience special. If we return to Barcelona, we'll definitely stay at El Balcon del Born.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First of all, kudos to Roberto who very graciously waited outside of El Balcon del Born for us for over four hours due to my mistake with providing an incorrect arrival time of our plane from Lyon! Poor Roberto tried to text message us and our phones didn't have European access so he didn't know what time we would actually arrive! The bus and trains from the airport were extremely easy to use and the walking route to the B & B from the train station was a snap, using directions from a previous e-mail from Roberto. As we rounded the corner, dragging our luggage, he kindly asked if we were the family looking for El Balcon del Born. When we replied yes, he looked slightly relieved! He helped us with our luggage and up we went into the B & B. It is beautiful! As you walk into the main room with the dining table, you are enchanted with the room, the décor and the view from the balcony. Roberto gave us a tour of the B & B and showed us to our room. He then spent about 20 - 30 minutes showing us maps of Barcelona and providing us with a typed list of suggested sites and restaurants in the area. We had numerous questions and showed him our planned itinerary and he made suggestions as to the best way to combine our choices to make the most of our days. We never felt rushed and didn't even realize that as soon as he felt we were settled in, he could then go home to his own family! We felt terrible when we realized what had happened because of our mistake and the poor man had actually spent over 5 hours waiting for us and then providing us a lengthy orientation. However, he was extremely kind and never implied it was an imposition! We were extremely impressed!

The room itself was large and had a balcony which was fun to sit out on and look down on the pedestrians walking past. We opened up the door so we could hear the quiet sounds of the Barcelona street scene. We never had a problem with waiting to use the bathroom. This was the only place we stayed on our European trip where we did not have a private bathroom and I was a little hesitant about this. However, even with the rooms completely full with other guests, we never had to wait more than a few minutes to use the bathroom. Amenities such as shampoo, shower gel, hair dryers and the like are available in the bathrooms. The breakfast was quite nice with large croissants, toast, granola bars, fresh orange juice, cereals and fruit. The location of the B & B is excellent and walking to the main shopping area of Barcelona and the fruit and vegetable market is easy. We liked that we could go into the kitchen at night and fix our own cup of tea/coffee, etc.

We would definitely recommend El Balcon del Born to travelers going to Barcelona. Hint for anyone who is Barcelona-bound: however many days you have planned to visit Barcelona, it will not be enough! There are so many wonderful architectural sites to see, that one could visit Barcelona for two months and still find more incredible things to see! Enjoy Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cocoanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Based on the reviews I read, I expected a charming, lovely B&B with friendly, helpful hosts, in an excellent location. The B&B is in an excellent location (we walked everywhere) and Anna & Thomas were very friendly and helpful, but the B&B itself is far from what I would consider exceptional (which so many reviews led me to believe it would be) and our overall experience was disappointing. We spent 3 nights at El Balcon del Born and I can only speak to our experience with our room, which was room #2, the only room with a private bathroom. In our opinion, this room is in dire need of upgrading; it is worn and very tired looking. The wallpaper was peeling, the floor tiles were cracked, the mattress was thin and hard, the linens were of poor quality, and the bathroom was rather unusual in that not only was it tiny (not a single shelf for toiletries), it was the room you walked into when entering the room. In addition, every time the toilet was flushed or the water ran, the pipes made a rather loud and strange sound. However, on a positive note, the water flow in the shower was good and there was plenty of hot water, too. In both the bathroom and the bedroom, pipes were exposed, which does not create a charming or cozy atmosphere. In other words, the pictures presented by the establishment do not match the room we had; simply put, the room was shabby and because of that, it is hard to say it was clean. I am sure it was clean to the extent that there was not any overt dirt, but it didn't feel clean - it felt, well, shabby; I can't explain that any better.

The breakfast room was nice and the selection of food for breakfast was basic but plentiful and the food itself was good. As I said, Anna and Thomas were very friendly and helpful, and my husband's interaction with Pablo was very positive, but that does not make up for the disappointment and discomfort my husband and I felt every time we walked into our room (never mind the entrance to the building itself and the dark stairway - neither inspired a feeling of warmth or welcome). My husband and I travel quite a bit and we love staying in B&Bs and we have stayed in some really lovely ones; we enjoy the interaction with the hosts and other guests and the feeling of living in a home rather than in a hotel. We do not expect 5 star accommodations every time, but we do expect a certain level of comfort and quality, especially when that is what is promised and for what we are paying and what we anticipate we will be getting. We have never before had this kind of disappointment in a B&B and it brings me no pleasure to write an unflattering review, but I feel if TA is going to remain a reliable source for booking hotels, reviewers must give honest reviews. I am surprised so many others had a different experience of El Balcon del Born - but that does not change or negate what my husband and I experienced. Again, I can only speak to the quality of the room we had - perhaps the other rooms are different. However, if you are looking to book the room with the private bathroom, I think you deserve to know what you will be getting, so in addition to my personal impressions, I have included photos of the room and bathroom.

My bottom line is this: despite the positives of this B&B, and despite the fact we really liked Anna & Thomas, if I had known the condition of the building and the quality of the room, I would have chosen a different B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank angelika711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#54 of 517 in Barcelona
1,798 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#213 of 517 in Barcelona
926 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 517 in Barcelona
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
La Casa Gran B&B
La Casa Gran B&B
#27 of 308 in Barcelona
218 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
561 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#7 of 308 in Barcelona
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing