We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome home!”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #48 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our first time in Barcelona. The three of us (son of 11) stayed at El Balcon for 4 days. Roberto (and his wife) made it feel like coming home! The building is charming and the (bath)rooms are very nicely decorated ánd very well cleaned. We definitely want to come back to Barcelona. Not only for the city but also to meet up with Roberto again!

Room Tip: Because we were with three persons inone room we stayed in room nr 8 in which it was easy to place a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruud-Annemiek-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the b&b for our anniversary at the end of April. Other than a few hitches getting into the property (which was completely our fault as we hadn't read the information they had sent to us), we couldn't have been happier there. We had room 4 (very small, but clean and beautiful high ceilings and a balcony over looking the square). We haven't stayed in a place with a shared bathroom for a long time, but it was absolutely no problem at all as everything was spotlessly clean and if one was being used, the other one was generally free. The b&b is stunning and it was a real privilege to stay in such an apartment. We mainly dealt with Pablo during our stay and he couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. We really felt at home the minute we arrived.

The location of the b&b is perfect. Within walking distance of everything and on a couple of good metro lines. I am a very light sleeper and thought I would be disturbed by the noise in the apartment and in the square outside. However, I slept really well and it felt like I was dozing off to a lovely radio play.

We would stay at El Balcon del Born again without a minutes hesitation and have already recommended it to our friends and family. Thank you so much for providing us with a much needed rest and for making us feel so at home.

Room Tip: We loved our room 4 - it is very small but has a gorgeous balcony and french windows leading out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkkatieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is my second time at El Balcon de Born - I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Barcelona. The location is unbeatable - Born is the best neighbourhood in the centre. The accommodations are charming and located in a historic building. Every guest room has its own balcony. Pablo took care to make sure all the guests felt welcome and comfortable. For me, it was like having a vacation home of my own to come to in Barcelona. The B&B was only a few minutes walk from some of the best bars and restaurants in Barcelona. I stayed here for 3 nights in March and found the entire experience wonderful.

- great location
- large and airy guest rooms
- balcony for every room
- charming décor, historic building
- great hosts

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarineho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our group of 10 peoples stayed 6 nights in El Balcon during our trip to Barcelona. Because of big group, we started to book over one year before to secure for five rooms. During to this period, I sent over 100 e-mails to Roberto and Pablo, but, they didn’t feel trouble to reply me all kind of information.

Because of night flight, we arrival at El Balcon around 23:00, and, Roberto and Pablo was waiting us at the street to ensure we found the B&B. And, Pablo provided very details information about the best sights, restaurants & all necessary information in Barcelona. Actually, the information enough to publish a travel guide.

Great location, walking distance to beach, metro, La Rambla……The room is big and clean, also, the share bathroom kept very clean. And, the breakfast is simply but enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in april 2014 and had a wonderful time: The best owner Anna who helped us with everything so much, thank you again so much. Very good breakfast, very clean, the best location possible in town (immediately in the best neighborhood the center of town, not too buzy street, usually quiet around midnight so no noise), and very good beds, we slept like babys every night. The atmosphere during breakfast was very friendly, we had great conversations with other guests and the hotel crew made us laugh a lot, always super friendly. We had a great time and got what we expected from a 5 star rated B&B :-) Keep on the great work Anna and Pablo, see you definitly next time in Barcelona (with kids? :-) )

Room Tip: We had room 3 and it was big, great bed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay here, we knew we wanted to stay in El Born, by far the best location in Barcelona for food, drink and sightseeing. We found it last minute and they were so friendly. We had a truly magical stay with a beautiful room, beautiful balcony overlooking one of El Borns squares. Had great recommendations where to eat, and had a great time soaking up Barcelona! Would thoroughly recommend this place. You do have to share a bathroom with one other room, but for the price and location it's a definite must!! We will def be back if we don't buy our own place in El Born first (we can only dream)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RiaandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed there for 3 days 2 nights in Mar, strategic location with walking distance to Barcelonata metro, Las Ramblas. Surrounded by restaurants and shops. Big thank you to Pablo and Anna for being such wonderful hosts during my solo trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
759 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#426 of 515 in Barcelona
336 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#14 of 307 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#3 of 307 in Barcelona
605 reviews
Eixample
Circa 1905
Circa 1905
#21 of 307 in Barcelona
290 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#24 of 307 in Barcelona
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing