We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, decent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #202 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, decent breakfast”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a great location for a short stay in Barcelona. The 46 local bus and Aeorbus express both pick up and drop off in front of the hotel, so if you're someone who is worried about getting lost to and from the airport, this is the place for you! The wifi worked somewhat decently, you can have to log in often. Breakfast was adequate (although no champagne for mimosas!). The rooms are a decent size for 2 people, and you can get two twin beds or a king. Rooms with a view of La Arena are nice. The staff is really where this place stands out - Ariadna was amazingly friendly and professional! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, choose a room on the lower floors and facing the inner area of the hotel. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adricornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing this extensive review!
I am happy to hear your nice comments about our staff and especially to Ariadna as well as the convenient location of the hotel itself.
I appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered.
We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
I really hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    793
    335
    143
    88
See reviews for
400
678
131
630
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The room was OK, nothing impressive, comfortable bed though. Average bathroom. Great view from the room of Plaça d'Espanya, the fountain, the Venetian towers and Montjuïc hill. Good location for public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaiIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location, very comfortable wuth the metro.
The rooms are very pretty and cozy, I was lucky to get a beautiful view.
brakefast is vey avarage, the coffee is pretty bad, the omlet isn't good and they don't have so many kinds of other stuff.
Very good service, very clean and welcoming.
The arena mall is adding to the value of the hotel, it's very nice mall.
Not 5 stars but I do recomend the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the front or the corners. corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel was in a good location for access to the exhibition centre. Queues at the desks were slow though and there was very little atmosphere in the hotel.
The rooms were basic - but reasonably comfortable. I ordered room service - which was awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helly-ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing this review! I appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered. We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
I really hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The reception of the hotel was very promising and the checking-in process was quite prompt. I'm not quite sure how to describe the rooms other than the fact that they are very wooden. They could definitely do with modernising but they were adequately equipped with TV and mini bar. Good sized bathroom although some of the tiles were cracked and the shower was lovely despite the bath being quite small. Breakfast was ok - lots of choice but very busy had to queue for a while to get served at the omelette station. Great location as pretty much in the centre with a metro station/taxi ran right out outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel one of the best in the city
Wonderful rooms grand buffet breakfast
The staff is so helpful
Location is so good
Sopping center next door
The magic fountain is in front
The theatre district is just cross the road with night life and good restaurants pubs and much much
More
Ofer taft

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ofer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente,
Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia sobre nuestro hotel. Nos alegramos que haya podido disfrutar de su estancia y esperamos poder recibirle de nuevo muy pronto.
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is generally clean and the location is good. However it can get pretty noisy at night since it's situated at a high traffic area. The real downside is its staff and lack of a service attitude. When my colleagues and I checked in, they asked if we wanted smoking or non smoking rooms and even if we said non smoking rooms, they sent us to smoking rooms. The waiter at the restaurant refused to get out from behind the counter where he was doing nothing even though there were 4 of us at one table with one menu. My colleague had a laptop stolen from his room. In all, a really lacklustre performance from the staff. Just bad.

Helpful?
1 Thank freon44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the city of Barcelona, and give us your opinion, always important to us.
In relation with your comments, we are sorry to hear that your stay has not lived up to your expectations. We want to let you know that we have taken note of your observations and talked with the staff involved in this case.
Our entire team is working to improve and provide our customers the most comfortable and pleasant stay as possible.
Once again thank you for your valuable assistance, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel on a future occasion. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you decide to return to Barcelona and we will be happy to assist you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#145 of 512 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#156 of 512 in Barcelona
1,515 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#120 of 512 in Barcelona
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 512 in Barcelona
2,208 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#104 of 512 in Barcelona
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing