We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #202 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just arrived home from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We decided to go with a city view room and definitely think that made a huge difference. It was lovely to sit by the window and admire the scenery both during the day and night. Although, it can get quite noisy at night so might not be suited to young families.

The location was excellent with a metro station just outside and a big shopping centre with many restaurants. For that reason we decided against eating breakfast at the hotel and went to a nice cafe serving croissants, fruit etc. We were able to use the metro to visit Camp Nou, the beach, Sagrada Familia, La Rambla etc., which were at most a 20 minute journey away.

The pool area was a nice area to relax. We liked how the area wasn't too busy and sun loungers or nearby seats were available on our visits at 9am and later in the afternoon.

One disappointment though was that we had been told before arriving on more than one occasion that it would be possible to extend our check out time from 12pm to 6pm. On arrival we were told to return on the day of checkout to confirm this. However, on this day we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and that this would not be possible. It wasn't too much of an issue in the end as we were able to leave our suitcases with the hotel until our flight in the evening. A warning in advance would have been helpful though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel have wonderful location on Plaza Espania. Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is excellent. Big problem is noise of traffic, you can hear ambulance and police almost every night. As hotel is big, is normal that all the time there are many people in the lobby. Unfortunately it means: prepare your self and be patience, as you have to wait for any question on lobby desk at least 10-15 minutes.
What to be careful!!!!: During my staying (4 days), two persons were robbed in the lobby area:
both men, wear jackets: one man approche and tell you- you jacket is not clean (as before he put some white stuff on your jacket), please i can clean it for you. As the thief wears nice dress, people think he is hotel employee. Result: your wallet is gone! I think hotel management should take care for security. People who were robbed told us that in the hotel.

Room Tip: not on the main square side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporty_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As it was my first visit to Barcelona I will say staying at the Plazas was a very good choice if you are not familiar with the city nor traveling with someone who is. It is located in the center of Plaza de Espana one of the many city center plazas of the town. From the airport you take the L3 bus from A1 to the plaza and it is right across the street from the bus stop in the city center. And once you leave the the bus stop back to A1 is literally right outside the doors of the hotel. Super easy!

It seems to be a popular stay for tourists from all over the country. If you walk outside and turn right there are streets full of markets and great shopping. Not to mention the Soccer arena\mall is across the other way which houses many restaurants atop the roof. From there you will see a gigantic building that resembales a cathedral that is right down the street on another one of the turns inside the plaza. A very short walk and a few escalator rides to the top and you find it is a museum. Great place for lots of pictures! Not from here is the La sagrada de familia as well and the gottic park. The metro has multiple entrances outside the hotel which is the best means for traveling farther than you are comfortable to walk but be prepared to walk regardless.

As far as the hotel itself it was not as modern looking and new as the pictures online make it look. The lobby is pretty and they have lots of restarants inside and around the corner as well but the room was smaller than appeared online. Though I'm sure many are. It does have wood flooring throughout all of the halls I guess that's where the modern comes in. And if you like AC this one is cold! Constantly. The bathroom was a pretty decent size with a good size shower as well. While over seas you are not expecting to be in the room much however so size isn't too much of a problem.

Like I said great location for new bees!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just back from 5 days at this hotel and have to say it is in the best location.

The view from the roof top pool is stunning and to see the fountain all light up was impressive and a must for all. We didn't realise it is only on certain days so thankfully we caught it before we had to go home.

Room was clean, large with plenty of storage. Didn't have much of a view with a tree at the back so would be looking to stay at the front of the hotel in future. The flusher on the toilet is very loud and you can hear the other rooms throughout the night/morning. Bed is quite hard but you get used to it after a few days. Some more english channels would be great. Air con is good, wifi is perfect great connection no issues and no noisy neighbours.

Entrance is very grand with the chairs, pillars and piano. The gourmet restaurant looked good and had large tvs showing the world cup which was ideal.

Our room was on the second floor could hear a small rumble from the metro but only when in the bathroom. No street noise to keep us awake throughout the night so we slept well.

We used the tour buses across the road for a day or two to see the sights which was fantastic.
If getting the aerobus from the airport you get off at the first stop which is outside this hotel it cost 10 euro each for a return ticket which lasted several days. Metro is also right outside we didn't use it this time but will look to in future.

Several small cafes surrounding the area and takeaways which is good late at night and early morning if you aren't eating at the hotel.

Shopping centre is across the road with a lift that takes you up to the roof where you can walk around and enjoy the view. Several restaurants are on the roof we ate at a nice Italian restaurant which was reasonable and food was good. Also loved the happy rock bar and grill. Shops are good for picking up bits and pieces some presents etc.

We didn't use the safe in the room i think you need to pay for the key but all our belongings were untouched.

The hotel has a spa and small gym, i also spotted some tanning beds. The pool is up the stairs from the spa which isn't too well signposted from the corridor.

I think the hotel is missing out by not letting people sit up by the pool at night and have a few drinks. Not sure why this is...possibly due to safety but if staff were around i don't see the problem. The view is amazing and with the fountain lit up at night it can be busy it'd be nice to enjoy the view from the hotel roof top.

Not related to the hotel but after reading several reviews etc on barcelona i was concerned about pick pockets we had no issues all week and did not feel unsafe in any way.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the hotel so you have a view of the fountain at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majorca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Than you very much for your time.

Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On my last visit to Barcelona I stayed at The Arts and thought it was becoming a little tired. I heard about Catalonia Square, booked and stayed two days and it greatly exceeded expectations.

Staff are all extremely helpful (having said that, most people in Barcelona tend to be helpful and friendly…a great City)……design throughout hotel is quite exceptional and refreshing. They haven't spared any expense. The location is wonderful……hotel has a small swimming pool and gym…..breakfast outside if you like.

Car park: On arriving…just drive in and via the usefully placed intercom, ask them to come down to help you park, which they will do instantly…with a smile. Car park is under hotel.

My junior suite was superb, bed comfortable…..all extras one needs were provided including some I didn't need (Toothbrush/razor/comb etc). TV was superb (there were two giant TV's in junior suite)…..and the shower is one of the best you can hope to find in any hotel….very important…..book here just for the shower.

There's a free buffet all afternoon and evening…..which I used for two meals…..perfectly decent.

All in all, this hotel is just about perfect……..and it offers great value. Why stay in a fading dump with poor showers when you can book here?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in this beautiful hotel and enjoyed its great location: just next to it a historical monument (corrida) that was turned into a mall and on its top you can enjoy a 360 panoramic view of Barcelona, facing the hotel there is the great National Palace with its stunning dancing foutain show every saturday (summer season) and last but not least Espanya metro station is just in front of the hotel entrance, you are 3 stations far away from the city center (~4mins). We had breakfast and dinner at this hotel both were buffets, dinners were poor, breakfasts fine but both were repeated (what makes them boring). Staff are very friendly and speak many languages including English and French. To sum up, yeah I advise you to stay in this hotel on a bed&breakfast basis and to request a room with the stunning view of the national palace (+amazing nightlife near the hotel) ...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank User U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing this extensive review!
I am happy to hear your nice comments about our staff as well as the convenient location of the hotel itself.
I appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered.
We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
I really hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Due to unforeseen circumstances with an apartment rental that did not work out, we spent one night at this hotel. What a treat it was. It is very well situated. The room was large and comfortable. They even had robes! The subway is right there. At night the Plaza Espana comes alive. The Waterfountain Show was spectacular. There are nice stores @ the 'Arena' next door. The view from the pool level is fabulous. You are in easy walking distance to the Olympic installations (they have many escalators if you have trouble walking up). The breakfast buffet was excellent, the reception workers are multilingual and very friendly. The fact the the airport shuttle stops right there was a big plus as well. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#175 of 516 in Barcelona
3,697 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 516 in Barcelona
3,108 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#141 of 516 in Barcelona
1,611 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £75 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing