We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired, old furnishings in suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #214 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, ON, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tired, old furnishings in suite”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here just for a night before the end of our 18 day trip. Booked a suite for my 14 year son and I as a treat. Boy, was I disappointed. Check in was a bit slow and as the porter tried to enter out suite his key did not work. Upon first glance it looked okay and the view to the Las Arenas and the Magic Fountains was lovely. Upon closer inspection though there were gouges in the bedroom furniture, and the clear casing around the brass doorknobs was peeling. There was a giant tub overlooking the arena but unfortunately the doubled paned windows had moisture issues and you couldn't get a clear view. There was a lot of damage to the trim around these windows and there was a lot of dirt on the tub surround. Also my son was in the living room while I was taking a bath and a member of the housekeeping staff entered our unit without knocking. Not impressed. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landshark31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Madam,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the city of Barcelona, and give us your opinion, always important to us.
In relation with your comments, we are sorry to know that your stay has not lived completely up to your expectations. We want to let you know that we have taken note of your observations, for example the ones regarding the decoration of the rooms, and that we have already made some changes to improve the sense of homely feel. Please, be sure that our entire team is working to improve and provide our customers the most comfortable and pleasant stay as possible.
Once again thank you for your valuable assistance, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel on a future occasion. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you decide to return to Barcelona and we will be happy to assist you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    732
    317
    137
    84
See reviews for
375
640
122
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed 5 nights in the Suite Reloj and thorouly enjoyed this hotel. As usual with the Catalonia Hoteles staff, they are well trained, efficient and courteous with an excellent attitude towards customer service. This makes all the difference to a good hotel stay and an excellent one. A special thanks to Pedro on the Rooftop Pool for his professionalism and humour, an excellent member of the team. The view from the pool is stunning and the ambience makes you want to spend a while there every day, even though there is so much to do in this fantastic city. The hotel is also ideal for transport links with the metro adjacent, Aerobus outside and Estacio Sants a five minute stroll away. You also have the Arena centre next door and a wealth of restaurants nearby. What more do you need.:-)

Room Tip: Suite Reloj is spacious and excellent, or any room with a view across Placa Espanya to Montjuic is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerardDuffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and really enjoyed our time here. The staff were friendly, the rooms were very clean and well decorated. The room has a lovely walk in shower which was great after spending the day walking around Barcelona! We used the swimming pool a couple of times and the pool area is very nice. The only criticism of this is there isn't enough space to sit at the pool for all the guests wanting to use it. There were people waiting quite a while to use a sunbed so if you're coming for a relaxing pool/sunbathing type of break it's probably not the best hotel to stay in. However, the location is perfect for seeing the city. The metro is right outside and there's a shopping centre next door that has some lovely restaurants at the top. Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the fountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I do like to read that you enjoyed our large and recent renovated rooms but what I really like the most are your comments regarding our staff!
Many thanks for your time and your nice comments and I truly hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went to this hotel during a school trip. The hotel is huge and mainly accommodates groups, the service is fine even though it could be better, the rooms are clean and tidy, the standard 4 star room. It was overall a nice experience. What I particularly enjoyed is the breakfast (It's usually like that in all hotels in Barcelona). Although we had one bad experience which is communicating with the staff: while ordering sushi the host did not understand our order and we had to repeat it for a good 15 min... And what really disappointed us is the fact that we did not receive our order and were told multiple excuse when we called back the main one was that we ordered 10 mins before they close which is false because we ordered well before but the attendant took too much time to understand. But I agree this kind of incident may occur but it was an overall good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the angles are much bigger than the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khfra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I happened to stay at the Catalonia Plaza hotel in Barcelona just few days ago ; the hotel was always crowded ( I guess because of the summer holidays ) and full of students and tourist , as well as business people all over. Is not that expensive and the mall is just in front of the hotel ,

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Javier Clemente E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu Jiu, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at Barcelona Catalonia Plaza for 6 days and I can say that it was an excelent experince.The location was awesome,in Plaza Espanya,easy to reach the most important attractions of the city.(metro station is exactly at the door).Room was very comfortable,with a modern design and a perfect view of the Magic Fountains.Breakfast was really tasty and varied.The staff was helpful and friendly.The Aerobus stops right there,in 15-20 minutes you can reach the airport(Terminal 1&2).Arenas Espagna,one of the best mall in Barcelona is next to the hotel,it has a lot of good shops,like Mango,H&M,etc and also good restaurants and a supermarket with fresh and cheap food.Free Wi-fi in the hotel,you must ask the staff at the reception for the username/password. If i will be back to Barcelona,i will definetly choose Barcelona Catalonia Plaza again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of Plaza Espagna or Arenas Espagna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I do like to read that you enjoyed our large and recent renovated rooms but what I really like the most are your comments regarding our staff!
Many thanks for your time and your nice comments and I truly hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I used to live in Barcelona and I have been back there for visits. This hotel is located in the middle of "Plaza España" which is a very good area of the city. There is metro, train and bus stops just outside the hotel. There is also a shopping center in the same square, where you can find many stores, a supermarket, restaurants , etc.

It is a nice and quiet area during the night, and if you are out of time with the metro service, there are several bus stops where you can arrive with night buses. One of the BEST things, and one of the reasons I selected in the first place, is because you can take a bus at the Airport which stops just in the square, so you wouldn't need to run with your luggage on Metro statios without elevators, etc... it is a big plus for me.

It is close to Montjuic, where you can see a beautiful show with the illuminated fountains during the summer. If you are lucky, you can have this view from your room (I got it!)

Rooms are very nice.There is a lot of space, it is comfortable and clean. It looks like a business hotel.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the view to Plaza España/Montjuic fountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#143 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#117 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#154 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#140 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing