We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Busy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #214 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location - Busy Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Situated on the Place de Espanya this hotel offers good value, comfortable (if simple) rooms in an excellent location to visit all of the attractions that Barcelona has to offer. The hotel feels geared up a fora large groups rather than individuals or single families - but the staff are pleasant, eager to help and always trying to provide that personal touch.
The hotel has a basic gym and a nice rooftop pool and bar, although with so much to see and do in the city this is somewhat superfluous.
The room service was a nightmare but Tenzin has assured us that it was a blip.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a base for Barcelona, but if you are looking for a luxurious hotel experience you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for height - and try get one looking at the musical fountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this extensive review!

I am happy to hear your nice comments about our staff and especially to Tenzin as well as the convenient location of the hotel itself.
I appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered.
We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
I really hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    731
    317
    137
    84
See reviews for
375
640
121
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay here. The hotel is in an excellent location; about 10-15 minute ride from the airport (you can get a bus direct from the airport), right near the shopping centre and the musical water fountains, metro station right outside.
On arrival we were very impressed the guy who checked us in was polite and welcoming, he even gave us a free gift- a mug and spoon. Our room was on the 6th floor with a massive king size bed and an amazing few of the city- the room had robes, air conditioning (which was a god send) water, and a mini bar. The tea and coffee making facilities were a bit poor- only two cartons of milk and two tea bags which weren't replaced throughout our stay (tried to ask for me but only housekeeping have access to the milk cartons- bit disappointing since it was their mistake and I was told to ask housekeeping in the morning) not what we expect from a 4*.

Breakfast was ok- I've seen better in a 4* but there was plenty of choice.

Anyway we had a lovely stay regardless and would visit this hotel again due to it's fantastic location and lovely views.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlandSib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very disappointed in this hotel. Checked in today. Seemed like a nice place but it was problem after problem. First off you need to put a deposit in to get the lock mechanism and key for the safe. For a hotel of this caliber the safe should be ready to go. We have been to other hotels in Spain and never had to do this. And they didn't inform us of this during check in. The refrigerator was broken and we had medication and they refused to fix it that day and told us we would need to wait until tomorrow. All they had to do was replace the thing but instead they said too bad but you can store it in the hotel reception fridge. That doesn't work for medication you need every few hours. Then we tried to use the sink and it wouldn't drain so I contacted the desk about this issue as well. I would expect this in a low class motel and not a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pwhomesales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the city of Barcelona, and give us your opinion, always important to us.

In relation with your comments, we are sorry to know that your stay has not lived completely up to your expectations. We want to let you know that we have taken note of your observations, for example the ones regarding the decoration of the rooms, and that we have already made some changes to improve the sense of homely feel. Please, be sure that our entire team is working to improve and provide our customers the most comfortable and pleasant stay as possible.

Once again thank you for your valuable assistance, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel on a future occasion. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you decide to return to Barcelona and we will be happy to assist you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is the perfect location to visit Bacelona located in the beautiful Plaza Espana beside the metro and Aerobus. Bedrooms adequate size and spotless. Excellent breakfast and helpful courteous staff. Only one small minus point - bar prices very high by Spanish standards and if you want a beer they only have ONE large glass in the bar ( too bad if someone else gets there before you) and a variety of smaller glasses for small beers , all holding a different amount but the price is the same for all!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the plaza have additional premium but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa District, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

the hotel was great and clean.located in the center:you have a metro at the entrance of the hotel
there are also a lot of shops,restaurants and a mall.
we were very much plaesed with the hotel nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located near shops, restaurants and metro. The breakfast / buffet had a good selection of tasty food and drinks. Was a hassle to get your coffee as there were only two coffee makers for so many guests. The guest room was clean as well was the bathroom. It was sometimes difficult to keep the shower water from leaving the shower and tub area as they had only a small glass wall that covered a third of the tub edge. The beds were extremely hard and were two twin size beds that slid away easily on the wood floor, creating a bit of comedy during the evening. The view from our window was not inspiring. We were looking at a more depressed area of the city. The pool had a beautiful view of the plaza and fountain. The pool was only one depth, over 6 ft? Also not enough sitting or lounging chairs near the pool. Overall it was a decent hotel. We stayed here with a tour group. Would like to check out a suite here next time!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tileman1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very good location (metro and airport bus), comfortable rooms, beautiful views over Plaza de Espanya and a gorgeous swimming pool, all for a very reasonable price. The hotel restaurants are also very good.

Room Tip: The views on Plaza de Espanya are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#143 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#117 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#154 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing