We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Condes De Barcelona
Ranked #129 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family stayed at Hotel Condes de Barcelona last week, after having stayed at another four-star in town earlier in the week (Catalonia Catedral), and unfortunately we were quite disappointed by the comparison. While Condes was more expensive, essentially everything about it was worse: smaller room, smaller and less-nice bathroom, aging furniture, smaller pool, worse location (farther from central old city), and a bizarre automated mini-bar that only held two of each type of drink at any time (usually warm) and charged much more than at the Catalonia. When we needed an iron, they didn't have one. Don't get me wrong - this is a "luxury" hotel in the typical tradition. Just felt a bit like one that is coasting on all of the standard things, without having kept up with its more contemporary competition.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickGStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Patrick, First of all I would like to thank youf for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. I am very dissapointed to learn l you did not found the hotel facilities and services satisfactoy. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. We take your comments seriously to keep improving. We hope you will give us a new opportunity to demonstrate you again the high level of our services.
Best regards,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
HOTEL CONDES DE BARCELONA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    657
    179
    58
    32
See reviews for
261
666
45
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recently spent a couple of nights on business in Barcelona. needed meeting room and accommodations. All worked perfectly and location excellent. Refurbishing one building but all good. Spent an afternoon at the pool and evening at the tapas bar on the roof.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leegoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona on your next visit to our city.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location and even greater service. Rooms are very clean and quiet despite the big windows overlooking Paseo de Gracia. Terrace rooftop bar has great selection and view. Again, service is outstanding and appreciated especially because I was travelling with four children - no problem for the excellent staff at any hour. Worth recommending and coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Diego, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services, our staff and the location. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona on your next visit to our city.
Best regards,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Outstanding location in the middle of everything you need. Metro is close by, businesses and restuarants are all close. The resturant associated with the hotel was terrific - both full meals and tapas. The staff could not help enough. We had a rental car for drop off at the Barcelona Airport. While temporarily parking, the bell staff helped us check in, drop bags, and get off the street - all in 5 minutes. Wow!! Our room was huge, bright, extremely comfortable, and quiet. This is an awesome location to access Barcelona, both by Metro and walking. At the end of a two week trip in Southern France and Spain, this was a great place to relax before going back to North America.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Edward, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services, our staff and the location. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona on your next visit to our city.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is great. Chill location with white lounge ibiza style, live music and dj set. Prices ok for the kind of bar.
I've put this on the Top10 Terrace Bars in Barcelona http://connectheworld.com/barcelona-spain-travel-guide-best-places-visit/nightlife-in-barcelona-the-best-clubs-bars-and-rooftops/the-best-10-rooftop-bars-in-barcelona.html

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidenicolucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear David, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services and our Alaire Terrace. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona on your next visit to our city.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was our honeymoon, as a travel agent we always choose the best after our travelers reviews, how come when it goes to my honeymoon?!
This Hotel was situated 15 min walking from Plaza Catalunia and Las Ramblas, next to all shops and many restaurants, 3 min walking from the metro station and direct access to the bus,
Staff are friendly and helpfull, Rooms are clean, Breakfast is rich, with a reasonable price.
We stayed in the 5th floor, with a balcony and a view to the Pedrera, room number 552!
I have one complaint its about the bed, we were honeymooners it was supposed to be a king size bed, it was twin beds and honeslty not that comfortable no decoration for honeymooners :(.. except that all was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraFAHED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sandra, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn in general terms we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services, our staff and the location thought you consider there are certain points to be improved. We take all your comments into consideration to keep improving. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona on your next visit to our city.
Best regards,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have spent several vacations at the Condes and have not had many issues with it. The price is always reasonable and the location could not be any better even at a higher price. I love having the laminate floors as it seems so much cleaner than carpet. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are pretty luxurious.
This last stay was the first time that I had stayed on the "older" side. The opposite side was closed for renovations, I think. I was a little disappointed as the opposite side has a great rooftop view of Sagrada Familia. Oh well, there will be next time!
Was very surprised when I asked the men working at the front desk where Cartier was from there and they had no clue. Just in case you are looking for Cartier, it is right across Passeig de Gracia almost directly in front of the Condes.
We shall return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vthompson410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimon S, Director General at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services and the location. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona on your next visit to our city.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Monument Hotel
Monument Hotel
#33 of 512 in Barcelona
171 reviews
Eixample
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sixtytwo Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel
#16 of 512 in Barcelona
1,482 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
1,349 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 512 in Barcelona
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condes De Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condes De Barcelona

Property: Condes De Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia, 73, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#76 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#97 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Condes De Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CONDES DE BARCELONA 4* is ideally located in a magnificent corner on Paseo de Gracia, in the heart of modernist Barcelona, ​​opposite to the famous building "La Pedrera" of Gaudi, a few minutes from Plaza Catalunya and the historic city center. The hotel is housed in a former esplendid 19th century building, enlarged and renovated to create a modern Hotel with where art and uniqueness of the past cohexist with the most modern facilities. The accommodation has a range of 126 rooms of very contemporary style, bright and spacious to provide maximum comfort. Emblematic and socially dynamic, the hotel is a prestigious gastronomic reference, where our guest would enjoy the cuisine of the Basque chef Martin Berasategui at LOIDI RESTAURANT, modern and informal bistro. The hotel offers a wide range of function rooms for all kind of meeting and Events, outdoor pool and ALAIRE TERRACE BAR , one of the trendiest places in the city with spectacular views for casual outdoor dining or take a luxurious evening drink with good background music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Condes De Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condes De Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Condes De Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Condes De Hotel
Hotel Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing