We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #120 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a Starwood property which is key for my business travel. I found the hotel excellent and in a great location. La Rambla. Very convenient to the waterfront, World Trade Center, and near the large open food market. The staff invited me (and others) to a lunchtime reception/ Paella cooking class which was a unique experience and lovely gesture. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful - even helping to remove the handle on my suitcase after it had been broken by the airline.

Room Tip: My room was a delux King
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leh569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maripac, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear leh569,

I see you joined us and discovered the secret behind one of Spain's signature dishes during our "Paella with the General Manager" events. I am glad you enjoyed it.

And I am also pleased to see we were able to assist with the suitcase!

As you recommend us for leisure and business, I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards and hopefully until soon,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    875
    243
    94
    53
See reviews for
491
1,098
113
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed here on a Tauck Tour of Spain at the end of May and the hotel location was great. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room included the breakfast buffet which was average fare that can be found at most of the hotels we stayed at. The breakfast food was very fresh but quite expensive if we were guests staying there and not on a tour.

The reason that I gave only 3 stars is because our room was very dingy and disappointing and had an awful view. We were lucky though since being near Las Ramblas, it could have been very noisy. If you are a Starwood Platinum Guest you would most likely do much better getting a nicer room and it would be worth staying there since the staff was wonderful and it was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoelady702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maripac, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

Thank you very much forthe lovely comments about our associates, indeed our biggest asst and what we are most proud of. I will definitey share them with the team.

I am also sorry to read that you the room you stayed in seems not to have fulfilled your expectations. Please apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

And please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival shoul you be able to come back in the future. We will do our best to make your stay as wonderful as possible.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel was really very nice. The room was great, not overly large, but really sufficient, with enough amenities. We did not have the hotel breakfast, as that was pretty pricey, but the hotel is two blocks from the Boqueria market, and we ate there. That was fun. The location is excellent. There is a dedicated concierge - not just the desk clerk. They were reasonably good, though like other big city hotel concierges, they didn't really understand what kind of restaurants we were looking for. I think we would go back to this hotel, next time we're in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maripac, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear LA12345,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Méridien Barcelona with fellow travelers.

I agree that eating at La Boquería is good fun. One of my favorites, although there are many I love, is Pinocho. It has a dish with baby white beans and squid that is delicious.

I am sorry to read that you seem to have experienced some communication glitches with our concierge team, related to the style of restaurant you were looking for, Should you come back, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will work on restaurant recommendations for you.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I've been to Barcelona before, so I knew where I wanted stay. Therefore, the fantastic location of this hotel wasn't a surprise - it's literally on Las Ramblas and about 50m from Plaza de Catlunya.

I never ate in the hotel, though I did have a coffee (free because I didn't ask for fresh towels every day! - I saved the environment ant a few euros!) in the lobby cafe - it was pleasant enough.

The room was exceptionally comfortable and cleaned to a very high standard daily.

My only downer was that as Scuba Diver I asked the concierge about diving opportunities around Barcelona and was told that the only place you could dive was the city's aquarium. In fact, there are a number of city based dive companies who will pick you up at your hotel and drive you 40 minutes up the coast for some quality diving.

In short, I'd go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frewba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maripac, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Frewba,

I am very happy about your review in general, but especially about the fact that you participated in our Make a Green Choice Program. We are highly committed to this initiative and love to see our guests embracing it and joining us in making a small gesture towards being more sustainable. The more we are and the more "small gestures " we make, the bigger our contribution will be.

In regards to scuba diving options, I have forward your suggestions to our concierge team, as they are of great help for future inquiries. Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Meridien during a business trip in late May. The location was ideal for a combination of work and tourism, and the quality of hotel was dictated by corporate preferences rather than personal.
Having said that, as a comfortable base for touring the city and for getting to meetings around town, it worked very well indeed. Many of these hotels simply fade into the background, and on many counts the Meridien did too. It had the requisite bar and breakfast room, the courteous staff, the full range of services, as so many other do.
But where it excelled beyond expectations was in the single most important thing a hotel can do for you - let you sleep, and sleep well! Our room overlooked the Ramblas, so we were concerned about noise. But in the event there was nary a peep through the double-glazed windows. And the bed itself was a thing of beauty: I'm no expert in what an ideal bed should be, how soft or hard, but the ones in the Meridien were perfect. And you can't ask for more than a good night's rest after a hard day's work!
One small observation was that the pool wasn't really a pool at all, more a plunge box, so don't go expecting to get your daily laps....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripateticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maripac, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

I am very happy to see that not only you liked our hotel and its services, but that you were especially happy with our beds. I am are sure that the bed added to your good time in beautiful Barcelona.

Should you be back in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your arrival and of course, during your stay with us.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We loved our stay at Le Meridien. Right on las Ramblas, could walk them up and down from there, so close to the Mercat de la Boqueria, restaurants, could walk up to Casa Batllo, and La Pedrera, down to the coast. Or you could walk to Plaza Catalunya and take a double decker tour from there. Breakfast was outstanding, so was service.
Staff were great to my kids. We arrived in the morning, before our rooms were ready. My teenage son had a fever and was feeling very ill. They let him go inside a party area that they were getting ready for an event later that night and let him sleep in one of the couches, away from the busy hotel lobby. We actually left him there and picked him up a couple hours later.
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa B, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona.

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We agree that our location is prime for guests looking to explore the city, which is very rich in cultural offerings for all ages.
I am very happy to see that you felt at home with your family at our hotel and hope you will be coming back, next time with your son fully recovered an ready to enjoy Barcelona 100%.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

For the second time this year we stayed at the Meridien. Rooms are either small and we missed a bath but there's a large rain shower and the bed is very convenient .
Two years ago we received a large room with view on the street. Despite our Gold status we didn't receive any recognition, no extra drink, no Wifi or extra points.
In february the room wasn't clean, in june the fitting was O.K.
Breakfast is extensive and very good.
The concierge is really excellent, all the time: very efficient and compliant.
We really enjoy to stay in the Meridien but we miss some details for the price we have to pay.
The location is the top but we miss a feeling of hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maripac, Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from Le Méridien Barceona,

I am very happy to read you positive comments about our location and especially our concierge service. It makes me very proud to see that our associates consistently offer a new perspective on the city's cultural aspects.

But I am also very sorry to read that there seems to have been a misunderstanding in regards to your SPG membership benefits. I have shared your comment with my team in order to reinforce the importance of recognizing our valued members and repeat customers.

I truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the future and ensure we meet your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance prior to your next visit.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
1,688 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,659 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
1,892 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Property: Le Meridien Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing