We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location average room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #118 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location average room”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is in the best location of the city. The room was average, the service was pretty good for Europe. Concierge was very helpful. I would stay there again.
It was a snap taking the bus to the airport from hotel, 2 block walk and only $10 versus cab ride about $45

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the fellow travel community. We are glad to read that you found the location of the hotel very convenient, including getting to and from the airport!

Sincerely,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    875
    243
    94
    53
See reviews for
491
1,098
113
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We toured northern Spain in late April/May and this hotel (3 days) was our first introduction to big city Catalan life. We were impressed by the location (steps from Las Ramblas and about a mile from the Mediteranian) which allowed us easy foot access to many historic venues and city parks. We also took advantage of the grocery store located right outside and to the left of the hotel restaurant facing Las Ramblas. Inexpensive wine and freshly made to go items are available for those not wanting to wait until the normal Spanish dinner hour.

Hotel staff, especially front desk personnel, were very friendly and always extremely helpful. Check-in was performed quickly and we appreciated the ability to access our room early. The room itself was fairly modern in design but was beginning to show it's age. Not surprising with the usual high occupancy rate.

For those who like to get out and walk or jog for exercise I recommend avoiding very early starts (many suspect characters loitering up and down Las Ramblas). During the main part of the day the street is just too crowded and smoky. Instead, ask directions to the Giant Parc de La Cuitadella which is about 15 minutes away by foot.

Overall this hotel is comfortable and a good choice as a base for exploring all that Barcelona has to offer.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask for a room facing away from Las Ramblas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Oh yes, I agree that our location is ideal to explore and discover Barcelona's sights, sound and aromas! And Ciutadela park is lovely!

Sincerely,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had no idea this hotel would touch us the way it has. This wonderful find combines old world charm elegantly with sophisticated modern decor that blends perfectly into one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in at any price. The details of the room were exquisite and provided every comfort. The service could not have been better, and the location likewise is in the heart of the action but with quality construction maintaining quiet in the room. Le Meridien made the list of one of our top 5 hotels in the world. We want to come back for a month!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a central balcony. Amazing. High up so less noise I suspect, but Barcelo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! You are always welcome, for a month, two or three!

Sincerely,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Spot on- La Ramblas can't get a better location. Lively street with loads of Restaurants. A few nice halal restaurants as well. A mosque is located 5 mins walk away from the hotel. Take the hospital street after the market on your right walking down the Ramblas from the hotel.
The rooms are Small, staff is very pleasant. The safe box in the room can't fit a laptop bigger than 15".

The breakfast is okay- selection is limited.

In room service is pretty fast.
Bed was too soft.
TV channel selection is poor.

Overall a nice lively area to stay in.
Be careful walking alone at night after mid-night. Too many pick pockets in all shapes and sizes..



Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank asimmstq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of your stay.
Your detailed comments are very helpful in our daily quest for quality improvements.

I will certainly share them with the team in our weekly guest satisfaction meeting, especially the ones about our TV selection and breakfast offerings.
In regards to the safety box size, this will definitely be very important for future renovations!

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location, 20 mins from the airport, (about 30 euros). The rooms vary, some larger than others. If you are a member of starwood preffered Guest, then they put you in a really nice room. But in general, the "normal" rooms are fine too. Comfy beds, great shower, good breakfast (worth it). Little extras.. there's a sensor night light which is pretty cool, ipod dock (was a saviour as I forgot to bring my iphone charger). Just a step away from La Rambla, where it's all happening. So would stay here again as price is very reasonable for such a central hotel.

Room Tip: be a member of starwood preffered guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blumoonbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Greetings from the heart of Barcelona,

thank you for your review! My favorite part...the fact that you would come back if you ever return to Barcelona.

And I agree, the sensor in the room is pretty nice!

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location, but rooms were not as large as we would have liked. Helpful concierge. Cabs were easy to find, and laundromat was a 10 minute walk from hotel. Free internet. Weather was fine, not too warm, but AC wasn't usable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I used SPG points so I cannot comment on the value. I will say this hotel is in the center of the action in Barcelona. The accommodations; staff; food; and drink were all very good. I would return here again.

You are very close to the open air market and the water front.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from Las Ramblas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAPFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
1,687 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,659 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
1,890 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Property: Le Meridien Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing