We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #115 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Anahola, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had only two days for a return visit to Barcelona before a boarding our ship for a cruise from that city. Le Meridean was a perfect choice. Well located, with beautiful, comfortable rooms and courteous staff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Paul,

I am glad to read that you chose us for your stop in Barcelona during your cruise experience. And that you liked it!

Maybe we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon?

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    896
    246
    95
    55
See reviews for
516
1,114
113
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I had stayed at the Le Meridien in Paris and vouched I would never stay at a Le Meridien again. Fast forward to the W in Barcelona being sold out and Le Meridien was the other Starwood choice in the city. I was a bit reluctant but wanted my points :) The room I was given was on the 5th floor and had it's own private outdoor terrace. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the outdoor space. The room wasn't so bad after all.

I returned a few months later and was in a smaller room as the former room was not available. you do notice the age of the hotel a bit and the standard-ness of the room features. There are a number of hotels in Barcelona that are better but the price here is always reasonable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank glennmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings from the heart of Barcelona,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travel community.

I am glad to read that you especially liked the first room you stayed at, although I am at the same time sad to know that you were not as happy with the second room.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to share your recommendations on how we could have made your stay even better!

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our flight landed in Barcelona early. My husband and I were both jet-lagged, and with me being in the first trimester of my pregnancy, I was exhausted and slightly sick. The staff did everything they could to get us into a room early, and when our suite wasn't ready; they let us crash in a hospitality room for a few hours to get in a nap.

The room itself was spacious, the location was fantastic, and the breakfast was delicious.

My only complaint is that this is a common before/after cruise hotel, and they seemed completely overwhelmed with the influx of guests on Saturday mornings/afternoons (pre-cruise guests) and Sunday afternoons (post-cruise guests). You'd think they'd expect this and be able to better handle the large groups. My suggestion would be that if you're getting on/off a cruise, grab some lunch first and stop by the front desk an hour after the mad rush.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PrissyPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community!
I am glad we were able to offer you a hospitality room whilst we were preparing your suite.

It can be tricky at times during high season, but we always do our best to offer our guest their room as quickly as possible.

Thank you as well for your comments in regards to groups arrivals. I will share them with the team in order to review what we could do to improve the process.

I truly hope we will be welcoming you again in the future. Who knows, maybe with the little one?

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Business hotel trying to be "hip" in a great location. Room clean, small, with poor view. Roof terrace tiny with no service. Reception always very busy with people checking in and out. Felt very impersonal. Better options in Barcelona in the same area are definitely available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was an interesting experience because they were very reluctant to provide the service they should until you get upset, then they go overboard to provide what you requested. I guess they did not want to take responsibility until you called them on it and then they were happy to oblige. It started right from the beginning when i arrived at 11am and they told me check in was not until 3pm. We stowed our bags and left to explore the city. We came back at 3:30pm and they told me check in was not until 4:00pm. I checked there website and it was 3:00pm! i had to call out the person who initially told me 3pm then we all agreed it was 3pm and they apologized?? They continually screwed up from that point on from check in time, to cleanliness of the room, to honoring SPG membership, to not doing what they said they would on room charges. They fixed everything but their first reaction was denial or act like there is no problem. I would have to call them on it and get the person responsible in front of me and then they would fix it. I tip well so the staff was taking care of me, but who wants to continually have to ask them to provide normal service. I travel a lot and have never experienced anything like this before. I was on vacation trying to enjoy time with my family and shied away from the hotel as much as possible. Barcelona is a beautiful city! You will spend 1/2 day in this area. Eat lunch at the market!! Amazing! There are no good dinner options in the area.

Room Tip: Barcelona is spread out all over the place. You will only spend 1/2 day in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hokie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to read your review.

Please allow me to assure you that customer service is one of our utmost priorities and at no time would we want to say no to a guest's inquiry.

Unfortunately the impression you seem to have gotten is not in line with our service promise and I apologize for this.
I truly hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again so we can gain back your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First of all the location - at the middle of the Ramblas but on the side - so you do not hear the noise at night.
The hotel is modern , very clean, big rooms and big bathroom ( good surprise for European hotels )
Amazing sleeping quality - the bed was too comfortable !!!
The service was more than good - they just make you feel at home.
the next time i come to Barcelona is only for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vizaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This Meridian is a nice hotel on the inside but would be so much a better hotel if it was somewhere other than the Ramblas. The location is noisy down on the street, touristy and maybe not the safest, with all the back and forth endless crowds descending on the Ramblas nearly 24/7. People constantly warn about pickpockets in the area surrounding the hotel, and a couple with us had a nearly bad experience nearby. The rooms are nice but not over generous in size. With so many great hotels in Barcelona to chose from, located north of this area in different districts, I do not want to return here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
870 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
4,583 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
6,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Property: Le Meridien Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing