We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Barcelona
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
US$277
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Musik Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$273
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$367
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Praktik Garden(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$904
US$361
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Praktik Bakery(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Nouvel Hotel(Barcelona)
US$260
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$524
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,619)
Filter reviews
2,620 results
Traveller rating
1,272
933
257
98
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,272
933
257
98
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasstarwood pointsgreat locationspg memberla boqueriaside streetconcierge deskupgraded to a suitehotel restaurantrain showergothic quarterstreet noisecentral locationpicasso museumtapassagrada familiacruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,978 - 1,983 of 2,620 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2009

First class hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Location: Excellent. On la Rambla near Placa Catalunya and a major subway station. Close walk to everything - the market (Boqueria), the Cathedral in Barri Gotic, Placa Reial, Casa Batllo, and grocery store. Midway between Parc Montjuic and Barceloneta. Amenities: High end restaurant, Illy cafe, fitness centre, and meeting rooms. WiFi available throughout the hotel and in-rooms - 20 euros per day. Rooms: We had a superior and it was excellent - modern design with 42" plasma, desk, chair, small table on wheels, armoir, double closet, and juliette balcony. Slate bathroom with tub and shower and additional TV. Robes included. We were on the 2nd floor facing the street and it was noisy - not noisy enough to wake you but it would keep you awake if you were awakened. If you want peace and quiet then choose an interior courtyard room. We had a small problem with "fruit" flies in our room but did not detract from the overall quality of the product.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WereFromTheBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2009

Dear Guest

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our stay with us and more important than that that you have been able to discover your little secrets.

Yes our location is a must and also our strive to acomplish beyond our guests expectations.

We are delighted when this is achieve can make your visits extra special.

WIFI is now available at the lobby free of charge. We are alos very pleased that you have enjoyed our renovated room style.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit our hotel and when trying to discovery Barcelona. Should your travels ever bring you to back , we do hope you would consider staying with us again.


Kindest regards

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The good things- great location in the heart of Barcelona, fantastic city (but also located in las ramblas "pickpocket row"- so watch out as they are VERY good and they "did" 4 people this week I was with- a regular occurence in Barcelona tho), easy walking distances of shops, some gaudi buildings, a happening area with lots of buskers and street entertainment!
It also has a sport's bar (v useful to watch chelsea v barcelona)- altho prob not so good for those wanting quiet dinner in adjacent restaurant.
rainforest showers are v good in the rooms. coffee making facils but stainless steel cups (yeuk).
Staff in reception are friendly - but typical of a 4-5 star hotel...

The downside:
I just (reluctantly) paid 250- 300 euros/ a night! (rate varied- more for the w/end rate) for what I deem to be a 4 star hotel with zero atmosphere and zero style (unless you like really minimalist style). Few amenities, no outside space- Barce weather is great so roof top terrace/outside bar is needed. Nothing. A fairly depressing restaurant with mediocre choice (same re room service menu) and clinical coffee bar.. (altho there are plenty of places around, partic fast food and also tapas places nearby- and great fish restaurants in the marina- a taxi ride away tho).

The room I had was a deluxe room- hilarious! I hate to think what the standard ones are like! Mine was very small, grim, grey and brown decor with 2 bright red seats (felt like it shld have been a van gogh painting...), with a very small window letting in little light, an (awful) view of peoples' washing and a derelict building/wall... The moment I walked in my heart sank and I wanted to walk out... I hated it. Very masculine, perhaps designed for businessmen arriving late and leaving early? The bathroom was also dark and very grey- altho the rainforest shower is a nice touch.

The rooms were only made up late afternoon- not a major issue but other hotels would have this done first half of the day.

I am afraid I would not recommend this to anyone! unless you can get a really cheap rate and cannot find anywhere else. I wld try the Arts if having to pay top bucks as for this kind of rate- you will get much better facils and a great location by the sea. I also spotted the majectic hotel near a gaudi building - which looked like it had a roof top terrace and pool. Colleagues stayed out at the Hilton (fine if at conference but both Hiltons are in the middle of nowhere so again- not recommended).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2009

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are disappointed that we have not been able to accommodate your needs but also pleased that you have highlighted some of our strengths

Unfortunately you had dinner during that very special evening where we have broadcast lively such an important match. I can assure you that during a normal day the restaurant as it own ambience.

Should your travels ever bring you to back , we do hope you would consider staying with us again.

Kindest regards

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Location is perfect, however air conditioner did not work in our room (we opened the window & we were on the quiet side) nor in our son's room (they were on the street side & too noisy to open the window). They called downstairs 5 times during the night for someone to come fix the a.c. Also spoke to another couple (their a.c. did not work either)..If you stay here, make sure the a.c. is working condition in the room. The reception staff were all excellent. There is a large room with enough computers (complimentary)...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2009

Dear Guest

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us

We continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations and we are delighted when this is achieve can make your visits extra special. Our goal is to make sure that all guests feel as though they belong during their time with us and that each visit is a special one.

Yes in fact we did had some air condition challegings but now it is fully operationaly.

We have now also have further enhance our WEB experience by providing free "WIFI in all public areas.

Our FRONT OFFICE team is very please to know that you have enjoed the service level that they have provided.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit our hotel and should your travels ever bring you to back to Barcelona, we do hope you would consider staying with us again.

Kindest regards
Gonzalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

What were we thinking? We booked this hotel for three reasons: (1) starwood membership perks (2) TripAdvisor reviews (3) room rates were 50% off.

The rooms are large, but the hotel is lacking a roof-top deck or other relaxing areas to escape the hubbub. Also, the walls are paper thin. During our first few minutes, we were immediately struck by noises coming from other rooms – children crying, a couple arguing, and someone else’s tv.

However, the staff was great. They showed us alternate rooms right away. We chose an un-renovated top-floor room – very out-dated, but deliciously quiet with a view.

Next time, we’ll pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peace-L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are disappointed that we have not been able to accommodate your needs but also pleased that you have highlighted some of our strengths. Our special training programs enable us to deliver the level of service that you vave received.

Please be assure that your input is very valuable for our future improvements plans.

Should your travels ever bring you to back , we do hope you would consider staying with us again.

Kindest regards

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Le Meridien Barcelona is your typical luxury Le Meridien property with a hint of Barcelona style. The rooms are very nice, not gigantic, but feature nice bathrooms, lovely hardwood finishings, huge flat screen television and the wonderful beds that are a Starwood signature. Staff was impeccably friendly and went out of the way to help us with recommendations, advice and directions. Nice cafe in the lobby for morning coffee. It's fairly American - all the people I saw/heard in the lobby seemed to be Americans. If you can get a good rate, this is a great place to stay for a tourist weekend in Barcelona. It's location on Las Ramblas is right in the middle of everything! Very safe and within walking distance to everything you want to see. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews