We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design, attentive service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #145 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plougasnou, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Modern design, attentive service”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is a bit of a walk from the standard sites of Barcelona, but there is plenty of shopping between the hotel and any of these sites . Melia makes it their business to think of everything right down to the 'brand' scent in the lobby. The rooms are very nice, but be sure to ask for a double bed in the double room, or be prepared to have two large singles next to one another. (Melia moved us the second night, to a room with a large and very comfortable double bed). The rooms facing the front of the building have windows that open, but road noise is subtantial up to the 5th floor if you leave them open. Breakfast was one of the best for variety and quality you will find, and busy right up to the closing time. You will love the elevator call buttons, as they are programmed to bring a lift that is just for you.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JackSara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you very much for your observation and opinion about our hotel and our facilities.

We appreciate your comment about the rooms and we will take into account to improve our guest satisfaction and experience in Melia Barcelona.

We hope you will stay with us in your next visit; it will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,


Nayden Boykov
Guest Experience Assistant - Meliá Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    805
    231
    112
    62
See reviews for
359
953
89
602
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel after taking a cruise. I've stayed at two other hotels in Barcelona on previous trips, and thought that this one was the least impressive. The staff was one of the BEST I've encountered in all my travels throughout the world. But the hotel itself was a bit run down. The rooms were small and carpeted and the walls were scuffed up. The hallways and public areas were dark and gloomy. Although I didn't have any meals, other members of my party had breakfast which they greatly enjoyed. It would have been overpriced, had it not been that we received a deal of 2 for 1 by signing up for a Melia frequent visitor card. There's enough food options nearby that you won't starve if you eat before 9pm. There's a fabulous mall within 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldlySuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very much for your observations, the opinions of our guests are very important to us to improve our guest satisfaction and quality service

We hope to welcome you in your next visit, we will be very pleased.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I first had a room on the back of the hotel on the 6th floor. The room had scuff marks all over the walls and I was in a double with 2 twin beds. Not quite the 5 star experience I was hoping for. I asked for a king size bed and life got better quick. I was upgraded to a corner room on a higher floor with INCREDIBLE views of the city. A rare surprise was that you could control the a/c in your room. The bathroom had a jetted tub and glassed off shower, even in the room I found inferior. If you have the chance to get served by Daniel, you will be in for a treat. They couldn't have been more helpful. The only downside is that the Les Corts neighborhood while quiet isn't going to help your nightlife plans....well, it depends on what your plans are I guess.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
We appreciate your comments about your experience in our hotel and your kind comment about Daniel. Thank you very much for your suggestions which we will take into account to improve our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We hope you will stay with us in your next visit; it will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Reception staff very helpful and informative.

Loads of choice for breakfast although the queue for hot water for tea/coffee tended to be quite long.

The room wasn't brilliant to look at initially - some scuffs on the walls and furniture, a small hole in the net curtains and in the plastic surround on the shower door. And there were no tea or coffee making facilities. However, it was a decent size with a massive comfortable bed, jacuzzi shower and bath, and nice touches such as gowns and slippers. It was very clean and tidy and provided everything we needed. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and they sent up some champagne and chocolates, which was really nice.

Didn't get time to take in the bar or the spa facilities as too much to see in Barca itself! No problem with any noise depite it being on a busy road.

It's a good 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro station and maybe 5 at most to bus stops which will take you into the city. There is also a tram station a few mins walk at the back of the hotel but this takes you towards the University and the Nou Camp. The roads are really wide and even walking back to the hotel after midnight we felt perfectly safe.

Overall, a very nice hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We appreciate your kind comments about our reception staff and we are very happy that you enjoyed our room facilities and your observations about the coffee making facilities will help us to improve our services. Thank you very much!

We will be very pleased to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,


Nayden Boykov
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Top notch service. Nothing was a problem, quick and efficient, and always with a smile.
Breakfast was memorable, especially for a hotel in Spain. The girl that greeted us at the breakfast room and asked us to write our room number (sorry I cannot remember her name) was so nice and professional. Made a difference to start the day with a smile.
I felt the room was quite small and felt cramped, with a desk, a chair and a footstool that barely fitted in. I know the hotel was renovated 4 years ago but somehow the designer did not achieve a luxurious look. Nice room, but not excellent.
We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assitant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We would like to thank you for your sincere and kind comment.

And yes, our hotel was renovated and although it is not a luxury hotel, but a 5 stars hotel, we always try to do our best in every moment. We will congratulate our hostess, she will be very happy to know she made a difference to start the day with a smile.

We remain at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nayden Boykov
Guest Experience Assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel has it all - friendly service, beautiful rooms, and even futuristic elevators. The bed was so comfortable, and we had one of the best sleeps of our lives. We visited eight hotels on our tour across Europe, and this was one of the nicest.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adymm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assitant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We would like to thank you for your great comments about our hotel and its facilities. We are very proud and happy when our guests enjoy their stays in Melia Barcelona.

We remain at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,


Nayden Boykov
Guest Experience Assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here with two teenagers for three nights after finding a good value deal on lastminute.com. The hotel is not 5 star by international standards but is comfortable and well located and was a good base for sightseeing. It is a 5 minute walk to the tourist bus stop and the road is not noisy at night. The buffet breakfast is extensive and was on special offer at 16 euros, but the restaurant was understaffed which meant a queue for breakfast by about 9.30am. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but if you ask at reception they will provide kettle, cups etc for 6 euros.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 191272Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We appreciate your valuable time and comments that help us to improve our customer service.
We will be very pleased to welcome you in your next stay with us

Kind regards,

Nayden Boykov
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 513 in Barcelona
2,493 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#127 of 513 in Barcelona
834 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
1,941 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing