We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, charming hotel and warm staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regencia Colon Hotel
Ranked #196 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, charming hotel and warm staff”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This lovely hotel reminiscent of the 70s with its striped wall papers, flowery bed covers and teak chairs has all this going for it plus a great location. Lying just across from the Barcelona Cathedral which also has a busy square, you're never far from all the action in the area. The friendly staff was welcoming, genuine and very helpful. We had some trouble with air-conditioning and they immediately moved us to a bigger room even! The hotel allows great access to most of the attractions in the area like La Rambla, Placa de Catalunya, Placa Reial, the Barri Gothic on it's side of the Via Laietana and the Santa Maria del Mar church, El Born, La Ribera, the Parc de Ciutadella, Arc de Triomf and more on the other side. The hop-on hop-off city tour bus stops are also just a 2-minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Though not for sitting out, the rooms on the top floor (5th) have tiny balconies that are cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurinaSayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    428
    90
    29
    7
See reviews for
190
349
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was a great hotel to stay in, located near the Barcelona Cathedral and in the heart of the Gothic district, which made it easy to access other spots in the city.

The hotel itself was clean and had a helpful and friendly staff. It has an elevator, which is helpful for those with a lot of luggage. We had a room with a great city view and it was perfect to wake up and see a beautiful city. They have a breakfast buffet option, but it is not standard with a typical reservation.

This is close to Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, many museums, lots of restaurants and shopping options. Overall, this is a very good choice in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetSetKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My son and I stayed at the Colon hotel in Barcelona for five nights, what a great location, it is situated in the heart of Barcelona overlooking the Cathedral and therefore is part of the Barri Gothic. I loved walking around the lanes and seeing all the beautiful sights and shops. This is also a 5 minute walk from the Ramblas so it is very central. We took the open deck buses to see a bit more of Barcelona, again the stop was just outside the hotel. it was all so convenient.
The hotel itself is very elegant and our room was large, clean and very well appointed, we had great views of the cathedral. The gentlemen at the front desk were very helpful with all our requests. Breakfast was included with our room and that was very well presented and there was plenty of it, a great way to start the day. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

....with this hotel. Spent the highest price out of all the hotels I visited in Barcelona....all because my AirBnB host decided to be a no-show and I needed a place urgently for quiet internet (5 hour remote meeting presentation). This hotel had internet speed at 200kbs (yes that kilobytes!!!). It was so ridiculous that I had to use my phone to carry out the meeting. Honestly I have no idea why professional hotels cannot pay Euro100/month for a decent interent connection. Seriously this is 2014 not 1980!!!! I can't stress how annoying this is!
I want to give it 1 start but in all fairness the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the first time I visit Spain 21-24 july, Stayed in Madrid for 2 nights and 1 night in Barcelona. After check in I asked the transportation from hotel to the AirPort. Front desk man suggested to use the hotel taxi cost 30€ more. He did not tell the metro or aerobus as I need. I am sure he knew the aerobus at Catalunya. Second, When I asked a cup of hot water to the front desk man (another one), while laughing, he pleased me to take it from bathroom tap water. Not worth it for 128€/night but get the unhelpfull staff. The hotel lift is the smallest lift I've ever met, just suit for 2 persons and 2 baggages, no more. One of the left window could not be closed. Room 254.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fanssign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean, the rooms are larger than other hotels, nicely appointed rooms and the location could not be better. It is around the corner from the Cathedral, a short stroll to Las Ramblas, walking distance to the port and so many other areas of Barcelona. Not far from metro entrances either. Which was great since I was sight seeing while my husband attended a conference. The hotel staff were all courteous and willing to help with whatever it was we needed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel or it's sister The Colon.
There is a big difference in price between the two as the Colon is a four star but not in the quality.
The Regencia is just as good and is directly behind the Colon so in a great position.
Lovely place to stay , great location on the lovely cathedral square, everything you could want is at hand or close by and there is always something going on in the square.
Rooms very clean and lovely big comfortable beds.
We had breakfast included in our deal and it was very good.
Helpful , friendly staff . Love it and will stay there whenever we are in Barcelona.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#75 of 513 in Barcelona
1,958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#167 of 513 in Barcelona
1,475 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#219 of 513 in Barcelona
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
988 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
738 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#65 of 513 in Barcelona
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regencia Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regencia Colon Hotel

Property: Regencia Colon Hotel
Address: 13-17 Sagristans, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Regencia Colon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Regencia Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regencia Colon Barcelona
Hotel Regencia Colon Barcelona
Regencia Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing