We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, clean and comfortable.”
Review of Ramblas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #396 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good value for money, not luxurious but more than comfortable. Good choice for breakfast and clean and comfortable bedroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Location fantastic! Bar not open during our stay, but just step outside the front door to find a fantastic choice!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights prior to a cruise in October. I had read reviews about some of the rooms with no windows outside so requested a room with balcony and was allocated a balcony with no extra cost. Actually a terrace.
The room and bathroom were spotless. No sewage smell anywhere.The views from the balcony were amazing. I was on the 9th floor. Had a fridge.
The only negative was breakfast did not start until 8am and Las Ramblas before 8am was creepy. Even Mcdonalds did not open for coffee until 8am.
When leaving for the port easy to hail a taxi outside and only took a few minutes.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Let me start by saying that you probably wont get a better hotel for the same price anywhere on La Rambla. The location is perfect and if you can manage to get a room with balcony then that'd be the cherry on the cake. The rooms and the decor is quiet average. Breakfast is good. Staff is courteous. Not a bad stay! Recommended for couples, singles and groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing La Rambla street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siddhi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

stayed at this hotel for one night before embarking on a cruise.
Was so worried after reading the reviews here that we were ready with a list of alternative hotels if it all went pear shaped!!!!!

we arrived to a lovely cute boutique reception with friendly reception staff. We were told our room was on the 3rd floor. I was dreading the lifts after reading on here...excepting run down rickety old shafts but as we walked past the lovely bar and restaurant to the very well kept modern lifts (ok not huge but sufficent) i was already thinking "what the hell do people write on trip advisor???"

What I was dreading most was the "SMELL"...I have the weakest stomach and struggle at the fish counter of a supermarket ...I could not smell any sewage at this hotel....maybe we got a lucky day.

I had booked a bog standard twin room and was again worried after reading reviews I had pictures in my mind of stinking cell like rooms with no window....but we were greeted to the most lovely room...it was clean...crisp...elegant.

Ok not the ritz style luxury but more than what I expected for the money I paid....plus we had a lovely balcony terrace which looked on the apartments....which i adored as past reviews have described the view as the "the slums" but i thought it was lovely....I could hear a man whistling to himself as he worked, saw a lady sat on her balcony having a coffee...washing hanging out to dry...childrens toys scattered ....I loved the fact I could see real Barcelona life happening in front of me...then you look up and you see the tips of Gaudi buildings....I was very impressed.

The Bathroom was clean and lovely...even had little toothbrush and toothpastes supplied.

Do not have one bad thing to say about this hotel!!!!!!! It was lovely!!!!!!! Would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very good location of the hotel.
The main reason I say I probably wouldn't stay again is due to the very bad sewage smell that is present pretty much all the time, It seems that it was not only in our room on the backside on the 5th floor.
Breakfast was good for a 3* hotel. Personnel was very friendly and their English was good (coming from Belgium...).
We hired a safe. We haven't eaten in the restaurant nor drunk in the bar.
Rooms are not isolated at all : you can hear your neighbour very well in the shower or on the toilet !
Poor TV channels...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The main reason I say I probably wouldn't stay again is due to the very bad sewage smell that is present pretty much all the time, but seems to be worse at night. It also seems to come from the A/C vents as well. You would smell the same odor if you were outside standing near a drainage grate in the street. I smelled this same type of smell staying at a hostel in Rome, which was also an older building, and in public bathrooms around Rome and Barcelona. So it seems to be an issue with updating plumbing.
Beds are definitely hard. Was so tired from all the running around all day that it sort of didn't matter, but they were definitely hard.
Overall, most of the staff was friendly. Not being from Spain or having great Spanish speaking skills, I felt that they did what they could. We did not eat or drink anything at the hotel, so I cannot speak for any of the wait staff. The rooms were cleaned every day, and any questions asked of the front desk were helpfully answered. Never used the safe. Did not leave any valuables in the room at all.
Elevator (lift) is definitely small, but that's expected. There is a room on the 1st floor (or 2nd, can't remember) that allows you to store luggage in a locked bin, which was nice since we arrived about 6 hours ahead of the check-in time.
Had a room on the 7th floor, and it faced the back of the hotel. I'm sure that a room facing the front (Ramblas) would be very noisy at night indeed. The room itself was fairly spacious, which was nice. Nothing additional such as a fridge or anything that I can recall. Bathroom had a bidet which I did not notice and to me meant (again) that renovations haven't happened for quite some time. I do not see bidet's in more recently updated hotel bathrooms as they take up additional space. There was a tub, which was nice just to fill a little and soak tired feet.
Stayed in a different hotel, very nearby, after leaving Barcelona for a week to go to Paris. Those arrangements were made before having left the US for the trip at all. Stayed at Chic and Basic a few blocks away, which is more money, but was a nice stay. If you want cheaper (not cheap, but cheaper) then Ramblas is cheaper. Chic and Basic is def nice, updated/newer hotel, and is def more money.
Nice spot for breakfast was about 2 doors down to the left. Small spot with 5 euro brekkie on average for a breakfast sandwich of some sort and a coffee or beer.
Went to the flamenco spot directly next door to the left. If you want to book through the hotel they need cash to give the cash to the flamenco place, per their explanation as to why you can't pay for flamenco via the hotel on a card. Went to the first show at 6:45pm for 30 euro a person, which includes a drink. Some people nearby did not get their drink. Make sure you raise your hand and get your drink! :-) They "open doors" for the flamenco 10 min prior to the start of the show, but you meet on the sidewalk and they call your name to enter and go upstairs. You sit where they tell you to sit. You can pay more to go later, and you can opt for dinner and a show, things like that.
If you want beach chairs on the beach then start using one and someone will come along and tell you to pay. from what i heard it's about 5 euro per chair. they also have umbrellas, but i'm not sure how much they are.
the place on the beach, Las Vegas, is pricey, which is expected, but they are inconsistent and rude. Had a sangria for 7.50 one day, decent sized glass, rude staff. was desperate for a drink on the beach a week later, went again, much smaller glass of sangria for the same price, same rude staff. would not return. you can buy drinks from the market and snacks etc (canned things) and eat and drink them on the beach for less than 5 euro for 2 people. no need to pay all the money, get ripped off, and deal with rude staff, for all that money.
bathrooms are gross, and they're pretty much at the end of the beach nearest the barceloneta metro/closes to Ramblas itself. nice walk ahead though. most dining that has patio dining charges more for patio dining than indoor dining. usually at least 10% more off the top, maybe even higher menu prices to start with.
careful of pickpockets on the metro. avoid groups of any sort while out. dont stop and watch things with groups of people. dont take things that some random person hands you. they will demand money and get angry/aggressive.
one last note - monjuic. very confusing up there. the big museum is best accessed from the closest metro stop. not walkable from the park from the funicular. the maps are poor and misleading. not worth it. hours are not necessarily correct in printed items.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back which does not face Ramblas due to the noise. Keep in mind that to tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You feel as if there's a scam going on in is hotel, money was stolen from one friends room and earrings from another, you have to pay per night to use the safe, key cards for 4 different rooms were just given out by the night porter at 3am, no id asked for!!
If you buy a drink from the bar you are not allowed to drink it in their seating area on The Ramblas (shown in photo) they charge you a lot more for that pleasure.
If this hotel was situated anywhere else it would not last a season the staff are so unhelpful and RUDE!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank libby_den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
2,496 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#240 of 515 in Barcelona
1,618 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
990 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#335 of 515 in Barcelona
377 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#263 of 515 in Barcelona
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramblas Hotel

Address: Ramblas, 33, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramblas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramblas Hotel is situated on Barcelona’s famous Las Ramblas, just 500 metres from Port Vell Harbour. It offers free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour reception and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony or terrace.Each bright room at the Hotel Ramblas includes satellite TV, a minibar and a safe. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer and toiletries. Some rooms have views over the Ramblas.The Ramblas Hotel has a lobby bar and a charming café with original Modernista design and a pavement terrace. Breakfast is included in all room rates.Located at the edge of Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter, the hotel is a 10-minute walk from Barcelona Cathedral. Liceu Metro Station is just 250 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Ramblas Barcelona
Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing