We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's not a 4 stras hotel, but still good!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abbot
Ranked #467 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it's not a 4 stras hotel, but still good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

everything is nice and well done in the hotel, except that there is a big need of refreshing it!! Rooms are nice, beds are excellent, no noise, and high quality in the service (wifi, shampoo, lift etc...) and everything for a good price and next to sants station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    67
    69
    41
    18
See reviews for
27
92
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
268 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Really small room with squeaking panel floor, broken glass accross the wardrobe doors.
Yet clean and in order - same as the bathroom. Large set of bath utensils.
Windows can't be left in small opening for ventillation, hence problems with fresh air int he room.
Free wi-fi, but quite slow and with few black spots.
Small selection of food for the breakfast.

Positive:
- good communication due to vicinity of Sants station
- easy walk to Montjuic fairgrounds, which is a big asset during Mobile World Congress
- nice and simple setup of public areas, especially the restaurants
- helpful and friendly staff

Bottom line - good for overnight sleep for a busy visit to Barcelona.
For a romantic weekend I would select something closer to La Rambla.

Room Tip: rooms facing the Av. Roma are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

A great location if arriving to the main rail station at sants. just 5 mins easy walk across from main entrance to avenida tarragona. easy access to underground, and all parts of the city.
requested and obtained a quiet internal courtyard room.
the room was adequate for 2 people, and fine for sole occupancy, with nice modern decor, and a comfortable bed. free wifi also in bedrooms.
local bars and eating places within a few minutes walk.
the hotel also had a nice breakfast room and lounge area, though i did not take the breakfast.
all the staff on reception were really helpful, with local tips, dealing with my travel companions delayed arrival, and holding luggage for a late departure.
the only negative was that i found that the bathroom a bit too small for a big guy, though all fittings were good quality and worked just fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the Sants railway station, from where you can catch the metro into the city centre. The room was small and simple, but clean, and the bed was quite firm, which I prefer. The rooms and corridors have wooden floors, and as some other reviewers have commented, are not terribly well soundproofed, and noise from the corridor could be a problem. The aircon is also quite noisy on the high setting, and I recommend setting it to low if you want to sleep well (or just bring ear plugs). I had a room at the back of the hotel, so I did not experience any problem with noise from outside. The wifi is free, and worked perfectly fine in my room on the first floor. At 65 euros per night (not including breakfast), I think this is good value for Barcelona. Despite the railway station nearby, there are not many eating options close to the hotel, so you should eat in the centre before coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majikthise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

we stayed at this place for a long weekend with some friends and enjoyed it. we didn't have breakfast there but rather outside at one of the bistros.
it is well located near the train&metro station - from where you can get anywhere in barcelona within a reasonable time (what this means is up to you). the rooms were nice, not huge but ok if you do not plan to stay in there for something other than sleeping.
however, you get to hear it if someone walks the hallway or talks loud in the neighbouring rooms. rem: the bathtubs are tiny.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Pro: - clean room
- close to Sants Station
- very nice staff
- great price per night (55 euro/night booked on our own)
- over my expectations

Against: - nothing to say...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossonerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

The hotel and room were fine in general, I chose it because it was near Sants station. Very good breakfast with fresh coffee, fruits, and all kinds of stuff, in a big room. Breakfast was the best part at this hotel.
The room was ok and had minibar, but didn't look like 4 stars and it was small and with an ugly view although that was not a problem for me since I requested not to be placed at the front to prevent noises from the street.

The staff wasn't very helpful, we had a problem with the heating (too hot, unable to switch off) and they couldn't fix it, just offered us to change rooms, which we didn't want because we had already unpacked. The safe in the room never worked, we told reception but they couldn't fix it either.
I also didn't like the '90s decoration and the lack of bidet in the bathroom (in Spain most hotels have it). Also, a lady at the reception who was a local, didn't know about the existence of a mayor church of the city and told me I was wrong about it (I was right), which was misleading for us. They never treated us badly, but weren't very helpful or nice either.
I would rate this hotel 3 stars at the most. Anyway I would come back because it was ok in general terms.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marducita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbotBarcelona, Director General at Hotel Abbot, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having selected our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. Also, we are grateful to you for your nice opinions about our breakfast service, On the other hand, we regret any inconvenience that we may have caused you with our confusion over Barcelona's Cathedral and Santa Maria del Mar church, wich is called, People's Cathedral. We really try to be helpful with all our guests, I see that we don't achieve always our purpose. We will improve it.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Acta City47
#240 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#325 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Eixample
H10 Itaca Hotel
H10 Itaca Hotel
#183 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#341 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#288 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#367 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbot

Property: Hotel Abbot
Address: Avenida de Roma 23, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbot 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Abbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Abbot Hotel Barcelona
Comfort Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Abbot Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing