We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've stayed in better Travelodges” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Abbot
Ranked #467 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I've stayed in better Travelodges”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm very surprised that this hotel has managed to get 4 stars. My sister and I stayed there for three nights and I'd never been HAPPY to leave a hotel! Worst thing first, more than once we woke up to discover the door to our room had been opened in our sleep, we though we mus not had pulled it too proeprly but the way the door was that couldn't happen - was was often open and inch or so in the mroning. On our last day there I even woke up to find the door was wide open, not just by an inch. No one ever knocked on our door so we had no idea if it was the cleaner or someone creeping into our room.
Said room was tiny and we were given one bed, despite booking a room with two and once again requesting two when we arrived (they hadn't allocated us a room). The lobby is lovely, I'll give them that, and the first staff memeber we dealt with was weet and helpful. However, once we stepped into our room we were both so dissappointed. There were marks and scratches all the way up and down the walls - not just long the bottom where it looked like hunderes of suitcases had been scrapped on it. The headboard was glued (?) the the wall and where it had come away it took a few good chunks of paint with it, there were also drill holes all over the floor and patches of rush in the bath. We had to call the desk as soon as we got in because we had one towl and the safe battery had run out. They did send soemone up to look at it but he ended up `fixing` it then it stopped working all together and breaking it. When I went to complain about this the staff member who broke the safe was rude and intimidating. He shrugged at me and gave me dirty looks and said `So? It's broken`. I tried to explain how this wasn't good and were weren't happy, all I got was another shrug and was told we could leave our valubles with him. He stared at me and just kept shrugging until I felt so uncomfortable I just went back to the room.
My sister and I spent as little time as possible in our room. It's a good place to sleep and that's about it.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra room key so you can keey the AC running whilst you're out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    67
    69
    41
    18
See reviews for
27
92
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I took my boyfriend away for his 30thbirthday for 3 nights and stayed in this hotel. It looked very posh and upmarket from the outside and not to terrible on the inside. Unfortunately the greeting we had was a little sour by one of the female receptionist, we did arrive around 10.30 at night and as we hadn’t eaten we asked the receptionist to tell us any local restaurants with no enthusiasm she just sent us on the metro. (which we decided not to attempt as all-round the back streets there where little pizzerias at decent prises) the following day a lovely male receptionist helped us out with all our questions regarding the best shopping centres the best ways to travel how to get there etc really nice man. the breakfast wasn’t too bad, I have had continental in the past and I enjoyed this a lot more make sure you fill up as the second you set foot in a tourist area the prises for anything and everything triples. In all regarding the hotel it had its pros and cons its right near the metro which we used continuously its 10 minutes’ walk from a shopping centre there are loads of corner shops and little cafes. The only thing I disliked was the rock hard mattress the teeny tiny shower and the one lady who was abit snotty, but if you can get this place at the right price I would take it. Ohhh….. ive noticed that no one has commented on this but there’s a Guarded Prison sitting behind the hotel. Didn’t give us any bother what so ever but when I looked out my window I was a little surprised.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cat88m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during Mobile World Congress a week ago. Aside from the location which is conviently located between two metro stations, there is nothing positive to report back: uncomfortable rooms, extremely dated and beat up bath rooms and broken fixtures, no hot water in the morning rush hours, on one occasion no water at all in the morning! The walls were so thin that I actually heard the mobile phone of the person next door buzzing in the morning (the sound was so clear that initially I thought it was my phone that was buzzing). I travel quite often and I am used to varying degrees of service and comfort. This hotel is in a different class however. It should be thought of as barely a three star hotel, unless they are charging you 50 euros a night. Then its worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MouWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Pros
Very comfortable bed. Good linen. Well cleaned. Helpful and friendly staff.
Good position to walk anywhere if you are feeling energetic or very handy for Sants station if you want to use train or metro. Very good value for money from Travel republic.

Cons
Road noisy and air conditioning not good (in my room). Breakfasts not much choice and water for tea horrible, but overall for Spain, not too bad. Also the water from the taps had an odd chemical smell - couldn't have been too bad as I only have to look at something sideways to get an allergic reaction and didn't, but having said that would not want to drink it.

Would I stay again? Yes

Room Tip: Higher floors are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Straveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Excellent location just across from Sants Railway Station. This station is just 3 stops from the airport. I went to Barca for football and walked to the Nou Camp from the hotel in around 20 minutes. As for the hotel the staff were very good and the room facilities were typical 4 star hotel standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Today my mums bag was stolen in Barceloneta on a bench on the promenade, as we were relaxing enjoying our time on the beach my mums bag was beside her very close but we did not think to make sure it was near to us. Furthermore one guy from Morocco approached us on his black pushbike and asked an idiotic question and spoke very poor spanish to distract us as we also had a bike and he asked it is a private bike whilst another guy came round the back but we didn't see him as our attention was drawn toward him. We found out because a woman shouted "the bag", we didn't clock on as it happened within seconds; I tried to chase after him, screaming to raise awareness but he was far gone on his bike so it was impossible. He had brown short hair, pale face not very tall, all dressed in black. Afterwards when I was able to think straight I realised it was the same guy who done it to me in September last year, so it is obvious that he is still doing it, exactly the same asked me a question where is port olimpic; I thought it was suspicious, however I did not realise for quite some time that my bag had been stolen. The way they operate is one comes round the front to ask you a question to distract whilst the other comes round the back they always work in twos majority of the time so please be aware to avoid it happening again. One of the main reasons I am writing this review is I don't want them to win and have the pleasure of having it so easy to steal one belongings, so please do not be an easy target. We rang the police who came to late and they weren't very helpful about what happened at all and all the thief's get is a fine which is unacceptable. In Saudi Arabia if the theif's are caught they get their hands chopped off. So there you have it

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank NataliaG1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Staying in Barcelona is not cheap, but this place was great value for money. We had a room on the corner on the 4th floor and it was a large room with good aircon it was perfect for our needs. There was a supermarket accross the road which was handy! Breakfast was included in the price which was decent and filling. Stay here if u want a decent Sleep, good location and for sightseeing around town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Acta City47
#240 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#326 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Eixample
H10 Itaca Hotel
H10 Itaca Hotel
#183 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#340 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#280 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#368 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbot

Property: Hotel Abbot
Address: Avenida de Roma 23, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbot 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Abbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Abbot Hotel Barcelona
Comfort Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Abbot Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing