We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 nights in barcelona”
Review of Hotel Adagio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adagio
Ranked #343 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Location 5/5 . Amazing location few meters from Las Ramblas and in carrer de ferran. Helpful staff especially Jose.
Small room but as described while booking. No toiletries but 2 plastic cups that have not been replaced. 2 miniature soaps that have been used in two days and never replaced, We had to ask the reception for more. And the A/C has no control in the room and it wasnt cool enough in hot july days & nights. But not hot though. Except that all was good. Breakfast is very good. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We take this chance to say thanks very much for your choice and we sincerely hope your stay were pleasant. Sorry for those things that weren't be of your liking, and we are happy you appreciate other things instead of them. Received a very warm greeting from all staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were warmly welcome and loved the location. Clean and spacious! We stayed at a unit a few steps from the hotel and it was very spacious and comfortable with the exception that it had no air conditioning which we found out once there. We survived since it was not too hot but since we had to leave the windows open it was a bit noisy at night, overall we were very happy with the accommodations.

However, at our last night stay we were sitting in the reception/computer area having ice cream we purchased outside the hotel when a lady wearing shorts, seemingly the manager or something rudely approached us and ask us to leave because we were not supposed to be there eating if it had not purchased at the hotel so we just walked out without an exchange of words. That's the first time someone had made such a statement at any of the other hotels I have stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank baronM014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Firstly thanks very much for your choice and be so kind to help us sharing your experience with all of us. Greatly regret the misunderstanding caused last night. Hope you do not keep that in mind. Our warmest greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is on a side street about 20 yards from La Rambla and next to a few restaurants and pubs. It's actually surprisingly quiet and comfortable at night--no worries about noise or foot traffic from the neighboring bars/restaurants.

My room was a single on the third floor. The room was very small, but clean and comfortable enough. But note, the bed was a double (kind of like a dormitory bed, but shorter—at 6’1” I was way longer than the mattress) and, as far as toiletries, they only provide hand soap and a body gel. For such a “nice” hotel (at least price-wise), I though that was a pretty unpleasant and lazy corner to cut for your guests. I also wasn’t a fan of the fact that the room phones don’t dial out, even to a local Spanish number. They’re just there for appearances. Again, for the price, I thought that was shoddy. This may have only been a quirk too, but my room only had one available power outlet.

The reception staff was helpful with directions, suggestions for restaurants and sights, and being generally accommodating. Can’t really ask for a better, more central location and if it’s just a place to sleep you’re looking for, this is fine. But given the price, the amenities were severely lacking and I would suggest looking for another place if able.

Room Tip: Only a single elevator so stay low so stairs remain an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Nate, thanks very much for your choice, and for your comments that help us to improve every day. We do not know what is the price you paid for your stay but you can be sure that if you asked to us for more soap, or anything that you needed, we with pleasure gave it you. We are a normal hotel that try to give the best to the people who visit us. Hope to attend you next time and prove it. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Adagio hotel is Clean, secure,located in the center of the city but without refrigerator nd private ac controller, it is a join for all rooms.
For breakfast it is 6/10, always the same, but overall a good hotel to pass your 10 days in it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks a lot for your choice. About breakfast it is from 7:30 until 10:30. Thanks for your recomendations, we take note to improve. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here last week on a 5 night trip to Barcelona. Absolutely great location - right in the heart of La Rambla area with major attractions within walking distance or just 3 minutes to Metro station. The place itself is what it states - 2 stars but we were mainly in the hotel to sleep so couldn't complain. The bed was comfy and the room was clean and the place was tidy overall. Due to its age you will hear the water moving around the building through the lines - but that was the main drawback. We didnt get a balcony room so not sure if it was louder on the street-side. Staff was friendly throughout and very helpful in recommending places to go and answer any queries.

The hidden gem was their own tapas bar - Tapaddagio - possibly one of the best tapas we had while in Barca. Fusion sort of tapas but excellent - and if you stay at the hotel we got 20% off the bill. I highly recommend the egg infused calamari with potatoes.

Overall a very good 2-star hotel right in the heart of all the fun of Barcelona with a wonderful tapas bar downstairs! Thanks to all the Adagio staff!

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper then avoid balcony sides. Also do online bookings to save some cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear, we are very glad to hear from you. Its great for us that you enjoyed the city as much as the restaurant. We are here 24 hours to help our visitors and it is always a pleasure to attend people like you. Because of this, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona. Best regards from all Adagio's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was very convenient, just a few meters off La Rambla - in C/Ferran. Closest metro station is Liceu. Anyway, the location is great for exploring the Barri Gotic by foot. You can reach a lot of the main sights within 5 -10 minutes walk. You have all the nice squares and small places to explore, the Plaza Real is just opposite the hotell. A very lively square where food and drink are served almost all day and night while all sorts of entertainers perform in front of the bars. Very lively indeed.
The rooms were quite small, but comfortable enough. Since this is a very busy part of the city, including the street itself, you cannot expect the place to be very quiet. We all slept very well, but if you are sensitive to normal streetlife, try a room at the back - or fint a hotel outside the Barri Gotic.
By the way, we tried the tapas menu at the hotel and it was excellent. And as a guest at the hotel, they gave us 20% discount on the food. Just try it!

Room Tip: Try a room at the back if you are sensitive to noises from normal streetlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

From the Hotel Adagio took the opportunity to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. Thanks also for recommending us and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the city, the neighborhood and the food with us. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a 3 night stay. Wanted central, clean hotel for a reasonable cost and that is what we got. Couldn't fault hotel or service provided. Staff pleasant and helpful. Some street noise but would expect that given the location. Always plenty hot water. Bed linen and towels changed daily and bathroom cleaned. Given it is a 2 star hotel, for service and location it is spot on

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank GAG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Adagio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experience and objectivity. It is always important for us to know what our guests think. Thanks for helping us and for choosing us, hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#260 of 520 in Barcelona
673 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#244 of 520 in Barcelona
538 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#307 of 520 in Barcelona
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#371 of 520 in Barcelona
389 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#345 of 520 in Barcelona
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio

Address: Carrer de Ferran, 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £45 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adagio 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Adagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Barcelona
Hotel Adagio Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing