We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Hotel Glories

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Glories
Ranked #292 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked a reservation to stay in this hotel in for 10 days very recently ( Oct. 4-14 ). After seeing 2 rooms, I decided to leave as soon as possible. The bathroom of the first room ( 2nd flr.) was not very clean and the room had no drawers, cypboards, or shelves to put clothing and toiletry items. The bedspread was kind of a khaki colour and did not appear very clean. The second rm. they showed me ( at my request) on the 5th floor, appeared much the same. Only one glass cup was provided.. The bed in both rooms was more like a single , than in any of their ads. As far as I could tell, most of the info. in their ads is misleading. I could not keep the window open because of the traffic noise oputside . When I went for a short walk to find a restaurant, there were few restaurants and I did not feel very safe in the neighbourhood. Also, did not see a Metro station close to the hotel. The WiFi service in the room was sporadic. The make receptionist was not very helpful and did not seem very interested in my concerns ( the female receptionist the next morning was much nicer ) I quickly contacted my travel agent back in Canada and requested her assistance in finding alternate accommodation. I left the next morning. I would not return to this hotel ( whish was more like a 2 star than a 3 star ), and would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Don't stay here !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hola Micki L.

We are sorry to learn that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet your high expectations.

Guests are the lifeblood of our hotel and the bottom line for all our efforts is our guests' satisfaction. We will discuss the different issues proffered in your comment during our next internal meeting and will spare no effort to eradicate possible flaws in an attempt to enhance our guests' experience.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Yours faithfully

Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glories
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very happy with our stay at Hotel Glories, easy to get to from Monumantal metro station if you take the time before travelling to study a street map for 5 minutes. Ok, decor in rooms isn't up to latest styles and fashion but it isn't as bad as some might lead you to believe, the rooms are extremely clean and well kept, the use of the safe is included in the room price where others can and do charge for this service. All the staff we had contact with were extremely helpful and I would have no hesitation in staying at the Hotel Glories again if travelling to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dode_Balfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hola Dode_Balf,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time in making such a detailed review of your stay at Hotel Glòries.
We are really happy when one of our guest tell us "I would have no hesitation in staying at the Hotel Glories again if travelling to Barcelona".

Thank you very much for your visit and your reviews

Best regards


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this Hotel in August. My husband booked it and thought the location was going to be brilliant having studied their website. However it took us ages to find. The hotel says it is next to the Glories shopping centre which is full of bars and restaurants. Perfect we thought for having dinner right next to the hotel. The location of the hotel though is NOT close to Glories shopping centre. It is in a side street a good 10 minutes walk away, in a bit of a dingy dodgy area, not particularly nice. The hotel really need to change this information, it is very misleading.

The young lady on reception made up for all the hotels faults - her service was exemplary - shame we can't remember her name. She was working 10 shifts in a row whilst we were there, always the late shift finishing at 10 pm.

The breakfast room is in the basement with no windows - really dull but the quality of the food was reasonable for the price.

A 15 minute walk gets you to Sagrada Familia. A 10 minute walk gets you to the closest metro station. A 10 minute walk gets you to the tram stop which only takes 5 minutes to get to Olympic port (the old one) which was handy.

The rooms are very dated, the bathroom not brilliant. You get what you pay for. It was fine if you like basic. I would have loved to have been able to sit outside though and enjoy the glorious Barcelona weather. In this hotel everything is inside which is a shame.

Despite being near a busy road it was quiet in the rooms and we were nervous about walking back late at night - its very dark in the streets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allaboutcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hola Allaboutc

Thank you for sharing your point of view about Hotel Glories with other Tripadvisor readers.

I would like to clarify that the information in our official web is correct and we respect the opinion of customer although we think that he/she is not right because of the distances to some people. 10 minutes for some are close and some are far.

Your comments regarding the street lights and the neighborhood will reach the Barcelona city hall

I regret that the breakfast room was boring for you, try to improve it.

Best regards


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel was ok for the price. Room rather outmoded and small but clean. Bath need a soon refurbishment. Did without breackfast, cafés / restaurants in the same road. Advantages are the free internet access and definitely the central location to the next metro station (Monumental) and the Sagrada Familia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hola Roman R,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time in making such a review of your stay.

In the near future and when the availability permits, we prepared to begin to refurbish the rooms.
We already have some room refurbished and in the case to return to the hotel, please contact me (info@hotelglories.com) to offer you these new room and give us feedback about.

We really hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is not great, but not bad either - simple, clean, average sized rooms. The beds were a little on the uncomfortable side as were the pillows, and the breakfast wasn't too amazing, but it wasn't too bad either. It is in a good central location - about 15 minutes' walk from the Sagrada Familia, and very near Monumental tube stop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hola PixieDina,

Thank you for sharing your point of view of the Hotel Glories with other Tripadvisor readers.
I very much regret that your experience at hotel glories was not entirely satisfactory.
We appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We look forward to welcome you back son.

Yours faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We also had a room on the first floor that had a window all right, but not to get any fresh air, since it was underneath some sort of a hut with sun roof. Asked for the room change, but wasn't possible. I guess all the "standard doubles" are on the lower levels! In the beginning the room really smelled like mold, but the technician came to fix the air conditioner - after that it actually smelled more like freshener. In my opinion the whole hotel smelled like mold.

All and all I wasn't really happy about this hotel. The location was not so great either unless you go to Sagrada Familia every day and it's really not worth walking to center every day, so we took L2 metro from Monumetal to Passeig de Gracia (two stops) and then changed to L3 or L4 depending on where we were going. That was the easiest and fastest way to transfer.
The room was kept clean; new towels, sheets and everything, but the mattress was really hard and the walls thin. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any "lively" couple, even if they were just going to stop by sleeping in the room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Katja N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are sorry to hear the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. However, we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

I inform you that double rooms are on all floors of the hotel and not only on the first floor as you say.
We always offer to change rooms when the client does not agree for any reason with which we assigned, but sometimes our availability does not allow, please apologize if this is the case.

We are convinced that in other circumstances the appreciation of your stay in our establishment would have been completely different.

We hope that despite your disappointed on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Yours faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

the service you get is good very clean , by nice and quiet vietnamien or thailand cleaning ladies ...
the price is quit good 70 euros by night with no breakfast , the bus N° 7 takes you to the centrum in 30 mn for 2 euros , sagrada familia is like 7 or 8 blocks away

the only bad thing is the rooms realy looks like a hotel stuck in the mid eighties
come on some updates like the colors dark every where ...
the bathroom is nice beige marble clean
i took room N° 14 was the the basement very calm, the refreshing system or heat is good i put it is 15 in meduim speed at night was very good
i would recommand if you are all day outside the hotel and for few days which i did

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nassy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hola Nassy74,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time in making a review of your stay at Hotel Glòries.
We appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.
Thank you for appreciate the calm in that floor and the refreshing or heating system.

We look forward to welcome you back son.

Yours faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#202 of 513 in Barcelona
1,963 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
1,932 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
803 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#384 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Eixample
NH Barcelona Eixample
NH Barcelona Eixample
#206 of 513 in Barcelona
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glories

Address: Calle Padilla 173, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £51 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glories 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glories is located to 10 minutes from the Sagrada Familia, for the 22 high-tech area, as well as the Agbar Tower. The National Theatre of Catalunya and the Auditori Concert Hall are just 400 metres away. Direct service to Plaza Catalunya in around 5 minutes. Monumental Metro Station is just 3 minutes’ walk away from Hotel Glories. The rooms all have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV , free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk offers car and bike hire, reserve tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glories Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Glories Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing