We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly ”
Review of Hotel Glories

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Glories
Ranked #297 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly lady and she was very helpful as to where to go to see some lovely sights. She gave us a map and circled the best sights with ample info on how to get there (busses, metro, tram etc) the room was very clean however we did ask for a double room but we had two single beds pushed together with an extra bed room which was not needed at all, we requested a change but no double rooms were available. Apart from that it was very clean and neat with no faults! We were provided with a mini fridge with plenty of beverages which were slightly over priced compared to how much you could get them for at the local shop. Breakfast was available with a great choice of food and was reasonably priced. Hotel is in a good location close to bus stops, shops and access to restaurants and a lovely church for sight seeing!
All in all a nice hotel with friendly staff! Perfect for a short break but there is room for updating their style.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jaimielea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hola Jaimielea,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are so sorry you did not appreciate the free upgrade we gave you and preferred a standard room to a superior room.
You are absolutely right, in a local shop will always be cheaper than a mini fridge and any restaurant, bar you can find in the city.
Coke mini fridge 1,80 E Coke Hotel Bar 1,65 E, Coke bar in front the hotel E

We recommend you to check our official website, and get our offers and discounts for your next trip to Barcelona.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Glories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glories
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very good location only 5 mins walk from the metro. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable - all in all good value. On the down side we booked a taxi at reception to take us to the airport (our flight was at 6.15am) and were told it would cost around €30 - €35 however when it arrived the driver wanted to charge us €45! We declined him and flagged down another taxi which was from the same company but it only cost €30.

Room Tip: Rooms above the main entrance are spacious and bright
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hola Joy M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

We are sorry to hear the trouble with the taxi.
I would appreciate to send me an email (info@hotelglories.com) informing of the day that this problem happened so I´ll talk with the taxi company that we use.
The price given from reception desk are approximate. It is impossible to be exact price

Take this opportunity to inform the future visitors of Barcelona that there are many taxi companies but all have the same color on the car. Yellow and black.
It is important to ALWAYS ask for a ticket and another important thing NEVER take a cab to give them a fixed price. THERE IS NO fixed rate.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Glories!

Yours faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Hotel Glories is a modest hotel, quite close to La Sagrada Familia. It's about 25 mins steady walk to the beach/marina and similar to the main shopping areas, including Las Ramblas. So, as a base it's in a decent position and a quiet area at night. The first night was poor in that we were given a bedroom at the back which had a window that looked at a blank wall and the room was extremely small, however without any problem whatsoever, we were moved to a different room the day after, which overlooked the front and this was entirely adequate. We didn't eat at the hotel as breakfast was 11 euros each (Continental) and the same could be bought at several places in the area for half this. All the staff were extremely nice and couldn't do enough for you. Only once used Reception to order a taxi but the price doubled, not sure whether commission was involved. Overall, a very clean and pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you insist on a room facing the front and at least 2nd floor upwards
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexMiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hola EssexMiket

Thank you for sharing your point of view about Hotel Glories with other Tripadvisor readers.

You are very friendly for the positive comments about the hotel and staff.

We would like to clarify that our breakfast is buffet so you can eat everything you found on the buffet, and the continental breakfast only is white coffee + croissant+ an orange juice glass.
We don´t serve continental breakfast.

About the taxi, we want to explain that there is a difference starting price. If you take the taxi on the street (2,30 €) or if you ask by phone (4,30 €). Approximate price
No matter if it's from a hotel, restaurant, etc.. the price will always be somewhat higher, that's the price for not having to wait in the street for a taxi. It has nothing to do whether or not commission.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Your faithfully

Raül Jimenez
Hotel Glòries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here on a short (2 night) City Break, Our room was somewhat small and dark however the trip was done on a budget. Having said that the room was clean and comfortable. The staff make up for any shortcomings, the two men on reception couldnt have been more helpful. Full of knowledge and answered any questions we had regarding the area, directions and travel.

The Hotel is situated near to Sagrada Familia which is a must see and plenty of nice restaurants nearby to choose from. All in all a lovely weekend break. A big 'well done' to the staff at the Hotel Glories.

Room Tip: Preferably not room 405, rather small and the only view was directly into a neighbouring room!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TT1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hola Tracy T,

Thank you for sharing your point of view about Hotel Glories with other Tripadvisor readers.

You are very kind of mentioning our staff: you can easily see that they like taking care of our guests and we are very proud of all of them. They will always do their best to help you with anything you may need during your stay in our city.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Glories!

Yours faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Took my son for a trip to the Nou Camp as a birthday surprise
Glories was excellent value for what we I paid, our room was very clean and service was first class.
Breakfast was good and set us up for our days activities.
Only a few minutes walk to the Metro then a just a few stops to city centre.
The icing on the cake was the friendliness of the staff, Lara (hope thats correct spelling) was on the late shifts during our stay nothing was any bother for her, thanks Lara.
Glories hotel was excellent value for money, I would not hesitate to use again.
John and Michael

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hola John M,

As Front Office Manager of the Hotel Glòries is really fantastic when I read comments like yours.

I'm really happy when one of our guest tell us: "Glories was excellent value for what we I paid, our room was very clean and service was first class" or "The icing on the cake was the friendliness of the staff, Lara".

Thank you very much for your visit and your reviews,

Your faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Glories for three nights. The breakfast was not included but for about 11 euros you can have a buffet breakfast. The room was quiet small and the area was pretty quiet. However, the staff were polite. I would not stay there again purely for the size of the room and the lack of a restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roopinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hola Roopinic,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for mentioning one of our staff member.
if the customer is not agree with the room, we try to offer a room change.
I regret that you did not comment anything on the reception desk.

If you come back to Barcelona, we hope you could give us another chance to proof the quality of the hotel and we hope to see you back.

Yours faithfully

Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

+ Very cheap (43€/night for 2 people,early booking)
+ very close to bus stops
+ close to sagra da familia
+ good shower/WC
+ rooms are quite
+ free wifi works fine
+ reception helpful, understands english. fast checkin and checkout
+ location is about 10 minutes with bus/metro to Catalunya (Centre of Barca)

0 medium sound isolation
0 beds not big
0 most rooms don't have view,
0 room kinda dark even you turn on all the lights.

- not close to metro stations, it is between two stations, in Barca this means it is farthest from Metro.
- blanket was not covered with sheets, very unhygienic.
- heating system does not work when you are take your key from power plug, it takes time to get heated when you arrive to your room.
- heating system noisy (central air condition with control panel in the wall)


Notes: It is not written on website or anywhere else. If travelling from airport take No46 then H12 buses, you arrive at hotel easily and cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a front view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YamanEligul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepción H, Departamento de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Hola YamanEligul,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We want to confirm, the metro station monumental is a 2 minutes walking from the hotel
All the beds have blanket and sheets.
See you soon
Xavi
Reception desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
1,932 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#182 of 513 in Barcelona
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#174 of 513 in Barcelona
801 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#384 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Eixample
NH Barcelona Eixample
NH Barcelona Eixample
#205 of 513 in Barcelona
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glories

Address: Calle Padilla 173, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £52 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glories 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glories is located to 10 minutes from the Sagrada Familia, for the 22 high-tech area, as well as the Agbar Tower. The National Theatre of Catalunya and the Auditori Concert Hall are just 400 metres away. Direct service to Plaza Catalunya in around 5 minutes. Monumental Metro Station is just 3 minutes’ walk away from Hotel Glories. The rooms all have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV , free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk offers car and bike hire, reserve tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glories Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Glories Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing