We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel, Great Location... Top Marks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #76 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel, Great Location... Top Marks!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, we arrived into El Prat (Barcelona International) and walked to the airport train station to catch the R2 train into Sants station,(19 mins) you can then just jump on the underground for something like 3 stops, (5-10 mins), make sure you exit via the St Pau exit and as you walk up the steps out of the station, the hotel is right there in front of you - couldnt be easier.

We booked this hotel a few weeks before traveling, for 4 nights and got a very good rate via Hotwire. On arrival the hotel doesn't look anything special from the outside, however as soon as you walk through the doors, greeted by a polite doorman, the interior is very nice indeed.

The gentleman on reception was nice and polite, made conversation with us and in general made check in a more pleasurable experience than most hotels. Check in was quick, easy and very painless. We were given a room on the 2nd floor and on entering we noticed it had one of the dreaded 'interior' windows.

The room itself was not massive, but there was ample space for us to spread out. The room was very modern, spotlessly clean, had a couple of chairs, wardrobe space, desk, safe, an LCD TV, with all the usual european channels, air conditioning and impressively 'FREE WIFI'! The bed was also great, very comfortable after a long day exploring and helped us have a good nights sleep (apart from our first night when we woken by some very loud and extremely selfish guests, shouting along the corridor at 4.30am!)

The bathroom was also extremely clean, with a hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and a very good shower for a hotel. As I mentioned, the room had one of the 'dreaded' interior facing windows, after reading other reviews on here I feared the worst, however there was no need - yes it doesn't face outside, its a kind of an internal courtyard, yes it's frosted glass, and yes there's no view - but the huge plus side is you are not facing the street, there's no noise, and we were out all day anyway, who sits in their room all day looking out the window in a beautiful city like Barcelona!!??

The rooftop pool and terrace area was also a nice surprise, both were clean, towels were provided, and every time we went up, there was hardly anyone around - very peaceful and some fantastic views of the city!

we never had breakfast at the hotel, so can't comment on that - we walked to the market every morning to grab a pastry and some fresh juice.

As for seeing the sights, it's in a fantastic position - 5-10 mins stroll down one street takes you to Palau Guell, La Rambla and the Old Town, a few more minutes gets you to the great market and Placa de Catalunya, 10 minutes walk from the hotel also takes you to Port Vell area.

All tourist areas are within easy reach from this hotel, wether you use the Metro or the Hop on/Hop off bus. The area itself is the the theatre district of Barcelona, some of the nearby streets did seem quite run down, but we never felt uncomfortable walking around.
We also never had a problem with pickpockets, I'm sure they are there, but just take sensible precautions and I'm sure they won't be interested - just be aware like you would in any major city.

Overall we had a great 4 nights in this hotel, couldn't fault it at all - we didn't manage to do everything in Barcelona, which means we will hopefully be making another visit - and my first choice for a hotel will definitely be the Barcelona Universal Hotel - Fabulous Hotel.

A few tips... before arriving book the Hop on/Hop off online and check for discount codes, we got 25% off our tickets. On arriving get a T10 ticket, 10 journeys on the train, bus or metro for 10 euros, and you can share it between whoever you're with, and finally steer clear from the 'restaurants' on La Rambla, we had a terrible, over priced meal there, instead go in to Placa Reial or down to the Port for a better quality meal for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CraigandKeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,911
    1,474
    272
    58
    30
See reviews for
629
1,963
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel has a great location - easy to reach by car, the centre of Barcelona is within walking distance, the metro in front of the hotel takes you without change to Sagrada Familia, also in that station you find the funicular to Montjuic. The rooms are good, if you ask for a quiet room, you get one with a milky window to the inner patio, a little strange, but quiet. The breakfast is good but expensive (15 EUR), if you are not a big eater. The staff at the reception is extremely friendly and helpful, no matter if you need a special invoice, a taxi, a doctor, a restaurant ...
So although my average note is not 5, I give overall 5 due to the reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very rare that Tripadvisor has let us down in the many years I have used the site. However, I would have to disagree with the reviews for this hotel.

Firstly, we paid €141 a night for a double room, and found upon arrival that we had a 4th floor twin room. We did ring reception immediately and was told there were no other doubles available, and to check back the next morning. The room (411) backed out onto a very busy street with plenty of traffic noise that kept me awake at times during the night, while the room was not exactly spacious although I expected this with a city centre hotel.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast. Service in the breakfast area was poor. Waiters were rushed, a little ignorant, and could not cope with basics such as stocking up on bowls/glasses for cereals/juices, which were missing along with various other things such as butter sachets. Waiting around for these to be provided was frustrating. We did find the staff in various other areas of the hotel friendly.

We did visit the pool area at the top of the hotel. The area is quite compact so was pretty busy, so we gave it a miss.

Location is a definite quality of the hotel, with a 10-15 minute walk to La Rambla, while there are plenty of taxis passing outside on the busy road as mentioned above.

In short, if I was to visit Barcelona again, I would look at other options such as Hotel Market which I reviewed on this site, and comes in at a fraction of the price of this hotel.

Disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrookyCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy to read you were happy with the location of our hotel. That is very nice from you considering that we were a let down for you.
However, regarding the room type booked in your reservation, I have personally checked it up now and I am sorry to inform you that you booked a room via Laterooms.com and it is clearly stated in the reservation that room can be double or twin depending on availability. So we gave you what you booked and I would kindly ask you not to write reviews saying things that do not correspond to reality. You paid 141 euros for a room for 2 people (double or twin depending on availability), you did not pay 141 euros for a double room as you say in your review.
When you called reception we kindly asked you to call next morning in order to change the room for you, but you did not call us the following morning so you did not give us the opportunity to move you into a room that could fit you better.
Anyway, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed in May 2012 - located right on the subway and 10 minutes nice safe walk to La Rambla. Room was great and breakfast was included - very tasty and good variety. Very close to cruise port-short taxi ride. Would absolutely stay there again - reasonably priced - booked online. roof-top pool and lounge area very nice - great views for pictures.

Room Tip: if traveling by air - take the airport transit to Catalunya square and then the subway to parallel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We arrived on an overnight from Canada at about 9Am. The staff were very helpful and while it was a busy day and they were full they expedited two rooms within an hour. That was great after an overnight flight. Rooms were very well appointed and not euro-small as we've experienced. Roof top pool area was great and the breakfast that was included was very good as well. Internet and Wifi included and close to la ramblas and other old city haunts. A great wine store within a five minute walk and many restaurants. All in all a great find. We were there as a stay over for one night for a cruise but would recommend it for anyone for longer periods of time as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were a group of 6 females, we had booked 3 rooms with twin beds, and that is what we got, 2 of the rooms had the internal windows and one had a terrace, we had no problems with any of the rooms and they were spotless, the beds sooooo comfortable and air con that worked well. The road outside is busy but we didnt hear a thing and slept well every night. The hotel is situated in the theatre area of the city and within a 10 minute stroll of La Rambla and a 15 minute stroll down to the harbour. The rooftop terrace and pool was a lovely area to go and see the city, looking down at the traffic and enjoying the privacy up there. We had breakfast included and it was always well presented and the staff courteous.
The reception staff were extremely helpful and any staff we encountered were always very polite and friendly.
A metro station outside and a bus stop close by , couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPagan, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your comments!! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you had a nice impression of our helpful and friendly front desk staff. Another comment that makes us happy is the one regarding the all our facilities and how clean our rooms are..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 521 in Barcelona
4,302 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
3,605 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
2,958 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#85 of 521 in Barcelona
1,552 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing