We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #76 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and good location”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Staff very friendly, we had a 7:15am flight they were prepared to make up a picnic. Room was small but comfortable. Free Internet slow but you expect that. Breakfast was OK could have been warmer. Mix up over booking taxis for morning but sorted in the end. Pool was refreshing but only a 1m deep. Close to everything. On the Sunday we didn't hear a thing when Spain won Euro 2012

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayKem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel. Many thanks. We are very happy to hear that you found the staff very friendly and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,911
    1,474
    272
    58
    30
See reviews for
629
1,963
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we asked for a nice room by email as it was our wedding aniversary and my wife's birthday,we recieved no reply.
The room we had on the 4th floor at the front was very noisey,ambulances and police car were up and down all night,sirens blaring.Ihad to buy ear plugs to sleep
The other unusual thing is there was only 1 chair for us to sit on,in a room for 2 people.
The pool is very small,and very shallow,ok for getting wet only

Room Tip: ask for room at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always reply our e-mails. If you did not receive a reply from us it is because maybe we never received any e-mail from you (for any reason). If you did not receive reply please insist or call, but do not understand that we did not reply to you just because we ignored your e-mail. However, sorry for the inconveniences. Anyway, as I always say, if you do not like the room you are given, ask to be moved into another room. Reception will do it latest the following morning. In this hotel there are rooms facing street and rooms that do not face the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is nice, clean hotel located in near main attractions in Barcelona. 15 Min walk to the port, 15 min walk to the Las Ramblas. Very clean hotel, free internet, the area on the roof- beautiful, with pool and you can see the all city from there. Only thing what i wasnt happy about- I could hear everything what my neighbors were doing, light sleepers may have hard time.

Room Tip: Please choose room which is not on street side, it can be very noisy otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Many thanks for your review and for emphasizing that the hotel and its rooms were very clean. Regarding noise in your room because of other guests, we are really sorry about this, but please understand that we can not be responsible if other guests misbehave. If our colleagues at the Front Desk had known about it, they would have called them to ask them not to be so noisy. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had an excellent time at the Barcelona Universal Hotel! Very easy to get to from any area. Big rooms for Europe, very nice bathroom, excellent service. Lovely rooftop pool, sun deck, and small gym. When on roof, fantastic 360 view of the city. Free WiFi. We hope to return to Barca, and when we do, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apcrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Many thanks for having taken your time to write such nice comments about the hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would definitively come back to the hotel. We agree with you that views of the city from the roof are impressive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

i stayed in the hotel with my dad at the 22 of June until the 26.
very good location, not very touristic and close to the metro station, the staff were very nice and pleasent, they were willing to help and gave us a map with the main locations marked.
the rooms were pretty, but it was kinda noisy. we could have heared every single "BOOM!" coming from the outside (we were on the saunt Juan day).
the pool was nice, and the wifi was good.

Room Tip: i reccomend you not to choose the rooms who are located on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you liked our location and especially our staff. For us, the service of the staff is the most important value of our hotel.
San Juan is a festivity in Barcelona when fireworks take place. Is a festivity to give a big welcome to summer season. I believe you when you say you could hear BOOM!!!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were disappointed in the room for the two night stay because there was no daylight. It was a spacious suite though with plenty of wardrobes We had a smaller room on the way back but with daylight. On both occasions the staff were friendly and helpful, the food and wine acceptable. I wouldn't avoid staying here again but would probably look around first.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review and for recognizing that our staff was friendly and helpful. It is very important for us! Regarding the daylight in the room you have to understand that all the hotels have rooms with windows facing different places. In our hotel some rooms face the street and some rooms face inner patios. Which ones are better? It depends on your preferences because the answer to this question is very subjective. What we always recommend is to write remarks in your reservations (because it is the only way we have to know your preferences in advance of your arrival) and if you prefer a different kind of room once in the hotel tell us and we move you to another kind of room latest the following morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel was amazing, in a brilliant location. The only one downside was no tea & coffee facilities in the room, but would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: We asked for a twin room and were given a disabled room with a huge bathroom. Ask for room 516.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you liked our location and that you would recommend our hotel to anyone. Regarding the tea & coffe making facilites: It is not common in Spain, I understand you missed that in your room because you are from UK and it is common that hotels in UK offer this service, but it is not common at all in Spain. So you won't find it in most of the hotels in Barcelona.
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 521 in Barcelona
4,302 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
3,605 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
2,958 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#85 of 521 in Barcelona
1,552 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing