We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #84 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We found this hotel to offer very good room accommodation, quiet but attentive/efficient service when needed, and to be in an ideal location for many tourist venues and being adjacent to the Para-ell subway station you can reach other locations easily via the Metro.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 3,973 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

My now fiance and I travelled to Barcelona April 11-18, 2014 for our first international trip together. We didn't know what to expect once we got there but hoped that the reviews were going to be accurate!

We had an amazing time. We got engaged the first night of our trip - our parents, back in Canada, arranged with the hotel staff for breakfast in bed and roses to be delivered. My mom told me that they normally require 1 days notice but went out of their way to arrange this for us.

Throughout our entire stay the staff were amazing. We must have asked them questions at least twice a day - places to visit, places to eat, etc. We even received some very interesting history about the city from one of the front desk attendants. They know their stuff and seem very happy to share their knowledge of the city with us!

If you are looking for a nice, clean, spacious hotel with knowledgeable and friendly staff this is definitely one you should look into!

Thank you again to all the front desk staff for making our trip a special one!

We didn't use the spa and we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel - but the room service breakfast we received from our parents was amazing! Large portions.

Room Tip: We saw a tip on here that suggested we ask for a room at the back of the hotel so as not to be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Friendly staff, good location, great for the price. We didn't use the breakfast/restaurant facilities as there was plenty near by. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the metro, which was easy to navigate. The roof terrace was pleasant. The room was comfortable, the shower was good too.


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katrina Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay of 9 girls at a hen do! All needs were met promptly and very caring and helpful staff. Would defiantly stay there again. Hotel was clean and well maintained and had no problems there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gkm3684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Barcelona Universal Hotel biased on reviews and location, and the reviews are accurate, the hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly. the hotel is clean comfortable and ideally located to got around the city, We would highly recommend and would stay there again on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matt5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A fantastic hotel in a location that makes getting around Barcelona easy. Friendly, helpful staff took care of all of our needs. Hotel was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint, however we were not able to get the same value for money deal. We paid the same but without breakfast and welcome bottle of cava.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Staff very very helpful....location very good...room great..breakfast a little disappointing but thoroughly enjoyed our stay ..
Would stay again if we ever go back to barcelona. Went for my partners 50 th birthday and he was thrilled.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 515 in Barcelona
3,321 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 515 in Barcelona
1,691 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#45 of 515 in Barcelona
4,511 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
3,182 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
4,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £67 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing