We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not ideally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #79 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok but not ideally located”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went for a 5 night trip here, arrived and friendly staff greeted us, unfortunately its surrounded by local kebab stalls not the fine dining Id have liked. No such thing as a double bed only two singles pushed together which is very odd, even though we specified a double, the hotel said they only had about 4 double beds in the whole hotel. Barcelona itself is ok not worth a 5 night trip and it is difficult to find decent cuisine. The pool is smaller then the pictures let on as well and the hotel restaurant is just a salad buffet. Rooms were clean although one cleaner stole our hotel swipe card when we left one in our room which panicked us a bit but luckily they deactivated the cards. Easy access to wifi though.

All in all hotel good but dont expect double bed or nice food there.

Room Tip: don't expect a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahspannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guests;

It is true that near the Hotel ther are some "low cost" restaurants but it is also true that not so far away from us you can find other really good ones as ELCHE, TICKETS, CA L'ISIDRE

Next time please ask at the reception and we will inform you about different good offers, I am sure that you will be surprised.

I do not think the waitress stole your card, I can understand that mistakenly removed the card holder light.

Best regards and please accept my apologies if forgive us if we have committed any error.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,983
    1,512
    285
    61
    32
See reviews for
655
2,026
81
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel with my partner.
We arrived too early to check-in, but were able to leave our suitcase in a locked room and could also use all the amenities.
We went to explore the city, returning at 3pm to check in!
When we booked this hotel we did request a room that wasnt near a lift, my partner is a light sleeper and what with the noise of the lift itself and people coming and going, he wouldnt have got much sleep!
We were however given a room right next to the lift!
However when we realised, we contacted reception who asked us to return to reception and the door man then personally resolved the situation by showing other rooms available.
Just a shame the request wasnt noted in the first place.
The room was great, had everything we could ask for!
The bed was very comfy, twin beds that were already pushed together for us, twins dont bother us! If it did would only be for 4 nights anyway!
We were overlooking the back of the hotel, which was an apartment block, but atleast we didnt have the noise of the street.
The pool is 100% the highlight of this hotel, we used it everyday! It was so nice to know after a hot, sticky day of sightseeing this amazing city we could go back and take a tip to cool off (and the pool is deffo cool).
We had buffet breakfast included in our booking price, it was great! Lots of choice for anything you would want, hot and cold.
The reception staff were very helpful at all times.
I would recommend if wanting to do the HO HO sightseeing bus, then book with hotel, you get it cheaper and you also get a discount book for all the top sights inc Nou Camp and Park Guell.
Another bonus of this hotel is the location, 10 - 15 min walk to the Port and a stones throw from the hotel door is a metro stop that will take you all over the city.
Overall we loved this hotel and would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guests;

Thanks for your words I really appreciate,
SIncerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed with my husband from Sunday - Wednesday. Smart, very clean and contemporary hotel, literally right by the Paral-lel metro stop which was handy! Bus stops outside and easy to hail a cab too (especially when the lovely staff helped with this!). 5-7 mins walk to La Rambla, 10-12 mins walk to the Gothic area. No issues with noise out in the street, little bit of noise from the metro due to its proximity (we were on the 3rd floor, facing out into the street) but it was a very low rumble and as the beds were so comfy, no sleep was disturbed!

The little pool on the rooftop with its neat little bar was a welcome relief after spending the day sightseeing. The breakfast is DEFO worth including as its very tasty and lots of choice (though the coffee was a bit weak and watery for our tastes).

The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful, even giving tips on things that were going on (we timed it with the Sant Joan festival which we had no idea was happening and pretty much the entire population of Barcelona heads to the beach to party, including families. Great night out!) and if you needed anything, they were always happy to help.

Would stay here again if we returned to Barcelona!

A tip for travellers - if you go to any of the main tourist attractions, book your tickets online so you can just go straight in. Luckily we had been tipped off about this by a friend before we went, so we booked everything online either before we went or when we were there as the queues to get tickets for things looked huge!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much I personally appreciate your words.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great Hotel for a family of 4 people.
Big modern style room, closet and bathroom.
Small swimming pool and solarium on the top floor with the great view of Barcelona.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Only 10 minutes walking from La Ramble.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yuriy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is modern, clean, comfortable, friendly and well run. Its in a good position on Avinguda Paral.lel and only 10 minutes walk to Las Rambla. The metro and funicular are right outside the front door. Buses run right past and there are plenty of taxis which the staff will hail for you. Theres also an abundance of places to eat close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 311Disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just got back from a short break here, the hotel is brilliant staff are so friendly and helpful haven't had such good service for a long time! The room was lovely, bed was so comfy could not get up in the morning! Hotel is ideally located with restaurants around and a short walk to the rambla would definitely stay here again! The only thing they could improve on is the breakfast was not great quality and not much choice but edible.

Room Tip: If you need to get tickets for anything go direct to the venues they are a lot cheaper then buying f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hotel, right next to Metro and easy walk to Ramblas and Port. Staff were brilliant, suggesting routes and things for itinerary. Hotel is clean, modern and great facilities or a city centre hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TedPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests;

Thank you very much for your opinion,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 512 in Barcelona
4,419 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#102 of 512 in Barcelona
3,126 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing