We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #88 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel twice with friends to watch Barcelona, this is a great hotel with brilliant staff. Nicely located with las ramblas only a 10 min walk and a metro station right outside. The rooms are all modern and very clean you don't even get ripped off with drinks in the bar!

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank jayalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 4,027 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent location. It's so convenient to to go the subway and walk to places. We also really like the staff. Our room was spacious, nice, and clean. The temperature control in the room wasn't very effective, but all and all, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Location was very very good; 5 min walk to La Ramblas. Restaurants and cafes nearby. A bakery close by to die for.

Very comfortable and clean accomodations.

Front desk was great help with directions and suggestions of things to do.

We did the hop on and off bus for a day which gave a good basis for planning following days activities.

We did the beach in Barcelona and did a day trip to the beach/town of Sitgues which we loved (requires metro and train)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just come back from 5 nights at this hotel which is was quite impressed with. The hotel is in a great location on Paral-lel with the train station opposite the hotel itself, the station is on the L3 and L2 lines and can get you to most places you require either on the L3 or L2 line.. I have to disagree with some of the people that say it is out of the way of La Rambla, if you do not want to take the shortcut then you can walk down to the bottom of Paral-lel turn left up to the Colombus statue and La Rambla is at the bottom if you would rather get the metro then you can stop at either Drassanes or Licieu. The walk does not take long at all. La Rambla is in walking distance and even the marina and beach are not that far a walk plus you get to see more enroute than you would taking public transport.


The staff at this hotel were fantastic and were attentive and polite from beginning to end. Our rooms were nice however I would recommend asking for a room on a higher floor as you will get a view of the city. I was disappointed with the view from my room but then again I was hardly in the room. The rooftop pool and bar is very ideal especially in the summer however my only faults were the fact it closes at 8:30 and it does get full by midday! the views however were priceless as you get a full view of the city.

You can get a bus to the Hotel or pay around 20-25 Euros from the airport as it is in a good location from the airport.

I will be staying in this hotel again when I am back in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bradwun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews said that the location was very good. The hotel is located on a main road and is right next to a metro station. It is within a walking distance to La Rambla, the beach and Port Vell. However anyone expecting a relaxing walk to these places as I did will be disappointed as the streets are quite shady. Even the route that was recommended by the hotel staff to La Ramblas as a safe street because that was where the Police station was located did not feel safe. I found myself walking rather fast down these street. However it is located right next to the metro and therefore we took the metro everywhere.
The decor in the room was tired and outdated as was the bathroom. The bathroom had a small piece of metal jutting out of the floor which I almost caught my foot on several times.
The complimentary toiletries were very basic. There were no slippers provided. There were no coffee making facilities in the room. The room did not have an iron.
However the staff were polite and helpful.
Overall I was quite disappointed as it was less than what I expected from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Netf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is easy to get to and has a convienent location - you can take the bus to the beach and the metro station Paral-lel is outside the door. The pool is nice on the roof and the staff are very friendly. An added bonus is that they have a few spaces of underground parking available. Plus, the air conditioning works great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

stayed last easter holiday (2014) as a couple, the location is very good, close to the beach and la rambla, etc. the only thing that`s not so nice was that, it was a bit noisy from outside, but the rest are ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tzai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,096 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 515 in Barcelona
3,393 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#62 of 515 in Barcelona
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,298 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#39 of 515 in Barcelona
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Splitty, LoveHolidays, TravelClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing