We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #84 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Arrived at Barcelona Universal Hotel very early in the am after a flight in from Paris. We took the rail station from the airport to the rail line to the city. Very easy to navigate. There was a band on the train that played "hit the road jack" for tips during the trip. It was very nice. Now on to the Universal -

We were taking a risk trying to check in early in the morning, but the front desk staff was very friendly. The allowed us to store our luggage while they checked our room. We went to a small diner adjacent to our hotel and ate Paella and tapas until our room was ready.

Nice, clean and modern room. Appeared to be newly or recently renovated. Gave us both hygiene kits with shaving gear, soap, etc. Plenty of hot water, nice comfy bed. Free wifi while in the room and on the premises, although we've found that in Europe most wifi is spotty in the room and better in the lobby areas.

The front desk called me after we checked in and made sure we were comfy. I had a livery service picking us up at 5:30 am for a flight to Rome. The hotel staff called the company and made all of the arrangements (although I had reservations they made sure I was confirmed and all logistics were square). Then, they gave us directions on how to get around Barcelona. The hotel was literally a few blocks over from Las Ramblas, the main thoroughfare through Barcelona. We had access to the seaport area and the statue of Christopher Columbus pointing WEST, the hop on/off buses, and darn near every type of local food and shopping item you could imagine.

I would stay at this hotel again. In fact I am planning my 2015 trip to include a night in Madrid at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 3,975 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Service is Spain is decreasing, years after years, it is well known.

This will NOT be the case if you decide to stay at Barcelona Universal Hotel (Para-lel).
There are the main points that attracted my attention:

The +:
* location just in front of the main metro line (L3) that will bring you to the Rambla, the Port, Passeig de Gracia, Park Guell,...
A few minutes walk from the Rambla as well.
However, the area itself is not really attractive.
*The small pool on the roof is a good place to relax after a long day, although it is very very small.
*The view you get from the highest floors is amazing. We were with my wife and son on the 9th floor with terrace --> incredible.
*Service at the front desk is irreproachable!
*Free Wifi is a real plus.
*You pay after your stay, not before, which becomes rare nowadays...
*hygiene is perfect.
The -:
I only see one, if it is one.
*It might miss some inescapable "products" at the breakfast buffet, such as pancakes, crepes, more viennoiseries,... could be a bit more various.

Anyway, I strongly advice you to select this hotel which is, in my opinion, totally fitting what we can call a very good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dimiboBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Dear Sirs;

Thank you about your comments, I will take care personally about items on breakfast.
Thank you again and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here August 10-13, 2014. Location is right outside El Born, and close enough to walk to the beach or the gondola. I had really great service at check-in, the lobby bar was excellent and comofrtable, and the rooftop pool and bar perfect for end of the day drinks with colleagues. My only suggestion would be to have better soundproofing as it appears there are not concrete floors, so you can hear footfalls above you and outside your room. Nothing that earplugs can't fix. The hotel was very stylish, great big bathrooms, and a business centre just beside the lobby for printiung boarding passes etc. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Torval M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated terrifically. The staff is kind and helpful, the rooms are large, clean with great amenities and there are wonderful restaurants right outside. The pool on the roof gave us a wonderful view of the city. We would definitely stay there again.
Our only issue is the neighborhood is a bit grungy. I wouldn't want my teenage girls walking from La Rambla at night. It is indeed only a 15 minute walk but it is down a small, dark street.
Other than that it was fantastic. Go downstairs to get your coffee, the restaurant 3 over has the best coffee and the waiter is so helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, I am sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lauriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Dear Sirs;

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us and other guests,
best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great place. Metro station outside door which will get you up too of la Ramblas and Airport bus. Less than 10 mins walk from beautiful Marina and la Ramblas. We walked from hotel to pueblo Espagnol but the metro breaks the journey. Great breakfast, more than adequate to get us started. We booked in early and bags were safely stowed for us. Room lovely, minimalist style with proper bath and some English speaking tv channels and free safe in room. Didnt stay in much as this is an amazing city. We did enjoy bacardi and cokes and mohitos in bar every evening. Congratulations to hotel on excellent and professionalstaff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank liveIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Dear Customer;

Thanks for your review,
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Room was really big approx 30 qm2 (booked a triple room)! Our kid got a quennsize bed and we a double. Bathroom was a bit old but absolutely fine and clean! Very friendly staff and well located to the City Centre - 10/15 min walk through Carrer St Pau and you are at Ramblas ... great was also the pool on the rooftop where our kid could have a little swim after a long day in the city.
Hotel has a parking with ~ 10 parking space, but be carefull - the parking is very (!!!) narrow. Parking per day 20 Euro - fine if my car is safe.

Would absolutely choose that hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floors!! We where in 8th floor facing the Paralell but the noise was absolutely ok! You can an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The3Vogels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went on a girly trip to Barcelona for 4 nights and when we arrived at the hotel first impressions were good. The rooms were very nice and must say was very clean! Comfortable beds nice bathroom and also enjoyed breakfast in the mornings. Its in a good location aswell you can walk to most places and places to eat nearby. Also theres a train staion two mins away. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! We could really fault anything :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sabrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 515 in Barcelona
3,326 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 515 in Barcelona
1,691 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#45 of 515 in Barcelona
4,512 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#62 of 515 in Barcelona
3,185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
4,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £67 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing