We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #88 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good place to stay if you want to be centrally located without spending a fortune. Clean spacious double rooms. The view is nothing in particular , neither towards the busy but rather ugly street nor towards the shabby backyard but we didn't choose this place for the view. Very friendly staff and walking distance to Rambla.The tiny pool on the roof was crowded so it didn't feel tempting to take a swim. If I wasn't looking for an outstanding place to stay I would stay here again. It was a good option for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 4,025 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I spent a week in Barcelona and stayed here with my friend for a girlie holiday (we are both in our early 20s). We thought the room and location was great and excellent value for money. The room was spacious and clean and the maids came everyday to change our sheets/towels. Location is ideal because it is really close to La Rambla and Port Vell but because it isn't right in it you get a good night's sleep. It is also opposite the Metro station which was really helpful for exploring further afield.

It's not near the beach though which we were fine with but not ideal if you want a beach holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Dear Sirs;

Thank you for your review and thank you again for comment on the closeness of the metro and different atractions.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice hotel, OK walking distance to most of the must see attractions in Barcelona. Good breakfast. The roof pool was alittle small when high seasson. WiFi on our room worked well. We had terrace facing toward the city not the main street outside hotel. So it was quite nice to sit on the terrace on the evenings and not hear any car noise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked the early bird deal in February for our planned trip in July. We apparently got a 25% discount but also included free breakfasts and complimentary bottle of Cava on arrival. When we arrived we were told we could ask for the Cava whenever, so decided to have it on the Friday night (we arrived Wednesday afternoon) went to ask for it on the Friday and we were told there was none left, but obviously you could buy plenty in the bar area. We did end up paying €3 a glass for some lovely Cava but would have been very nice to have the free bottle we were promised. Breakfast was okay, nothing amazing but I'm not much of a food in the AM person. The roof top pool was lovely, got a bit busy but didn't feel uncomfortable and we always got somewhere to sit and soak up the sun. Bar drinks up there are expensive however! Location was good, 10 minute walk away from La Rambla and plenty places to buy food on the Paral·lel. We did not use the metro we got a few taxis which were quite well priced and the H16 bus to the Diagonal Mar Shopping Mall which was lovely.
Overall, very impressed with the cleanliness and layout of the hotel but the 2 things I mentioned let it down a bit, but did not ruin my holiday. I will definitely use this hotel again if I ever visit Barcelona for a second time and will recommend it to everyone I know!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EmilieStoreyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here 1-5 July 2014…3 person room ….spacious and very well appointed .Staff from top management,Reception to Concierges could not have been more helpful re excellent restaurants locally and trips/excursions….in fact they were superb hosts throughout . Room service was a bit spotty but they always got there in the end . Lifts smooth and frequent ;breakfasts excellent . Tariff very reasonable and great value . 10 minute walk only from La Ramblas …15 minute walk from the Cruise ship port .

All in all,a very fine, tourist friendly hotel in a very safe part of Barcelona .

Room Tip: higher floors have wonderful local views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean and convenient. Unfortunately, when i checked in, a female staff is exceptionally impolite to Asian travelers. She was unwilling to explain and help, sometimes ignoring me. But other male staff are different, they are pleasant and nice.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Gerente at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I have been speaking to the female employee who you say she was not polite because you were Asian. First of all I think this comment is racist and not fair to be published in your comment. The real situation, as this employee and the colleague who was with her at that moment have told me, is that you booked a room for 2 people and when you arrived you were 3 people. The employee just told you that the number of people booked was 2 people and you got angry for that and shouted at her in the reception area. Your husband apologized at our employees for your behaviour and everyone calmed down and finally you were allowed to check in besides your behaviour. I do not think it is fair you say that one employee is not welcoming you because you are Asian, first because it is not true, and second because your personal behaviour is not representative of the whole Asian Continent hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location, with walking distance to the rambla, gothic quarter, harbor, placa de gracia etc. But: with a hotel as expensive as this, one expects quality. Our room was small, but okay. The staff was great and helpful. The roof pool was 80 cm deep and very small, but the roof was a good place to tan afterall, with many chairs, a coupple of showers and a poolbar. The breakfast was a very small buffet, with no more than a minimal range of food, that only tasted okay- And its 15€! The training room was the biggest disappointment of my trip, none weights or racks, one bike and a treadmill, in a room that was more like a small saunaI also found it strange that they bragged about giving free bathroom articles when we arrived- thats what one get at all hotels? This is a hotel with a great location, friendly staff and average rooms, but for this price you can find better in Barcelona!

Room Tip: Dont ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dennelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Dear Customer;

Please acept our apologies if you do not like our gym, I agree you about the size of course is not a big gym but please understand that is a free service we have at the Hotel. On the other hand I would appreciate not be worng about the service we offer, different weights, two bicycles and two treadmills...
About breakfast sorry again if you don't like it we try to do as better as we know trying to improve our service and different products and qualitiess in order to satisfy all different cultures or nationalities.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,096 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
3,390 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#61 of 515 in Barcelona
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,298 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#39 of 515 in Barcelona
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £57 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing