We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #79 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We had read reviews on this hotel before we took our trip. We were not disappointed. The hotel was much nicer than we expected. It even has towel warmers in the bathroom. Lots of closet space. We had neglected to bring our electrical converter with us but the desk had everything you could possibly need. The hotel is right across the street from four Tappas restaurants. We didn't know what that meant but although they were all very similar, the people are so funny and friendly that you want to eat at all of them. The food was very good, very hot and not pricey. We were a 10-minute walk from the statue of Columbus and the port and a 15 minute walk from Catalunya Square which is city center. Anything you want to do you can do from there. While the walk to Las Ramblas was a bit scary, nobody bothered us. It was only about 3 blocks. Las Ramblas between the hotel and the fountains at city center was fabulous, day or night. I would recommend this hotel to any and everybody. The reviews we read said to stay in the back because you are on a busy street but we never heard a sound and we were right in front on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQTravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, reservations manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2010
Thank you!!! It is always nice to see that clients who stay with us have a great time here. We like that clients remark that our hotel has a good location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,999
    1,521
    287
    61
    32
See reviews for
665
2,034
81
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We just had a great stay at the Barcelona Universal - the room was nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is quite a new hotel, so it immediately gives a good impression. There were, however, some things in our room that didn't work properly: the floorboards were loose and the wardrobe doors kept shutting itself - just annoying, no real problem. Quite good value, anyhow. No noise to speak of in our room, at least.

We did not have breakfast included, so we found a nice place at the nearby square where we had great breakfasts for a fraction of the price the hotel charged. The neighbourhood, in general, is OK, but the walk to Las Ramblas is pretty interesting, so based on previous reviews, we opted for the tube after dark. The tube system is easy to figure out, and it is just a short ride to Las Ramblas.

All things considered, I would certainly stay at the Universal again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, reservations manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2010
Thank you!!! It is very nice to see that our clients like our hotel. Regarding the comment about the "creepy way to Las Ramblas" it is true that when at night it is better to take the tube (placed just in front of the hotel) but before the day gets dark we recommend to take NOU DE LA RAMBLA street to go on foot to Las Ramblas. It is just a 10-minute walk and this street is nicer than SANT PAU street. However thank you very much for remarking the cleanliness of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is a very nice hotel. Very easy to find (just follow the instruction on the website....I took the airport shuttle and metro. The airport shuttle is a bit harder to find...or I should say a little bit confusing there).
Lobby is great, trendy and clean. Staff were awesome! We got all the information we need at the reception desk. BTW if you do plan the join those hop-on hop-off tour, get the package from the hotel. You will save 2 euro.

However when you are asked if you want a quiet room or not, say you don't need a quiet room. Quiet room is quiet, but you don't get any view at all. You will indeed be looking at someone else's home. So don't say that you want a quiet room.

Room is clean and tidy and they did a good job in cleaning. No complain. Wifi doesn't work in the room so you can only do it in the lobby (it's free tho!). There are 2 laptops in the lobby area and there are 2 more at 9th floor. However the computers were very slow and it's a spanish version of windows (somehow they don't have the @ key).

The location is a little far from Ramblas. You need to walk like 10-15 minutes and you will be going thru a bit of the hood...it's fun but it gets a bit scary after dark.

The restaurant downstairs (on the Paral.lel street, not the one in the hotel) is good. Remember to eat Paella and Grilled Prawns.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XtinaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I liked this hotel and I'd stay there again. It's not too expensive, located directly over the metro stop, easy walk to the port, or Las Ramblas and feels very safe. The staff is nice and helpful and the rooms were clean. The only negatives were (1) the beds are very hard and uncomfortable, and (2) the Internet connection is unbearably slow, (3) the walls are pretty thin and it's fairly noisy. I have a feeling negatives #1 and #3 are true all over the city and there are plenty of cafes to get speedier Internet connections nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alflandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2010
Thank you for this review and specially for saying you would stay here again. However, there are 2 points I would like to make clear: (1) regarding the unconfortable beds commented in this review, I am sorry for this guest, but would like to inform everyone that during the second week of january 2010 we have changed all the beds of the hotel. Now they are new. (2) Regarding the slow internet connection, I would like to inform everyone that this client is right, the connection was very slow, but on the first week of february 2010 we are going to change our internet provider for a new one that will make our connection 5 times faster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I really liked this hotel and being outside of the heavily touristy populated area of La Rambla. The view from the roof is amazing and the location (Metro station right out front/Funicular to Montjuic) is perfect. The hotel is clean and modern. Rooms are a bit small, but served their purpose. We were fist given a room that faces the interior and I cannot stand not having sunlight, so we were given a room on the 5th floor facing the street. The noise from the regular traffic wasn't bad....it was the police and ambulances that went by several times a day/night. To some this might be too much, but since I am from NYC, I'm used to the noise and it didn't bother me. I would say that noise is the only con of this hotel.
There were some cute little bars/cafes behind the hotel that we didn't know about until our last night there. We also were fine walking through Raval at night. It was a little shady, a few homeless people, but just don't look at them, walk quickly and they will not bother you just like in any other big city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LILABBY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed at the Universal for 3 nights & were impressed by the cleanliness & location . The Metro station is at the door for the Nou Camp & funicular to the Olympic Stadium. A couple of great little cafes for drinks & breakfasts within 100mtrs. Only 10 mins max to Las Ramblas.
We travelled to Girona airport & took the Airport bus to Barcelona - about 1hr, then a 10Euro taxi ride from North Station to the hotel - 10mins. Everything was fine at check-in & they gave us various useful bits of information. Room was perfectly functional with everything you'd expect for a 4 star - air con, safe, toiletries etc & was spotless. My partner did comment that a mirror in the room would have been handy as the only one was in the bathroom.
The tourist bus was very handy to see most of the city sights as was the Metro. All in all a great stay & we would stay here again on our return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reuben31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

This was a really smart and clean hotel with everything you need. I was quite surprised when we arrived because it wasn't expensive so expected the worse but it was lovely. All very modern furnishings and very clean. The food was excellent and you could just help yourself to the great selection on offer for breakfast. Their is a lovely little pool on the roof which I loved, only small but cooled us down when needed. I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katsm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,922 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
4,445 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#88 of 513 in Barcelona
1,655 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing