We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 February 2010

my wife, my 21 year boy and myself were on a cruise and stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for 2 nights pre cruise. Front desk staff are super friendly and helpful; speak GOOD english. Breakfast was wholesome and not an ordinary continental breakfast. Very clean, and roomy. convenient and close to all ameneties. underground Subway is at the doorstep. Free internet. After the cruise unfortunately our passports were stolen while we were doing sightseeing. We went back to this same hotel and staff were most helpful with calling the authorities. We are VERY happy with Hotel Barcelona Universal. On our last day they even packed a good sized breakfast for us. Although our encounter with the loss of our passport was sour we were comforted to have lived in a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouver88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    1,498
    280
    59
    30
See reviews for
642
2,006
81
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed here for two nights as a 50th birthday weekend easyjet trip. Paid £65 per night on Expedia. Got the Aerobus to Placa Espanya and metro to Parrallel. Hotel right by the metro. Arrived at 12 noon but allowed to check in. Good service, security on door, bar is small but pleasant staff and not too pricey. Rooms and bathrooms excellent, very clean, great shower. Bit noisy at front but would expect that in city centre. 10 mins walk to Las Ramblas and Gothic quarter. Used the metro and buses to get direct to the seafront, cathedrals and main sites. Some dodgy looking cafes nearby but nice tapas etc if you explore streets towards Montjuic.Walked back one night but felt a bit intimidating, so used the metro the second night. Handy for the fernicular railway and cable car to Montjuic parc. Got a T10 ticket which lasted all weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

The hotel is kept immaculately. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room service and maid service was excellent. The restuarant was exceptionally clean and the service was very good. The hotel is situated very close to Las Ramblas and the harbour which has the tourist attractions of the cable car, aquarium and Maritime Museum. These are five minutes walk away. There is a Metro station directly outside the hotel which takes you to the Gaudi catherdral and the Gaudi apartments are a ten minute walk from the cathedral. The hotel is central to all the tourist facilities. However, you do have to be careful of pickpockets. A key theme is that they approach you to ask for a cigarette. Be ready to tell them bluntly, to go away. Wear a money belt and do not have your handbag over your shoulder.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Spent 2 nights at this hotel with a friend while in town for a gig.

We had a supreme room which was lovely big and bright. Room service were so fast
bringing Ice to our room which was great.

One of the nicest hotels i have stayed in. Breakfast was nice also...

Very close to all sights.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StretchRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

we were out most of the time out sightseeing, so didnt really get to spend time in the hotel...... nice and clean, for the price we for (270 euro for 3 nights), I think it's quit reasonable

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Demochoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We liked this hotel very much because it was very comfortable, modern and well located (although the neighbourhood behind is not the best one in the city). The staff at the front desk was helpful since our arrival, when they gave us a 2-euro discount for the tourist bus!
Also we were surprised when we saw our room because there is a 32" flat TV in the room that is not appearing in any photo when you search the hotel online. We had a room that was not facing the street Parallel, it was not noisy at all. We think that the most important value of this hotel is the cleanliness of the room. Good value for money paid.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The desk staff was very professional and the hotel is very classy. Located close to the subway, but in a sketchy area of Barcelona. Free internet connection, but wasn't always working during our stay. Upon checking in, we were told, "Breakfast is not included, but you can have it anyway." This to me means we get a free breakfast with our stay (we stayed 3 nights). Upon checking out we were slammed with a bill for 40 euros for our breakfast (there were 2 of us eating breakfast on one morning). The lady who checked us in happened to be behind the desk so I asked her if she remembered checking us in and telling us breakfast was incuded. She said yes, she did remember us and did remember saying that, but she meant we could PAY for breakfast. This was a very expensive misunderstanding that I feel was NOT our fault.
Overall, our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,842 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,385 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,049 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing