We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #88 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We had a really good experience at this hotel. The service could not have been better. The staff and management went out of their way to help us with directions and suggetions for restaurants. We also had a problem with our car rental which the management successfully solved for us. The room was nice and the hotel was very clean. We enjoyed the breakfast with good coffee every morning and the staff in the dining room were very sweet. I had read that the beds were stiff but we found the bed and pillolws very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellopersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,866 - 2,872 of 4,026 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

Lovely hotel in a great location. There is literally a metro outside the door of the Hotel, so going between the main shopping districts, the beach and Las Ramblas was really easy.

The Hotel was beautifully decorated inside, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I was staying with my new fiancé and as a complimentary gesture we were upgraded and also brought a bottle of Cava on the house. Our room was fantastic: clean, spacious and bright.

I would definetly recommend this hotel and I would stay again. Great value for money given the excellent service and location. My fiancé said he has never stayed anywhere so nice in his life, and I would be inclined to agree!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavidamaravillosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The perfect location comment comes partly from the fact that from the time we landed at the airport to being booked into the hotel was 75 minutes. It is 2 stops from Espayna PL & the Hotel is right above Paral-lel tube station. We stayed on the 5th floor & the only unfortunate issue of the whole weekend is that if you have a front facing room the noise from traffic is constant.
We would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toomanyplacesat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Excellent hotel. Stayed there for 3 nights on a visit to watch Barcelona play. Great location next to the tube station which made trips around the city very easy. Friendly staff and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middlehamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Just returned from the Universal after a very pleasant weekend. Without doubt one of the best four star hotels I have ever stayed in. Accommodation, service, attention to detail all absolutely spot on. Asked for a high floor room facing Parallel when booking and got one on floor 8, high enough to know the city was there but not so that it disturbed sleep in any way. Room itself was immaculate, very well decorated, all the amenities one would need and a very comfortable and very large bed. Staff were without exception friendly, informative and knowledgeable. Had a very minor problem with the air con on first night, called reception and a member of staff was on hand less than five minutes later to fix things. Only minor fault was the breakfast, cold table good but the hot food not as high a standard. We had a very good rate which included breakfast, I notice that many rates here do not have this included, in that case I think you would be better served by taking breakfast in any of the very friendly and well priced cafes to the left of the hotel as you exit. Walked to the Ramblas a few times in the day no problem at all but as others have said best travellers stick to the bigger streets, in the evening taxis are permanently on hand and the metro is quick, efficient and cheap, it is literally five seconds walk from the hotel entrance. Very friendly and popular bar just behind the hotel, La Confeteria, exit the hotel to the right walk 50m and look to your right you will see it. Will without doubt return to this hotel and this superb city very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianto999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The room was big,clean comfortable with air conditioning. The roof top pool was heavenly!Metro stops right outside. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were helpful. Great Stay!!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

we arrived in the evening time time to a warm welcome and very helpful staff at the desk. we checked and went to our room and were very pleases. very spacious, great bathroom and the shower/bath is excellent! as we were out sight seeing most of the time there our time in the hotel was limited but was excellent. only a short 10minute walk to las ramblas and the walk is not as dodgy as some make it out we thought with some great we shops on the way there to buy some essentials! we were placed at the front of the hotel on paral-lel and the noise was minimal but there was some noise from other rooms but nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diarmuidlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,096 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 515 in Barcelona
3,396 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#62 of 515 in Barcelona
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,298 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#39 of 515 in Barcelona
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing