We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location... poor hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #283 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Where do I start? I consider myself someone that can oversee flaws and imperfections, but this hotel was a mess.
After a long check-in process with a clerk who looked as though he'd rather be anywhere else in the world than at work, I was given a third floor hotel room on the west side of the hotel. The room was hot, so I tried to turn on the AC. I was told because it is Spring, the AC is turned off. Not even a fan. That night I slept with my window open...only to be up all night because of a nightclub/music venue right below. There were people out in the streets screaming all night...well into the morning. I tried to chance rooms the next day, but was told it was full. On the plus side...the hotel is within a 10 minute walk of Las Ramblas and to the Port of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Make sure to say you want to be away from the music venue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank granviajerodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear granviajerodelmunudo,

So sorry to hear your experience has not been as satisfactory as you expected and as we want it to be.
We failed this time and this allows us to think over and prevent other travelers to have the same perception as you.
We hope we have the pleasure to receive you back and show you how the TRYP Apolo can offer you an unforgettable stay in Barcelona!

Kind regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 3,521 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a quite dreadful hotel and best avoided. The rooms (and during the course of my three night stay I was given four before I settled on the one I ended up attempting to sleepi in) are noisy owing to a combination of street noise, engine rooms, proximity to the metro, being above the hotel kitchen and being directly outside a nightclub . At one point I was locked out if my room and could not access my bags. Down and outs were sleeping just outside the front door. There was a strip club directly opposite the hotel. The wifi codes I was given at reception did not work. The television in my room also did not work. The bathroom was cramped and dirty. The policy around providing basic facilities such as safety deposits and kettles in each room seems to be random and it's pot luck if you get one. I simply cannot say anything nice about this hotel it is an awful shabby run down hotel, in a run down part of barcelona - avoid.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Tuckster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Tuckster3,

We are so sorry to receive such an unfortunate feedback.
We understand that being at the center might make you perceive the activity of the city and we are sorry that meant an inconvenience for your stay.
You mention in your review you were locked out of your room but, as it sometimes happen when any guests miss the key card or forget it within the room, our front desk team can provide you with a new key card as soon as possible, always after checking the identity for security reasons.
We are sorry that neither the WiFi nor the TV worked during your stay. Although we have not had any other report about it, we will really appreciate if you can let us know some more information about your stay such as the room number (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com) so that we can immediately fix it.
Finally, we would like to inform you that in absolutely all our rooms there is a safety box and kettles are in our Premium, Fitness, Junior Suites and Family Rooms. It is a TRYP standard and, if you wish to have a kettle in a standard room it is absolutely possible, you can check it in auds01’s review!
We hope we can have a second chance on your next visit to Barcelona and show you that the TRYP Apolo is a great place to spend a positive experience! Please accept our apologies since the service received did not meet your expectations.

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Two ladies on a girls long weekend break, staying at TRYP Apolo from 29/3/14 to 1/4/14. The hotel is in a fantastic location, 10 minute walk to Las Rambles and 15 minutes to the port. We arrived early at the hotel and our room was made available to us at 11am, which was fantastic for us, however, may not always be the case in high season. Staff very friendly and willing to be helpful at reception and in the breakfast room. Our room was large with adequate storage and a safe included in the cost along with Wifi which you have to log in to with a different code daily, which is perfectly understandable. The room was tired, however, I will not spend time complaining about cracked tiles in the bathroom or the odd bit of mildew - we all get it and these rooms are in use 365 days a year, they are going to get tired. For us the importance is cleanliness not how white the sheets are, so it met with our expectations. Our only complaint is there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, we enquired about this and were offered a kettle at 6 Euro per day - come on TRYP, you are a 4* hotel, people want a coffee/tea before bed and upon waking. We bought a cheap kettle and left it, so I expect that will be added to their 6 Euro per day stock. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice with food fresh and replensished constantly, it would be difficult not to find something to eat and allowing a substantial meal prior to sight seeing. We found some lovely lovely restaurants, too many to choose from and fortunately for us we got it right everytime. We were on the 3rd floor and yes you can hear street noise and I am not sure but I think there is a nightclub next door and people gather in large groups at 4am and are a little high spirited and rowdy which can be heard but it wasnt enough for us to complain about (and how can the hotel be responsible for street behaviour), traffic noise wasnt a problem, its a busy main road to the port, there is always going to be traffic. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a fairly priced break, it does cater for business clientele, so dont expect the ritz. Beds were really comfy, plenty hot water - go for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear auds01,

Great to read your review! We are happy to know you and your friends spent a great time during your girl’s weekend! It is always fulfilling for us to know you spent a great time in Barcelona.
Can’t wait to receive you back and share a new unforgettable experience!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Tryp Apolo was a good value choice for our weekend in Barcelona. We found it reasonably convenient to get to, via the Aerobus from Barcelona airport and then the Para-lel metro station which is right outside. The hotel's location was also fine for walking across to La Rambla and it is easy and quick to get to Sagrada Familia on Line 2 of the metro from the hotel.

Our room was a good size, facing the back of the hotel. It did not have any noises coming in from outside, although there was some sounds from neighbouring rooms and the corridor. The room was a pleasant temperature, well-equipped, and with plenty of space for luggage and hanging space. The bed and bedding were also very comfortable. The décor and furnishings were in good condition, and the room was light and airy.

Service at the reception was professional and quick. The breakfast room was very busy during our stay, and the staff were stretched in replacing the buffet items. But the food choice was good with plenty to fill you up for the day. The Apolo Café on the ground floor provided a fairly basic menu but was good value.

The hotel was busy during our stay and seemed a popular tourist choice in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Peltt,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world!
We see that you had the time to visit the really “must see” places in Barcelona and that makes us really happy! If you ever plan to come back please do not hesitate to let us know in advanced, our “experts in the city” will prepare a huge list of cool, nice and magic places for you to discover…

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is well located if you want to explore the Ramblas and the port area of Barcelona. It is a short walk to the port cable car.
The hotel breakfast is excellent, and well worth selecting if you have the option. There is a good mix of hot and cold options, plenty of fruit and a nice selection of breads and pastries.
The rooms themselves are a little tired, mine had problems with the TV not getting all channels. the hair dryer was broken and the towels are like cardboard, very much in need of replacing.
The rooms are quite large but the bath and shower is very small, although the bathroom itself is adequately sized. A narrow bath with a shower curtain is a little claustrophobic when showering.
I had a room facing the interior courtyard, I understand the street side rooms can be rather noisy.
The front desk staff were excellent, providing sound advice on places to see and restaurants for the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank SimonBunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear SimonBunn,

Your comments are really useful for us and we take good note of each one of them.
We will really appreciate if you can contact us via email (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com) and inform us a little more about your stay and room since, according to your comments TV and hair drier are not in a good status and we cannot let it keep the same!
THANK YOU so much and we remain at your entire disposal for anything you may need.

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Rooms a little dated; excellent check in; Why do hotels have such a painful wi-fi signup experience?

Good location - 10 minutes to La Rambla, 20 to Plaça de Catalunya.

Woken up by the cleaners every morning!

Overall for the money no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bimeycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear bimeycharlie,

Thank you for sharing your experience after your stay with us.
While we are happy to know you enjoyed the check in process as well as location, we are sorry that WiFi and staff noise avoided you to have a 5 star experience; these two points are concerning for us and please rest assured that our team is already aware of it.

Again, thank you for letting us know and we hope we have a second chance to show you how TRYP Apolo Hotel can provide you the BEST experiences in Barcelona!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here in Dec 13. Clean hotel, average business stay type rooms. Everything was provided, but very basic service (eg no separate shampoo , you only had shower gel provided.). The hotel is above a popular late night theatre/events venue & on show nights it tended to be noisy and noise came through the floor if you were in certain rooms. We were unexpectedly upgraded midway & the deluxe rooms were higher and therefore quieter than the previous lower level one. Breakfast was 100 varieties of poor quality food. Quantity over quality for sure. Overall ok manage your expectations. Clear plus was 2 mts from tube exit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ShariSek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear ShariSek,

We are so happy to have your feedback after your stay. If definitely encourages us to keep on doing our best and improve day after day!
Your comments in regards to our Breakfast Quality really concern us since our brand standards are really strict and exigent in terms of quality; as you can read in other guest’s reviews it is one of the best valued points at our Hotel. Nonetheless, your comments will be transmitted to the team and we really appreciate your review!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#198 of 515 in Barcelona
1,189 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 515 in Barcelona
3,321 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#84 of 515 in Barcelona
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 515 in Barcelona
1,691 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,854 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#194 of 515 in Barcelona
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £68 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing