We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay, perfect for a few days away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #276 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at the Tryp and after requesting a quiet room we got just that. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to drop our bags off while the room was prepared. Our room was clean and well equipped around the back of the hotel and we slept very well despite the thunderstorm on the first night.

The hotel is fantastically located with nearly everything in walking distance and for everything that's not there is a Metro stop literally 20 seconds up the road. We found a lot of local restaurants on the road where the hotel is located, a large majority cater for English tourists but there are a couple of Tapas bars that don't (we found these were the best).

WIFI needs to be refreshed every 24 hours but this didn't bother us. The hotel bar gets very busy but we quite enjoyed the atmosphere especially during the World Cup.

Overall a great hotel for a great price. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We found rooms around the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 3,580 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

As the title suggest the hotel is located in a perfect location for getting around. When we arrived we took full advantage of a room upgrade which cost around 80euros. The room we were in was clean comfy and had a fantastic view which we could enjoy from the wrap around balcony. This is the left hand side of the hotel room 532. Staff are friendly and the breakfast more than adequate. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If offered upgrade take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stecol87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First,it is in a convenient location. For a European hotel,it is spacious. The hotel does not look busy,until breakfast,then you see how. Many are there! The complimentary breakfast is awesome,all kinds of breakfast fare, lots of meats,cheeses, fruit,pastries,brad,and eggs. The hotel clerks helped us out quite a bit. Internet is very slow!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

good hotel ,great location , awesome breakfast selection.wifi internet is slow like dial up speed. business internet you need to pay for.management very accommodating , room spacious.need to walk a little bit for a good restaurant . 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: Don't face main avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoteach84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Me and my friend booked a package holiday to Barcelona and this was the hotel we got. Seeing as it was quite a cheap deal, we weren't expecting much but were very pleasantly surprised! The whole hotel was very clean and fresh looking; the staff were very pleasant and helpful; the rooms were spacious and had everything you could need in them. We got breakfast including in our stay and as a vegetarian, i find most hotels have a limited spread that's suitable for me but there was loads i could eat. It was good quality and we really set ourselves up for the day with a big breakfast. The location was perfect, 10 minutes walk to Port Vell and Las Ramla and then a further 10 minutes away from the beach. There are metro stations right outside that provide cheap travel all over the city. I was so impressed with this hotel and would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were there for a few days and I would say the location is very convenient to reach the major shopping routes. It's just walking distance from Ramblas and just 10 steps to the metro station.
Location aside, the internet connection is wifi, really slow and steady so did not manage to upload some of my photos there.
The rooms are well maintained, food's a good spread in the morning.
There are 4 lifts at the lobby which could be sped up to handle the hotel traffic as each lift's really rather squeezy when you have 4 occupants.

Overall location is the key in hotel stays so it's a good humble hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I'm actually here right now. Coming from 4 nights at the Hilton this place is a real letdown. I'm a very easygoing traveler but I'm regretting booking this place even though I used Melia points so it worked out a decent deal.

Firstly the bed is extremely uncomfortable. I don't think I've ever slept in a worse one (and I've slept in bad beds). The tv in the room doesn't work. And no-one is answering room service even though there are some things the menu says can be ordered 24 hrs.

Coming back to your hotel room late at night, all you want is a place to relax before bed. Unfortunately, this hotel struck out 3 times. Yes I could probably have had each issue fixed if I called reception and made a fuss about it, but really after a long day no-one is interested in doing that. Especially after unpacking somewhat, I'm not moving rooms, I'm not going to have someone come fix the tv, and it's basically too late for food. A snack I bought earlier in the day will have to do.

If you're using points, use them elsewhere, and if you're paying, I certainly wouldn't pay for a stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear ShimonGoodman,

First of all let us apologize since the service you received was below the standards you expected.
We are definitely not used to receive such a feedback and we wish we had the chance to work in order to make your stay more pleasant during your days with us. Your entire satisfaction is definitely our main goal.
Please rest assured our involved teams are already aware of your impressions and the room you were staying in has been rechecked to avoid any experience similar to be repeated.
Reiterating our apologies, please note we remain at your entire disposal.

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#196 of 519 in Barcelona
1,222 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#96 of 519 in Barcelona
1,769 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#88 of 519 in Barcelona
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,508 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#103 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#110 of 519 in Barcelona
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £75 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing