We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for budget city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #258 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good choice for budget city break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel, sharing a room with 2 friends but in a group of 7.

We all got rooms close to each other on the same floor which was nice and ours was on the back of the hotel which meant is was quiet and all 3 of us slept soundly each night. The guys in rooms at the front said it was quite noisy with people and traffic but they still managed to get a decent nights sleep.

We had 3 single beds so didn't have to share a double or sleep on a sofa bed as is so often the case and the room was an adequate size for a 3 sharing on a short break.

Overall the service was good with the only issue being a lack of towels 1 night, which despite phone calls to reception (housekeeping did not answer the phone) meant we had to go down to reception to get one delivered to us.

Bathroom facilities were reasonable - shower and bath, enough space for 3 of us to leave toiletries in there and a hairdryer. The shower wasn't too powerful but it was hot enough.

We had breakfast outside when the weather was fine and even though it was self service the waiters were good and bringing us teas and coffees to our tables.

The buffet was good, wide range of hot and cold items with fruit and pastries.

There are 2 bars and the one just of the lobby serves good cocktails at around €6 but the G&T's were expensive!!

The best thing about the hotel for me was the location, we were very central which meant that within 5-10 mins you were on Las Ramblas or down by the port / marina. This gave us plenty of sight seeing, shopping bars and restaurants to choose from.

I think this is good medium priced hotel and would probably recommend it for groups however if I was with my husband I'd probably look for something a bit more "romantic" and upmarket.

There had been plenty on the TV and in the papers about the crime in Barcelona and several English and Spanish friends had warned me in advance about dippers, bag snatching and scams etc... I have to say that even late at night (and we were out pretty late each night as is the Spanish way) I didn't see / hear any incidents and didn't ever feel threatened or nervous even down the side streets (which are worth exploring as you find quaint little squares and lovely places to eat which you would otherwise miss).

Admittedly we were in groups of 3 or 4 all the time and it might be because I have been to places like Rio and Cape Town that I was actually quite surprised about the lack of obvious petty theft. The police presence was high both in the centre and on the beach so I think they are trying to tackle the problem and for me I'd be happy to return as the wealth of attractions outweighs the risk in my opinion.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back of the hotel to maximise sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    1,434
    674
    205
    131
See reviews for
698
1,341
113
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean & comfortable, breakfast buffet was excellent. Good location, rooms at the front are noisy, my sister managed to sleep through it though & I was only woken 1 of the 3 nights. I would happily stay there again & recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Not at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good price great location and great service! Plenty of dining options and good access to the core of the city. A great n and every member of the staff were very pleasant and very helpful with any questions or request. A great breakfast buffet worth the money before hitting the city for the day. The desk staff can make many recommendations for dining or other tour options. It is a bit dated and could use some new carpet but otherwise a good value and location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artifactdealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Well situated for visiting AND for Métro station. Buffet breakfast with many choices. Choose room with garden or no view instead of street view with noisy trafic. Personnel very helpful with maps and directions. We would return to this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Quiet room not on street Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Well priced, excellent courteous staff, quiet room towards the back of the hotel, excellent breakfast, right next to metro station Para-lel, English spoken. Would recommend taking an upgrade to get unlimited minibar and coffee/tea else you may get a shock on the bill!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A good clean hotel conveniently situated in central Barcelona. Easy access from airport by train and then metro with metro stop directly outside the hotel. The breakfasts were excellent, the range of food on offer would suit everyone. We were in room 230 which is at the front of the hotel and this was the only drawback. Very noisy late into the night. Don't know when the youngsters sleep!! The staff we met were all very helpful and polite. We would recommend it to friends and use it ourselves of we return to Bae Leonard

Room Tip: Request a high level room at the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynethj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 3nights last week on a trip to Barcelona. It was a lovely hotel, exactly what you expect and very well priced for the area. It's very central and near to everything we wanted to see. We went to barcelonetta (beach and port area) at night times and it was aprox 6euro for taxis each way. Las Rambla is only 5mins walk away too.

Breakfast was the only time we really used the hotel facilities and they were very busy but very organised. The food on offer was varied and fresh. We also taxied both ways from the airport and it cost 32 euros each way approx, which is only 20mjns by car, a lot easier than the or bus!

The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels, and bed sheets changed twice whilst we were there which was fine. Hotel staff were lovely and we were able to check in at 10am with no questions asked which enables us to sightsee immediately upon arrival. We expected a double room but got a twin (2 large singles) next to each other. We didn't mind this but worth noting on the booking if you would prefer otherwise just in case.

Very highly recommended and we will stay again if visiting barcelona :-)

Room Tip: Good value for money - very central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#152 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing