We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #266 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location. It is very central and the hotel is clean and comfortable. My boyfriend and I and our couple friends stayed here for 3 nights. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the service we received whenever we dealt with the front desk. They don't acknowledge you unless you are calling for them.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sweenmegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear sweenmegs,

We are so happy to know you spent a great time with us. However, we are concerned about your words in regards to our front desk staff which we have already transmitted so that it does not repeat.
Please be back soon…we can’t wait to repeat a new positive experience with you and offer you the best of the services, just as you deserve!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    1,466
    695
    212
    138
See reviews for
716
1,373
118
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this Hotel is certainly its strength. It was close to the hop-on-hop-off bus pickup, and just a few streets over is La Rambla, but in-between is El Raval, which is a really neat strip where real people live.

The hotel itself has an excellent breakfast, helpful staff who are friendly and courteous, rooms that are a bit dated and slightly grubby (stained carpets, AC that doesn't quit work right etc). We found the nightlife on the streets to be really noisy and the noise travelled easily up to our room.

For the price however, it is a pretty good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Ashley H,

Thank you so much for writing down your experience after your stay with us.
We completely agree! Location is basic in order to visit a city and we are really happy we helped you discover Barcelona.
Can’t wait to receive you back!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel is nice though probably soon carpets and walls needs refreshment. Beds are new and sleeping experience was great. Our room was above night club and noise was quite high till 4am every night hence only 3 star. Ask for the room which does not faces street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Davor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Davor M,

We really appreciate your constructive comments after your stay with us.

Being located in the city center is such a good asset when travelling but we are really sorry if the city night activity did not help your experience to be a 5star experience.

We take into account each one of the points you mention and please rest assured we will work on them so that an impression like yours does not repeat.
We look forward to receiving you back soon!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights the staff were very helpful suggesting us to go places around Barcelona the room was great and clean but wifi was bad the rest was good breakfast was great a lot of things to choose from would definitely go there again :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Christina marie T,

There is not a best way for us to start the day! Thank you for sharing your positive experience and please, do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need… we are all at your entire disposal!
When are you coming back? Can’t wait to see you again!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We are in honeymoon and Barcelona is our last stop in a tour in Europe. When we got in the hotel, Very tired at night, Manuel fom the front desk was very rude when I asked for a quiet room! For catalans this is the pattern! Small bed and old bathroom!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Cencecegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Cencecegana,

We are so sorry that you kept this impression after your stay with us.
Your feedback is important for us and we will definitely take into account your perception.
Every guest is really valued for us no matter the reason you travel; business, family trip, leisure…and of course, an important occasion such as a honeymoon.
Please accept our apologies and we hope we have the chance to share with you a new positive experience.

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a one night stay in Barcelona, and found the Tryp Apolo Barcelona online as a last minute. Massively good deal ($95 for the night for two people, breakfast included), so didn't think twice.

We weren't disappointed (if you could be at all for that price.....). The hotel is super central to everything. Cruise Port, La Rambla, old city centre, highways North and South, you name it. Getting there with a hire car was a bit of a pain; driving in Barcelona is a pain in general, I'd say; all these blooming scooters!! We did manage to find our way to the car park underneath the hotel. Well worth the $40 for the privilege. No way that we would have found a cheaper place nearby.

Hotel check in was swift, efficient and friendly. The hotel is clean looking, and well worth the 4 stars.

Our room was great, although the view was miserable (hey, we did get a super duper rate; can't expect the world). All the mod cons were there; nice big telly, awesome bathroom with all sorts of goodies ready for use. The room was nice and spacious, better than the poky places you sometimes get. Coffee and tea were available, and sound insulation was pretty good; couldn't hear much at all. The only downside was construction work going on a couple of levels above us. The builders went on with drills and hammers till way past 11pm (perhaps later; must've fallen asleep at some point). I'd say 9.30-10pm construction noise should cease to be....

Breakfast in the morning was absolutely awesome. So much available, I couldn't stuff it in me if I had wanted to. Proper espresso machines for the coffee lovers; good stuff.

Check out was as swift as check in, and we were able to leave our car downstairs until we were ready to leave (somewhere early afternoon).

I'd easily pick this place again next time. I know how to get there, now!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiMaKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear SiMaKy,

What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the world…please do not hesitate to let us know before your next visit, we will make sure you enjoy an even better stay with us!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was only in Barcelona two days and just needed a place to stay for one night. This was suitable. The hotel itself was very small but all hotels in Europe are small. Staff was friendly we even got our room upgraded to a balcony and this hotel only has a handful of rooms with a balcony so we were lucky. They also have a computer lab where I was able to use the internet at cost though. The hotel is very well centralized you can walk to las ramblas but becareful which street you take. Catching the bus was very close and easy. For my short duration it was perfect, however, I don't know if I would say the same for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christeenuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Christeenuh,

Thank you for letting us count on your opinion after your stay at the Hotel TRYP Barcelona Apolo!
Although your stay was a little short, we are happy you enjoyed and that location helped you get to know our beloved city, Barcelona!
We really hope we have the pleasure to receive you back for a future longer stay…we will definitely take good care of you!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,702 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,829 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Sants
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
3,042 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#189 of 513 in Barcelona
2,403 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing