We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice quiet location in a busy city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atenea Calabria Apartaments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
Ranked #175 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice quiet location in a busy city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Perfect location, only 15 mins walk to the busy centre and la rambla, so your in for a good nights sleep! Breakfast is great, nice variety and overall great service. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the rooms are a decent size. A little pricy but would probabley stay again. :-)

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chelsj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thanks and thanks.

Best regards

MFont (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    361
    111
    24
    13
See reviews for
309
181
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very conveniently located. It is close to the subway and the bus stop for the airport bus. A large supermarket is right next door, which was handy. Also the Placa d'Espanya is a short walk away, which was convenient for the mall, hop on-hop off bus, fountain and National Gallery.

The room was clean and comfortable. The decor is a little dated, but not really an issue. It had your typical mod cons, such as flat screen tv, Wi-Fi and sufficiently powerful air conditioner. Having a balcony was also really nice! The bathroom looked relatively modern and the shower was nice and powerful. However, there wasn't a lock on the door, but we were considerate of each other, so it wasn't too much of an issue for us. The kitchenette had most of the typical equipment you would need, except for bowls for cereal, but you could get some disposable ones from the supermarket, next door to the hotel.

The staff were always very friendly and helpful. They even left a little dish of sweets and a note in our room on our 2nd last day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Sirs,

Many many thanks to hear your nice comments.

Best regards

MFont (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The rooms were great! The best part of it was that it had a kitchen included - be sure to take advantage of this! Although, the walls are quite thin. Luckily, our neighbors were quiet and we couldn't really hear them. We heard stories that someone had to move rooms due to the noise. If the noise is too loud, I think the staff will help you move rooms. Also, the rooms are not that clean. It is acceptable but there is still dust around the corners. Not a big problem though! There is a huge supermarket downstairs right next to the hotel and a few smaller ones around. The staff were lovely and gave us a few maps and suggested a few places for us to visit. The location is a few minutes away from the metro station, two or three blocks. Espanya (only one station away) is only a 10 minute walk (or less!) there is a huge shopping mall with a food court if you would like to go there. But I suggest to eat at the street cafés instead (outside!!) Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: If you chose to get a balcony room, request one facing the street. We had one facing the back and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks to choose our Hotel during your Holidays.

Best regards

MFont (Directora)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The staff is really nice and helpful, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast buffet is awesome. We will definitely come back. The metro station is close by. The only problem was that the wifi didn't work on the third floor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks to your nice comments.

Best regards

MFont (Directora)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Central location, clean rooms, decent bathroom, bed ok, only complaint wifi on higher floors is useless. Nothing more worth saying about a place like this. It doesn't need 200 characters to sum up some places. Tripadvisor please note.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Sirs,

First of all thanks for your comments. We want to apology about the wifi. We had problems with the line but now everything is all right.

Sorry again and best regards

MFont (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have never received such consistent great service from a hotel staff! I dealt with so many different front desk staff members and every single one of them was very helpful and very friendly. I love how they seem to jump at a chance to serve.

Unfortunately the room quality is very bad! The walls are so thin, you can hear the people talking next door, you can hear the cars n scooters driving by and people walking upstairs in their rooms. When we stayed there was also construction at the next building so needless to say we did not get any sleep. The beds are bad. No cushion n when my husband turned during sleep the bed squeaked which woke me up! The bathroom smelled like it needed some Lysol to disinfect or bleach! The shower/tub is not designed for tall people. I'm short n medium size and i felt like the shower was a very tight squeeze. Do not open the window that looks into the center of the hotel. It's a scary sight! They should plant something there and wash down those walls!

Room Tip: We booked three rooms. None of them good. They need to change the beds and make the walls and ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TesayL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We note your comments that make us to improve every day.
Sorry for the inconvenience and we will take steps to overcome them
Best regards
MFont (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Aparthotel Atenea
#243 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#84 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acacia Suites
Acacia Suites
#247 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Aparthotel Bertran
#281 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Hotel
BCN Montjuic Hotel
#309 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atenea Calabria Apartaments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atenea Calabria Apartaments

Property: Atenea Calabria Apartaments
Address: Calabria 129-131, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atenea Calabria Apartaments 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Atenea Calàbria is situated next to Rocafort Metro Station, 10 minutes walk from Plaza de Espanya, just over one kilometre from Ramblas Boulevard. It offers 35m square room with kitchen, balcony and free Wi-Fi.The studios are spacious and brightly decorated. Each has a seating area with satellite TV, air conditioning, kitchenette with a fridge, microwe, flat tv and coffee maker.Aparthotel Atenea Calàbria offers a daily buffet breakfast. There are also a range of supermarkets, cafes, bars and restaurants within walking distance of the aparthotel.Aparthotel Atenea Calabria is just over 10 minutes’ walk from Plaza de Espanya, whilst Sants Train and Bus Station is a further 500 metres away. The nearest Metro Station, Rocafort, is a 5-minute walk away and is just 3 stops from the top of Las Rambla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and Superbreak UK so you can book your Atenea Calabria Apartaments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atenea Calabria Apartaments Barcelona, Catalonia
Atenea Calabria Apartaments Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing