We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
Ranked #163 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank peribo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

I spend 3 days with 2 friends in December to celebrate my bday and it was a nice surprise to stay in this friendly and very clean apartments.
It was only 5mins to tube stop and more or less15 mins walk from the airobus stop to go to the airport . I would recommend this apartment great price and location. Well done to all the staff for a lovely bday celebration.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pato s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Sirs,

We are glad to hear that you enyoed your time in our Hotel and We are happy because you celebrated your Birthday with us.

Hope see you again on your next trip to Barcelona.

Best regards and Merry Christmas.

MFont (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

3 of us stayed in an apartment at Atenea Calabria for 5 nights at the end of October. The entrance to the Reception is very clean tidy and modern which was a nice surprise The staff were friendly on arrival and spoke very good English, we had no reason to contact them much but in every dealing they were very polite and helpful considering we really made no attempt tol learn their language they couldn't have been nicer. It was only a 20 minute walk at the most from the Airobus stop and 5 mins to tube stop. There is a good supermarket next door and a late night spa shop on the corner. We were placed in a room next to the lift, which did worry us but was no problem in the end, the only noise was from the apartment above moving furniture twice daily, I only assume to change the room from bedroom to dining area maybe. Apartment was kept nice and clean and house keeping even left a Giant sweet for my daughter on Halloween and a little note which was a nice touch. The room was not set out as the website presumed, we did think there would be a separate Bedroom from lounge, but it wasn't. You walk in to an entrance area with the safe ($5 deposit), then into the kitchen with a door to the shower room then another door through from the kitchen to main area which held the double bed, single bed, sofa wardrobes and table air con unit. the wardrobe and set of shelves parted the room from the single bed. not what I was expecting, I was thinking there would be a separate lounge area but it was no problem as everyone was so tired from sight seeing each day we collapsed as soon as we got to the room. I would recommend this apartment to anyone for any reason, I would happily stay here again. Great Price and Location as well as Great Stay. It was a nice find on ebookers, after hours of looking, I stumbled across their site and took a risk as know no one who have used them.THANK YOU

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Sirs,

Many thanks for your nice comments.

Hope see you again in your next trip to Barcelone.

Best regards

MFont (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

While we stayed here for 5 days a few of the staff were helpful but most could care less about customer service. Rooms were incredibly noisy all hours of the day & floors were always dirty in the room. Housekeeping was spotty some days trash wasn't emptied. Would not recommend!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NMHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Sirs,

First of all, thanks to take a moment to say the things about our Hotel.

We are so sorry about the cleaning and we take steps to ensure that does not happen again.

About noises, we inform you that during November and December we're doing works to resolve the whole issue of the noises.

Sorry again and best regards

MFont (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband booked this hotel - which is more appropriately classified as a hostel! He read the comments on Trip Advisor, all which seemed very complimentary which we just can't understand? We thought the hotel looked welcoming and comfy from outside and the foyer seemed bright and cool from the air conditioning. Unfortunately things went downhill rapidly as soon as we stepped out of the lift.
Our room was quite frankly depressing, luckily we were out most of the day, so had very limited time in the room. The furniture is really old and very basic, the wardrobe sticks out in the middle of the room, making it very dark. This is to separate the room into 2 bedrooms, where you'll find a camp bed/put-you-up spare bed on the other side by the patio door.
The kitchen?? is basically a couple of kitchen units with sink, in the corridor where you walk from the front door to the bedroom - I would never contemplate using the kitchenette, especially as I wouldn't want to spend an entire evening in the room. It made the room seem like a bedsit rather than an apartment.
The air conditioning is absolutely non-existent. You have to insert your room tag into a slot behind the door to turn on the electricity within the room. Meaning that the air conditioning is turned off all day and any food in the fridge would probably go off. We turned the air conditioning on full as soon as we returned each day, but even in October, with the patio door wide open the room was boiling hot all night and very unpleasant to sleep in. We tried keeping the door closed and having the air-conditioning on, but having tried it for over an hour we had to open the door to get at least some breeze in.
The bathroom smelt absolutely terrible of drains/sewers, even though it seemed relatively clean.
The only positive was the breakfast, which offered both hot and cold choices and was kept well stocked all morning. I awarded the hotel 1 star for the breakfast.
I've struggled to find other positives and awarded the hotel half a star for the fact it had 2 working lifts and another half a star because it was relatively close to the Metro.
The hotel is too far away from the central areas of Barcelona to make it well located so you can walk to and from the hotel.
The view at the back of the hotel is also dreadful, but at least it was quiet so you could sleep with the door wide open.
We scanned through absolutely every channel on the TV and radio in the room, and there was only 1 channel that was in English - BBC World Service, so you couldn't even watch TV for a while before you went to sleep.
All in all, unfortunately the hotel spoilt our trip to a beautiful City. It wasn't a cheap hotel so ended up being an expensive mistake.
I would question the other reports given on Trip Advisor, especially where people have awarded it 5*, why?????
We weren't expecting a 4* hotel or 5* hotel, for a 3* price, but this hotel barely makes 2* in our opinion. I would have given it 1* but my husband felt I was being particularly harsh.
I would definitely never ever stay here again, or indeed ever recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in the foyer or lounge area, as they seem to be the nicest areas of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear madam,

First at all We want to apologize for the inconvenience caused in our establishment. We want to inform you that air conditioning is working with the white card that We give you at check in time, but if you want to leave it you can do it, just you have to tell to our front desk department; Fridge is working without this card then you have no problem to leave food there.

This month We have started work in our premises to improve our facilities and offer to our guest the best service and qualities, We are going to soundproof rooms and change furniture.

Our staff is to serve our guest and if you. We have rooms with overlooking the outside.

If you want to come back to our establishment in the future do not hesitate to contact with us directly and We can offer you the best and you can see our new rooms.

Sorry again for all, and Best regards

MFont (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very good location close to city center and metro station. Room large with space for resting. Not very new furniture and average clean. We took option without brecfast so I can n ot tell anythink about food but coffee at reception was good

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

From AH ATENEA CALABRIA we want to thanks to hear your nice comments.

Next time to come to Barcelona you have to taste our Breakfast that include homemades cakes.

Best regards

MFont (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family and I have stayed in this place several times, maybe 30 nights total. I never reviewed before because I was paranoid that it would get too popular. This is our #1 place to stay in Barcelona. We love the location, staff, cleanliness, and shear convenience of being next to an excellent grocery store with everything we need. You can buy food and cook it if you please. Sonya, who works the front desk has always helped us in any reservation situations (as in last minute), but A L L of the staff are extremely helpful with transportation and other information. The only negative is that you can sometimes hear other guests in the hallway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mflatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

From AH ATENEA CALABRIA we want to give you THANKS and THANKS to hear that every time you visit Barcelona you stay in our Hotel.

Hopefully next visit Barcelone will be soon.

Best regards

MFont (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Aparthotel Atenea
#255 of 519 in Barcelona
654 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#98 of 519 in Barcelona
956 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#69 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SmartRoom Barcelona
#103 of 519 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atenea Calabria Apartaments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atenea Calabria Apartaments

Address: Calabria 129-131, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atenea Calabria Apartaments 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Atenea Calàbria is situated next to Rocafort Metro Station, 10 minutes walk from Plaza de Espanya, just over one kilometre from Ramblas Boulevard. It offers 35m square room with kitchen, balcony and free Wi-Fi.The studios are spacious and brightly decorated. Each has a seating area with satellite TV, air conditioning, kitchenette with a fridge, microwe, flat tv and coffee maker.Aparthotel Atenea Calàbria offers a daily buffet breakfast. There are also a range of supermarkets, cafes, bars and restaurants within walking distance of the aparthotel.Aparthotel Atenea Calabria is just over 10 minutes’ walk from Plaza de Espanya, whilst Sants Train and Bus Station is a further 500 metres away. The nearest Metro Station, Rocafort, is a 5-minute walk away and is just 3 stops from the top of Las Rambla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Atenea Calabria Apartaments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atenea Calabria Apartaments Barcelona, Catalonia
Atenea Calabria Apartaments Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing