We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a short break”
Review of Aparthotel Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aparthotel Atenea
Ranked #221 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel was amazing, as we booked a cheap deal through E.bookers we thought that the hotel would be small dingy and just be somewhere that we slept,

This was a brilliant hotel with friendly staff who all spoke brilliant english. The room catered for 3 of us for 4 days. Had a lovley small kitchin, bathroom, sofa bed and two singles. the room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels provided.

I cannot fault this hotel, 2 minuites up the road from the metro which is the easyest train system to use.

There is a lovley bar around the corner which does be best mojitos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie22313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Sales Manager at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting Atenea Barcelona Aparhotel for your stay and for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read such lovely comments and your positive remarks related to our service. We really appreciate them!

Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next visit to welcoming you again at Atenea Barcelona Aparthotel.

Yours sincerely,

Xenia Camins
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Aparthotel Atenea, Carrer de Joan Güell is in the Les Corts area of Barcelona. Each room is adequately equipped to ensure a fantastic short stay self catering experience. The surrounding streets are filled with supermarkets to stock the fridge. The hotel does, however, have a very reasonably priced à la carte restaurant. During my stay you could have a three course evening meal for 18€.
Also in the various side streets are good patisseries, restaurants and bars. Next door there is something for the Harley Davison enthusiasts out there, a service garage, a Harley Davison shop and adjoining this, a 50's style diner serving fantastic food, tapas and drinks with live music most weekends. Must say very friendly, welcoming staff and management in 99% Moto Bar, give it a try!
A bonus feature to the Atenea is it's proximity to the Camp Nou, no more than a five minute walk from the beautiful stadium. Fantastic for travelling football fans during Champions League and even if you're not a football fan, still a very worthwhile visit.
The purpose for my visit was vocational so out of my twelve day stay I didn't get to do much sightseeing but after driving around and studying maps, the Aparthotel is not too far from most attractions. As I have mentioned my visit was work based and was working at La Fira Gran Via exhibition halls and the trip from hotel to the halls lasted 5-10mins depending on the traffic. For those who are thinking of using this hotel while working at the halls, across the road from the halls is a fabulous shopping centre with an array of designer shops, and a huge Carrefour that sells everything.
Carrer de Joan Güell is a great street for commuting around the city with a taxi rank at one end and the Metro at the other.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Sacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Sales Manager at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting Atenea Barcelona Aparhotel for your stay and for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read such lovely comments and your positive remarks related to our service. We really appreciate them!

Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next visit to welcoming you again at Atenea Barcelona Aparthotel.

Yours sincerely,

Xenia Camins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved this hotel. The locality is clean, peaceful, safe and located slightly away from the center of the city with every facility at hand. The metro is just a few minutes away. After a days worth of travel, we could eat in the hotel or at the resturant with the hotel. The staff was very helpful. The resturant is accommodating and does their best to suit everyone's need; specifically smaller children. It was an ideal choice for the price we payed. wifi service was pretty good on 5th floor. The cab stand is just next to hotel and easily accessible. If you need cab at odd hours, reception will help you get one in a few minutes.

I would like to specifically thank Joan (pronounced Juan) who was super helpful at the reception helping us with all information on where to visit and how. Joan also helped me on the phone before travel to ensure we had all the information required before travel. Rita also helped us settle during the wee hours of checkin after a long journey.

Room Tip: If you want strong wifi, mention it during checkin and they will give you on a floor where reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Jefa de Ventas at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Cliente,

En primer lugar agradecerle en nombre de todo el equipo y en el mío propio el haber escogido nuestro hotel para su estancia estos pasados días.

Le agradecemos sinceramente que haya destinado unos minutos de su tiempo y nos haya hecho llegar sus opiniones. Cada uno de sus comentarios nos ayudan e impulsan a mejorar nuestros servicios y satisfacer las necesidades de nuestros clientes.

Esperamos poder darle la bienvenida de nuevo muy pronto.

Atentamente,

Xènia Camins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

With a set of cooking utensils in the kitchen, you can cook for most of foods. It also neighbors with a supermarket, and you can buy most food here. It's also convenient for transport. It just locates in the middle of two trans-stations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Jefa de Ventas at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting Atenea Barcelona Aparhotel for your stay and for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read such lovely comments honouring Atenea Barcelona Aparthotel and your positive remarks related to our service. We really appreciate them!

Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next visit to welcoming you again at Atenea Barcelona Aparthotel.

Yours sincerely,

Xènia Camins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have just returned from four nights at the Arenea and had a thoroughly good time. The room was very spacious and clean with separate living area, which can be divided from the bedroom by sliding door which would be useful with children, kitchen and bathroom. Everything was very clean and tidy apart from the sofa which had seen better days as other reviewers have said. The kitchen had basic equipment which was more than enough for us as we ate out but appreciated being able to make a cuppa in the morning. The bathroom could do with a little refurbishment and our door was warped and wouldn't shut unles you gave it a good slam! However it was very clean, the water was hot and great pressure in the shower. We did find as others have mentioned that the walls are rather thin, you can hear the toilet flushing in the next room and one night I was woken up by a baby crying, however generally speaking it was a very quiet hotel so noise wasn't an issue. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and enjoyed the three course menu for 18euro each. We probably would have eaten there again but the menu didn't change all week and as I don't eat meat there was only one choice I could have (I eat fish but there wasn't anything veggie at all on there.) The staff were very friendly and efficient and spoke excellent English which is good as there is no information in the room so we ended up having to ask them lots. We found Daniel on reception particularly friendly and helpful.The location was excellent, a nice clean quiet area with loads of cafes, bars, bakeries and shops around. We did walk into the centre once which took about an hour including a stop for coffee, but the Metro is fast and efficient and very easy to navigate. Overall I would say it is good value for money and we would definately return and hope to do so soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joellaeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Director de Recepción at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I'm Glad you enjoyed your staying with us and hope to see you again next time you come to the city.
Best regards from Barcelona!!

Reception Manager.
Atenea Aparthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here and enjoyed the local atmosphere. The rooms have sleeping area, sitting area, and mini kitchen, so it's perfect for an extended stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was quiet at night and had many restaurants close by. We also enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel. The food was excellent on the night that we stayed in. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very clean. Metro stop is just down the street. The view of the cathedral from our window was wonderful. Could have used a newer sofa but the positives made up for that many times over.

Room Tip: Loved having the mini kitchen for snacking from the Boqueria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Director de Recepción at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I'm Glad you enjoyed your staying with us and hope to see you again next time you come to the city.
Best regards from Barcelona!!

Reception Manager.
Atenea Aparthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at this aparthotel. It was not our first choice and initially we would have preferred somewhere more central. However it turned out fine. As most other reviewers have pointed out, this hotel is pretty far out Diagonal Avenue. For most people it would not be walkable from most of the city's main attractions. However it is an easy 10 minute walk from Camp Nou and the Royal Palace Gardens. The Les Corts district is largely made up of businesses, shops and the university complex. We felt safe and relaxed there.

The distance from the centre was not really a problem as soon as we purchased our very good value 4 day transport pass which gave unlimited use of the city's excellent transport system. We made great use of the metro system. The Les Corts metro station is only 200 metres from the hotel. The walk to and from the station was made even more pleasant by dropping in at Fandango cafebar for a coffee or late night drink. There's a taxi rank near the hotel - but we found taxis quite expensive - around 10 euro into the centre.

What about the hotel itself? In some ways a bit of a mixed bag. Staff were fine and check in was easy and quick. Reception staff spoke pretty good English and were very helpful. The accommodation was ok but probably would have expected something better for a hotel claiming a four star rating. The sofa was badly worn and marked and was the first thing one saw on entering the room. However, the lounge area, small kitchen, bedroom and bathroom were spotless. Linen and towels were changed daily. There was a generous supply of toileteries and other consumables in the bathroom. A broken shower head was replaced very shortly after being reported. The small kitchen provided the basics although there was no kettle, tea towel etc. This didn't bother us as we intended to eat out - and I think it was possible to obtain additional items from reception. On a couple days we returned to the hotel to have our lunchtime snack and the nearby supermarket was a good source of sandwiches, drinks etc.There was a shortage of information in the room and we had to make journeys to reception to find out about the safe deposit box (free with 20 euro deposit) and wi-fi details(free).

Materials to construct the apartments appeared to have been the cheapest available. Soundproofing is awful and be prepared to be wakened every time one of your neighbours flushes the toilet! Our bathroom door was so badly warped by steam that it did not shut. On the positive side there was plenty hot water and good pressure.

We took the bed and breakfast option. It was good value for money and the dining room was attractive. Only complaint was that the "hot" food was, at best ,tepid and we didn't bother with it after the second day.

As some others have pointed out, there is a Harley Davidson dealership and a "motocafe" next to the hotel. I think this could generate quite a lot of noise and I would recommend a room looking towards Diagonal Avenue.

Would we go back? Probably. We liked being able to leave the bustle of the city behind and to have a relaxed drink without having to clutch our bags, cameras and phones. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards Diagonal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dougal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservas_atenea, Director de Recepción at Aparthotel Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to give your opinion to help us provide better service.
Also thanks for choosing us as the place to spend your staying in Barcelona.
Looking forward to welcome You next time you come to our city.
Best regards,

Atenea Aparthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
#166 of 515 in Barcelona
777 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#216 of 515 in Barcelona
736 reviews
Les Corts
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
#261 of 515 in Barcelona
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madanis Hotel
#268 of 515 in Barcelona
478 reviews
Les Corts
Arenas Atiram Hotels
Arenas Atiram Hotels
#383 of 515 in Barcelona
213 reviews
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#210 of 515 in Barcelona
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Atenea

Address: Joan Guell 207-211, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#177 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £46 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Diagonal Ave, at the heart of the city's business, financial and commercial area, Aparthotel Atenea is part of a new modern architectural complex.It has 105 appartments of 35m2 each with a bedroom, sitting room, bath and kitchen fully equipped with all kinds of services. Buffet breakfast with over 60 home-made products to start your day with a smile. Other services: Parking, internet connection, 6 meeting rooms, restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Atenea Barcelona, Catalonia
Aparthotel Atenea Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing