We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff and remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
Ranked #220 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Aside from the isolated location and the unwelcoming staff, the rooms are actually very nice for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampstead30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 1,188 reviews

An Accor traveller
Grenoble, France
2
Reviewed 7 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The hotel is really basic, compared for instance with IBIS hotels in places like Dubai, where the rooms are spacious and very modern. Very small rooms, sometimes only a bed, no chair. It is clean and in a neat neighborhood. Has been renovated and the beds are now much better and comfortable than in past years. Good sleep. Nearest metro station about 7 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vienna, Austria
11
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel staff were all nice, helpful and attentive. The room was kept clean. The temperature in the room could be regulated, there was no unpleasant smell, I did not hear my neighbours because the walls were thick enough. Free Internet at the lobby. The breakfast was just fine with me. Price is right. Hotel is next to a shopping complex. It is a bit of a walk from the metro station but it's Line 1 so with it, you can go to many tourist spots without changing line(s). I had an accident next to the hotel and the hotel staff helped me get a taxi and explained to the taxi where to take me. He also explained to me how to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I have been in this hotel for the formula 1 race in May. It s a typical Ibis one, clean and with very helpful stuff. As I was travelling with a friend of mine, I asked for a room with two beds and instead of giving me a room with two single ones, they were so generous to offer us a triple room!!! Of course one of us had to sleep on the single bed, but the friend of mine sleeping on the double was comfortable enough. The breakfast for Barcelona s relation was cheap, and very tasty with high standards of quality. What I really loved is that the personal is speaking several foreign languages such as English, German and French, which made our stay very convenient. Next to the hotel, there is a practical shopping center with plenty of Cafes and Restaurants (I loved the American one), metro and another rail station as well, which brought us to the Airport and Montmello. The only disadvantages would be maybe, that it was impossible to open our window to ventilate the room, that the Internet had cost 10E per day and the size of the room, which is a little crappy.

All in All, the hotel is a good average hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank distance10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The staff were very accomodating to our request for an additional night. The location was good to facilities and the staff explained the transport options extremely well. I enjoyed my time in Bacerlona and would certainly recommend the Hotel to other friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

You know what you are getting when you book an IBIS. The room, bar and breakfast could be anywhere on the planet.

So what is different about this.

Car Parking - it's in the shopping centre next door. It felt safe as there was security on site 24hr. Not that expensive when the hotel discount is taken into account. You would be better dropping luggage off in the street outside the hotel first before parking. This isn't a problem as there is plenty of space and not traffic wardens. We had a satnav (GPS) and used the co-ordinants from google earth to pinpoint where to go.

Location - It's about a 10 min walk to the metro. Which links you to the centre of Barcelona. The walk is pleasant and seemed very safe with lots of people around at all times or the day and night. Lots of people jogging, playing football, playing basketball, walking, strolling or just sitting and watching the world. One tip is to but a carnet of ten metro tickets. This can be used by a group and not just by one person and can be used on buses. We felt safe on the metro, although it got very hot towards the end of the day in the stations (the trains have aircon).

Shopping - the shopping centre is a bit of disappointment and is not really an outlet centre. The department store next to the hotel, El Corté Ingles, is great. All 7 floors! It even has a food department (supermarket) on the lower ground floor. Great for stocking up with water and picnic stuff.

Eating - Only have breakfast at the hotel, which was adequate. The restaurants in the shopping centre are average. Better to go into the city centre to eat. My favourite was the one on the top of the stadium shopping centre at Espanya (there's a metro station there). Great views of the city from the top. Remember they eat later in Spain (9pm+).

This hotel is not 4/5 starts, but you know that when you book. The staff, who all speak English, are very helpful. There is free internet in the lobby via a PC, but there is only one PC. Other than that you have to pay (free wifi in McDonalds in the shopping centre). The rooms are on the smallish side but I do not expect to spend much time there other than sleeping.

I loved Barcelona. I would go there without question again. There is so much to do and see.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view. Buy a metro 10 ticket which can be used by more than one p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#197 of 516 in Barcelona
2,015 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#175 of 516 in Barcelona
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amrey Sant Pau
#244 of 516 in Barcelona
736 reviews
Hotel Torino
#385 of 516 in Barcelona
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Barcelona Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Barcelona Meridiana

Address: Paseo Andreu Nin 9 | Heron City, 08016 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#135 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#172 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £49 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Barcelona Meridiana 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Barcelona Meridiana hotel is 10 min by metro from the centre of Barcelona, 6 km from the beach. Its bar serves snacks 24/24. The hotel has 143 air-conditioned rooms and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Located in the HERON CITY leisure centre, the hotel enables its clients to enjoy all the attractions on offer: bowling, restaurants, cinemas, swimming pool, golf course. Public covered parking is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Barcelona Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana Hotel Barcelona
Accor Barcelona Meridiana
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing