We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for our special stay in Barcelona”
Review of H10 Itaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Itaca Hotel
Ranked #186 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base for our special stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I booked a two night stay at the H10 Itaca hotel for my wife's 50th birthday. I e-mailed the hotel before we arrived to explain the reason for our visit, not really expecting to get too much in return. I got a very prompt reply from one of the reception staff called Esther.

On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome and a glass of cava, a tradition of the hotel. When we arrived at our room, to my wife's surprise there was a lovely cake and a message waiting with a very nice bottle of cava in an ice bucket. Also the room had been upgraded to a superior from a standard, overlooking the pool rather than the road at the front.

This a nice hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again. As other guests have said it is a little out from the centre of Barcelona, but where is the centre of Barcelona. All the main attractions and places to see are very spread out around a vast metropolis that is Barcelona. It is very close to the main railway station, only 3 stops to and from the airport and you can pick up the Barcelona tour buses from this station as well. We hadn't been to Barcelona before, so we did the east and west routes on the bus, so pretty much saw everything.
There is also a shopping mall very close, it was once a Bullring.
Back to the hotel, the breakfast was very good and included everything you could ask for your first meal of the day. The terrace and plunge pool area is very nice to sit out on and have a drink, snack or evening meal.The hotel is kept very clean and tidy, it has a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very good, informative, kind and professional.
i would like to thank all the staff at the H10 Itaca Hotel for making my wife's birthday a very special one and our first visit to Barcelona a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    544
    140
    40
    20
See reviews for
143
626
55
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is well located to the train station and cabs are easy to get out the front of the hotel. The rooms are very small. They serve a wonderful breakfast with a large choice to satisfy all cultures. The only downfall was the house staff who were a bit rude as they refused to give us an extra towel and then three attempts to get an extra pillow delivered to the room. There are many food choices all within walking distance which are good value for money. Competitively priced.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small, there is nowhere to store any pieces of large luggage for two people and had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The title sums it up really. The hotel is very nice and rooms more than comfortable, the staff are very friendly and attentive. At first it seems like it the hotel is a little too far out of the main areas to see and do in Barcelona, which if you are going for the nightlife and shopping it probably is. If you are sight seeing it is not. The city centre is about 7-8 euros away in a cab. But you can get the tourist bus from the main bus station which is a few hundred metres away and it's first stop is Camp Nou then the next stop is the city centre. There is a lovely shopping centre about 1 mile away that used to be a bull fighting arena. The shops here are really good and there is a some good tapas to be had.

In all if I were to visit Barcelona again I would probably stay a little closer to the city centre, but I wouldn't be disappointed if I was staying here again. The pool area is also really nice

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel would be better if you sleep with the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crispy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our trip to Barcelona. It was our first time here and the hotel made a fun and enjoyable trip even better.

We were welcomed by lively and friendly staff who accomodated our needs from the word go. Here are the highlights:

Convenient Location - Sants train and metro staions are minutes walk from the hotel and so airport travel and travel in and around Barcelona is seemless. A supermarket next door and several backstreet cafes within a stones throw.

Great Staff - Always happy to help and have great knowledge of Barcelona and soon became our source of truth. Esther in particular was extremely helpful, she would map out exactly where we needed to go for sightseeing or buying local goodies. We wanted a quiet and secluded beach and she kew the spot.

Quality Rooms - always cleaned to a high standard and with good quality facilities. The only gotcha is that you could hear some of the noise outside when parties were going on etc. But this doesn't happen often.

Good Breakfast - decent selection of hot and cold items at a modest price. Would liked to have seen more veggie (or better still halal) options though.

Overal, this hotel is a great place to stay and superb value for money. Thanks again Esther for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Minimise noise by getting a room that is high up and facing away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheresMyShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great choice for one night in Barcelona. The train station is within walking distance, the hotel was nice and clean, offering a welcome drink upon arrival. There was a patio/pool area which we did not use, but looked very nice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is very good located, easy and fast to reach from the airport (30 minutes by Renfe) and also close to the metro station so you can be in the city very easily.

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable and nice. Upon your arrival you receive a welcome drink. There is a plunge pool and a nice pool bar with lots of cocktails. Food is very good, with a wide variety for breakfast and also nice m

Room Tip: Rooms looking to the pool are more quiet than those facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Director General at H10 Itaca Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear vavera,

In behalf of all H10 Itaca staff I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel during your stay in our city and thanks too for sharing your experience with us with all TripAdvisor community.

For us is very important to know the opinion of all our guests.

We appreciate your comments and we will work hard to convert your 4/5 rating in a 5/5 during your next visit.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely hotel with excellent service and staff. Lovely to be greeted with a glass of bubbly, bar lounge area very quaint and relaxing. Rooms very clean and just enough.
Try the jacuzzi on the roof - we had it to ourselves and loved the views over the city at night with a glass of wine in hand - perfect last night.
Very good for access to a main train station which runs straight from the airport, couldn't be easier. Also underground metro station is 5 minute walk away, cheap and quick into the centre. Good locations without being in and amongst it and without paying over the odds. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair4cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Director General at H10 Itaca Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Clair4Cc,
Could you imagine how important is for us to have feedback from all our guests?
That's why I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and of course for choosing as your lodging option during your last stay in Barcelona.

Me and all H10 Itaca team is so proud to know that guests like you are having great experiences with us.

I hope to see you again in our Hotel or in one of our 52 hotels worldwide.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#92 of 512 in Barcelona
1,622 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#124 of 512 in Barcelona
508 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#341 of 512 in Barcelona
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
#130 of 512 in Barcelona
901 reviews
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#86 of 512 in Barcelona
698 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 512 in Barcelona
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Itaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Itaca Hotel

Property: H10 Itaca Hotel
Address: Avenida de Roma 22, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Itaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Itaca is ideally situated in the heart of the Eixample neighbourhood, very close to Sants Station (AVE) and the Montjuïc exhibition centre. You´ll be impressed by the hotel´s recent refurbishment with modern and innovative touches to the front entrance, Front Desk and Lobby Bar. The hotel´s new features include a plunge pool on the revamped Chill-Out Terrace and the Itaca Restaurant, which offers select signature cuisine in the evenings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your H10 Itaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Itaca Barcelona
Hotel h10 Itaca
H10 Itaca Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing