We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Paral - lel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Paral - lel
Ranked #112 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the triple room for 4 nights. For the money, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and spacious, and also very quiet at night. There was some building work going on in the hotel but this did not disturb us. My only criticism would be that the shower curtain did not go all the way round the shower which meant it was quite easy to get the bathroom floor very wet. I also thought that the hotel could provide hairdryers in the room. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting cheap accommodation in a central location in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHols1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    515
    138
    33
    12
See reviews for
161
528
99
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The upgrading of rooms led to so much noise it became unbearable to relax

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We found Hotel Paral-el easily, just round the corner from the metro and were surprised that we could have a gentle stroll to the Rambla in about 10-15mins, it must have been less than a mile. The cafes near the hotel were really cheap but the area had a real buzz of locals rather than tourists - which is of course what we tourists want - to not be near loads of tourists! We felt perfectly safe, even late at night and every one was really friendly. The hotel was clean and tidy - no complaints at all. Some other reviews have mentioned thin walls but I think this is a symptom of not having carpets - everything is a lot more echoy. However we didn't find this a problem at all. Single beds pushed together could be a problem as if you rolled into the middle you might disappear down the gap as the beds slid easily on the tiled floor. All in all a good hotel for the money (we paid 66.10 euros a night).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_walker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Myself And my boyfriend stayed at the hotel parallel recently. It is only a 2 star but I think this is because it doesn't have a bar or pool. When staying in Barcelona you don't really need this. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the ramblas, and the metro station is a 5 minute walk which is the easiest and fastest way to get around Barcelona. The hotel rooms are clean and there is a maid service every day. Couldn't ask for a better hotel or better location gor value. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

hotel is in the old city and the surrounding are quite "pictoresque". 5 min from metro station and about 10 min walk to Ramblas. rooms have been recently renewed and were clean and comfortable. hotel personnel can speak English. Only bad surprise was that breakfast was not included and we didn't know and had to pay 20 EUR more per day but that was fault of the internet portal venere.com which didn't stated it clearly as it usually does. would recommend it for a trip to barcelona with modest budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dell3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

PROS
- very easy to find
- easy access to Las Ramblas
- easy access to the Metro
- very clean
- late night eats if you get into the city late
- SAFE IN ROOM
- free wireless
- helpful concierge/front desk
- clean
- close to other attractions like Musee National and Poble Espanol.

CONS:
- in double rooms, there are only two twin beds. Not ideal for couples. Not the softest but you get what you sign up for.
- tucked in a side street off the main road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rammiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had no problem finding the hotel. The directions given in the hotel's website were very good. The hotel is located in a central avenue in Barcelona, not far from Las Ramblas or Plaça d'Espanya. The "metro" station is near the hotel and not hard to find. There are also some bus connections available. Next to the hotel you can find a Burger King and a KFC, as well as several cafés and restaurants. There are some supermarkets and convenience stores nearby (LIDL is at a five minute distance from the hotel, in case you want to buy some groceries).
The people working at the reception as well as the cleaning ladies were very nice. They were very helpful whenever needed, and prompt to answer any request we might have.
The bedroom was nice, well furnitured, with all the basics you might need. The safe was a plus, in case you want to save something valuable. There was a LCD TV, which seems to have replaced the old TV sets you see in some of the old pictures from the hotel. There is cable TV, though almost every TV channel is either Spanish or dubbed into the Spanish language, which is a big downer and a disappointment if you understand nothing of the language. Needless to say the TV will be of no use unless you know Spanish or Catalan. The alternative is to listen to music in one of the two TV music channels or watch the news channels (the only couple of channels in English that were not dubbed).
When the reservation was made it was said that the bathroom had shower and bathtub facilities. There was a shower, but no tub. The bathroom is very nice though. It was obvious they had had recent renovation work done.
One of the things that was not so good was the fact that renovation was being done in other rooms, especially in the morning (when people are supposed to be sleeping). The hotel had notes apologizing for the inconvenience, which was very thoughtful of them, but still, it would have been nice to know of it before we got there. Plus, renovating during a low season would probably be a better option (but of course we have o idea what was behind the decision to do it at that precise moment).
The room was always clean, the cleaning ladies did a good job making sure everything looked nice and neat.
The hotel faces either the small street or the building behind it, so there is nothing amazing about that. But then again, you are not paying a five star hotel with a great view over the ocean.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, so I have no comments on that.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to a friend. It's a great two star hotel, nicely located, clean, with a nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dejoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
SmartRoom Barcelona
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
383 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#110 of 513 in Barcelona
1,887 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#168 of 513 in Barcelona
1,257 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,829 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paral - lel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paral - lel

Property: Hotel Paral - lel
Address: Poeta Cabanyes, 5-7, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#87 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paral - lel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Paral - lel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parallel Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Paral - Lel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing