We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Paral - lel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paral - lel
Ranked #129 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is our 3rd stay in Barcelona (we have relatives an hour's train ride away), and the best hotel by far!! It's situated in a quiet side street yet within easy walking distance of La Rambla, La Font Magica, the beach , Montjuic and lots of tapas bars and cafes. An earlier reviewer mentions only fast food outlets yet a few doors down the same street is one of the most popular tapas bars favoured by 'Lonely Planet' Quimet i Quimet. We found plenty of cafes close by where we could enjoy a coffee and croissant for 2 euros with the locals and evening meals were generally cheaper than La Ramble area as more Spanish eat in this area.
We booked a basic double room but were given the Junior Suite which was spacious, clean and very quiet. Plenty of towels and toiletries were provided as well as use of a free safe and min fridge. It was hot whilst we were there so we were grateful for the free air con.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful but I did not expect them to be tour guides, there are plenty of books around to fill that gap!
The wi fi didn't work for us but there was a computer to use free of charge in the reception area..
Easy to get to from the airport. We caught the Aerobus to Placa d'Espanya and then walked down Ave del Paral.lel, although you could catch the Metro from the square as there is a Metro stop at Paral.lel.
All in all, excellent value for money and very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chickpeaYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paral - lel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Paral.lel for a few days with a girlfriend. The hotel had all the basics: in a safe enough area for two female travelers, a couple of blocks away from a metro station, clean rooms and quiet enough to sleep in. Bonus: free wifi.

I didn't love the location. There are lots of food places around, but they seemed like mostly fast food-type options including a Burger King and KFC - which could be a good thing depending on your interests. It didn't seem like a part of town where the fun goes down. I felt like we had to leave the area to get to proper tapas bars and other sights.

The staff was professional, but not overly friendly. If you're looking for someone to recommend activities or happily play tour guide, this is not the place. But, if you're content to do your own thing, find your own way and just need a comfortable place to sleep, this hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeishaInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

even though the walls were thin we had great sleep for the 2 nights that we were there. The place was very clean. I loved that Burger King was just across from it as we didn't always want to spend too much on food prior to our cruise. It is also only a 15 minute walk to La Rambla and 30 minutes to Placa Catelunya. I will definitely stay here again if I go back to Barcelona... the price is right and atmosphere good enough. All in all i recommend this place highly ... i have travelled quite a bit and I'd say for the money this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here for one night before my cruise. What a lovely hotel! Service was great from the start: easy reservation process, different rate options and great price. We booked a standard room for€72 inc bfast and taxes, bargain. A few days prior to my stay I got an email from the guest manager asking if I needed anything or help on how to get to the hotel. Hotel is very central and close to metro station.

Our room was very modern and well decorated. Comfy bed, TV, safe, etc, all in the room. Bathroom was very stylish. It's a 2 star, but its much better than other 2 stars I've stayed. Bfast was simple, but had everything you'd expect: breads and pastries, yogurts' cheeses and bacon, juices and fresh fruit. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JulesM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Hotel is in perfect location, just few metres from metro station Parallel. So it is pretty easy get to every tourist location. Walking distance from La Rambla is around 10 min. Location is nice, not dangerous. Hotel is very clean, with very nice bathroom with black tiles. We had a big balcony, the view from balcony wasnt the best, but doesnt matter. Twin bed with firm matresses. Good price for the hotel in the city centre. Definitely could be more than two stars hotel.. Staff was ok. Only thing which was very disturbing was a noise from another people in the hotel. We stayed in the room close to an elevator, heard noise from midnight until 3 am and then again from 8 am. If will be not noisy i will even give more points.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A hotel in the city and close to subway. Perfect rooms for sleeping and being in the city. Maybe not to "hang at the hotel" due little common spaces. But I would go back and its good value. Maybe they should inform about tourist tax at checkin and get more lockers in bagageroom!

3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the end of September, we booked directly with the hotel and got breakfast included.
Hotel is set down a side street so you don't hear the road noise from main road, Paral lel. The hotel is quite noisey but this is from other guests.
Rooms are of good size and are clean. Mini bar and telephone in your room should you need it. The power shower was a welcome relief after walking around barcelona all day. You don't get much of a view from your hotel room but we were not there for the room view.
Wifi is included in your stay but we couldn't always access it from our room on the 1st floor.
Breakfast was basic, tinned fruit, yogurts , salami, cheese, bread and cake but there was something different every morning.
Hotel receptionists were very helpful and hotel provide a good, accurate free map.
Hotel is about 15 min walk into La Ramblas area and about 15 mins walk to the Mountjuic fountain. We got the train from the airport, it took us about an hour so only used one journey up on the T-10 ticket. This was easy enough but when changing lines, we had to carry our cases down a few flights of stairs.
Had an excellent stay, hotel staff were friendly, hotel is clean, lots of amenities close by, 100m from metro stop, would def recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodlebasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#165 of 513 in Barcelona
625 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#167 of 513 in Barcelona
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,940 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#113 of 513 in Barcelona
1,932 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paral - lel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paral - lel

Address: Poeta Cabanyes, 5-7, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#87 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £64 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paral - lel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paral - lel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parallel Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Paral - Lel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing