We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Gothic quarter.”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #355 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Gothic quarter.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked flight, hotel and transfers with Easyjet. Everything went easy peasy. Delighted with location of hotel. We had room 506 for 4 nights. This was on Floor 5. We could step onto the balcony and see the rooftop views and the Cathedral. The staff were outstanding, spoke very good english and solved our problems with phone calls to transfer agent and even charged up the iphone and told us where to find a connector which we had left at home. The room was very comfortable with extra pillows. We liked the buffet breakfast which was continental fare, fruit and spanish dishes like Paella, tender beef stew, spanishe chicken with peppers in wine. You won't be hungry till late afternoon! There is a large lounge to relax in on the ground floor, snack machines and the 2 lifts work well. When you check out your luggage can be left behind the locked reception if your flight is later. To the left of the hotel is the Ramblas, lots of fast food franchises. A Sports Bar to see footie. To the right is a square where there is a tourist office. They give you maps and info. Get the Museum pass here to beat the q's. The hotel is very near the Picasso Museum and Gaudi's Palau Guell. Both recommended. Overall we had a very relaxing stay and would revisit.

Room Tip: Upper floors such as 4 and 5 at the front looking down onto Calle Ferran.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    668
    511
    185
    144
See reviews for
325
692
86
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived at the Rialto hotel on march 31 around 930 AM. We asked for a room with balcony, and were very happy to get the key on arrival. The room (218) was on the second floor facing the very busy Ferran street. The room was clean, bathroom spacious enough and it looked as if it was remodeled lately. Water presuure in the shower a bit slow. We stayed four nights, and the Airconditioning was working fine. Breakfast was very nice, and even included a few local dishes like paella, jamon and more.
As for the location, the hotel , in the heart of the Ghotic Quarter is a few minutes walk from La Rambla, the Boqueria market and the shopping area around the Placa Catalunya. We strongly recommrnd taking the Red City Tour bus for two days, if you are interested to get to most attractions.
We will stay again at the Rialto on our next Barcelona visit.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony, street view, a must for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a declared 3 stars hotel. We have been there as a part of a vacation deal (low budget) - weekend/ So, here is an honest review:
Pros: Great location - you can get to many attractions by foot, quiet, small and clean rooms, new bathrooms. No special accessories in the room but we would not expect too much from 3 stars hotel.
Cons: our room had a weird (sewage) smell coming from the bathroom which you suprisingly get acclimated to after 5 min and don't feel it unless you go outside and come back. The window could not be locked (and there were bars). The bad is Ok but I woke up with a backache (I am not sure that it was completely the mattress's fault). The breakfast is awful (I had better in an hostel in Belfast).
The elevator (1 out of 2) was broken and we had to use stairs many times if we did not want to wait. The service was fine, however one representative (Adolfo) declined us a simple free local phone call when we wanted to find out details about our flight home.
Room safe costs money (+they use a key and not a PIN - which theoretically can easily be copied).
No free WiFi even at the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask about view and check the room before accepting it. Safe costs 2 Euro/day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 353DavidK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Rialto has a winning location. In the middle of the gothic quarter and only three minuets walking from the Rambalas ave. you won't find a better place to stay while in Barcelona.
Beside the great location the hotel offers simple (sometimes tiny ) rooms. The bathroom is functional and was nicely decorated.
ours had a balcony to the street which was nice but you must have the window closed at night for there's noise from the bars around. Try to ask for a room that doesn't face the street..
The breakfast room is large and variety is good.
To sum it all, a very good choice for a reasonable price in the heart of Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked to go on a cruise from Barcelona, this was the hotel that came with the package. Was not expecting too much, but got to say we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is in a fabulous position, just of the Ramblas and in the Gothic Quarter, very close to all the good things to do in Barcelona. The room was ok for one night with every thing you need. It was on the fourth floor, did not have a very good view, If staying longer I would ask for a higher room with a view or balcony, but what do you need for one night! The breakfast was the usual continental style with ham ,cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, breads, juices, tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or balcony, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIKE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good location close to La Rambla but my room 228 was very small, no view, squeaky bed, and lots of corridor noise from banging doors and chatter. Paper thin walls. At over £70 a night for single occupancy it is well overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goleta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location in the Gothic Quarter was the reason we chose this hotel as it was so perfect for walking around that area. The hotel itself was also nice, rooms were clean, and we asked for one on the top floor with a balcony which was really nice. But, the service is what we felt made this hotel just 'average'. When checking in it seemed like we were bothering them to do so; overall didn't get a friendly vibe at all. Paying 2 euros an hour for wifi was also ridiculous and so inconvenient so we always just ended up going to a coffee shop for wifi. There's no frige or microwave or iron in the room, and overall it was good for just the bed and shower. So pick this hotel if you want the location and a place to rest your head at night but if you're looking for friendly service and a little more amenities there's plenty of other hotels in the area to choose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a balcony; ours was room 606 and we had a view of the top of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#228 of 512 in Barcelona
258 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#310 of 512 in Barcelona
48 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#461 of 512 in Barcelona
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#317 of 512 in Barcelona
532 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#318 of 512 in Barcelona
596 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#254 of 512 in Barcelona
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: Carrer de Ferran, 40-42, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rialto 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rialto is one of the most centrally located hotels in Barcelona and also one of the most popular thanks to its unbeatable location, close to las Ramblas, the port and the Boqueria market. Its privileged location in the tourist and commercial centre of Barcelona and its excellent value for money make it a safe bet to enjoy their visit to the city. The Hotel Rialto is located in the popular Gothic quarter of Barcelona, next to the Ramblas. From here you can reach in a few minutes walking landmarks of the city, such the market of la Boqueria, Plaza Catalunya, the Liceu or Cathedral in the oldest part of Barcelona. In the surrounding streets you will find, in addition, numerous bars and restaurants. The Rialto Hotel sits on a historic building in the Centre of Barcelona, which was the birthplace of the famous Barcelona artist Joan Miro. The hotel has 205 rooms with simple decor while functional, with wooden floors and modern bathrooms. All the rooms have air conditioning and heating, bathroom with shower or bathtub, hair dryer, magnifying mirror and amenities, telephone, safe (charges apply) and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Rialto Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing