We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much better!”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #349 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Vigneux-de-Bretagne, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

On a very positive note, the hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing in the centre of Barcelona. The rooms are clean and a reasonable size and if you go directly to the site they offer deals including breakfast and wifi included in the room rate. On the down side, the hotel had many student group bookings and the reception area was frequently crowded and consequently when returning of an evening the hotel was quite noisy in the corridors close to our room. Breakfast was always really busy and you needed to queue for everything. Can't complain about the choice or quantity of food but very bland! The service at the reception wasn't bad but they need to sort out their computerized key system. Ours went wrong 3 times in 5 nights stay. Little improvements would have changed my review from a 3 to a least a 4. I would however stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    654
    488
    177
    137
See reviews for
310
664
83
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denman Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel does have a superb location - however for the price they should not nickel-and-dime you. Two Euros a day charge to use the room safe!! Two Euros for one hour of Wi-Fi!! This is ridiculous. That said, the staff were reasonably efficient and friendly and we found the room clean and the bed comfortable. We would have appreciated more fresh fruit for breakfast and weren't sure how long the alleged croissants had been stored to make them so stale. We were there for eight nights and really appreciated the fact that we could walk to nearly everywhere we wanted to see in the city.

Room Tip: Higher floors may experience lengthy waits for the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked one nights stay at the Rialto Hotel for stay prior to a cruise. We had booked two rooms one double and one single. On arrival the reception staff were friendly and very efficient. There were no single rooms available so we were given two triple rooms. I have read varying reviews of this hotel but we found it very clean and welcoming. The rooms were very different room 100 had only a small frosted glass window which looked into a small area at the centre of the hotel. The second room overlooked the main street with balcony. Both were fine.
The hotel had a large number of children/students staying and they were very noisy but things settled down after 11pm. Having earlier enjoyed a walk along the nearby las ramblas we settled for the night. At 0030 hrs we were awakened by a delivery of linen into the store room next to our room, so noisy that the toiletries were knocked from the shelves/sink in our room crashing to the floor. Having spoken to the deliveryman and reception the nightwatchman said the management knew about this and he would report it. Shortly after 7am we were again awakened by the maids unpacking the same linen and stacking it in the corridor outside our room. The reception staff told me to speak to the manager. I later did, she shrugged her shoulder and said there was nothing she could do and told me to tell my travel agent!!
what started so well ended so bad with a rude manageress who didn't care. The Hotel and breakfast were great the location ideal, shame about the noise and managers attitude.

Room Tip: avoid room 100 at ALL costs, rooms overlooking the street are bets with much more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked flight, hotel and transfers with Easyjet. Everything went easy peasy. Delighted with location of hotel. We had room 506 for 4 nights. This was on Floor 5. We could step onto the balcony and see the rooftop views and the Cathedral. The staff were outstanding, spoke very good english and solved our problems with phone calls to transfer agent and even charged up the iphone and told us where to find a connector which we had left at home. The room was very comfortable with extra pillows. We liked the buffet breakfast which was continental fare, fruit and spanish dishes like Paella, tender beef stew, spanishe chicken with peppers in wine. You won't be hungry till late afternoon! There is a large lounge to relax in on the ground floor, snack machines and the 2 lifts work well. When you check out your luggage can be left behind the locked reception if your flight is later. To the left of the hotel is the Ramblas, lots of fast food franchises. A Sports Bar to see footie. To the right is a square where there is a tourist office. They give you maps and info. Get the Museum pass here to beat the q's. The hotel is very near the Picasso Museum and Gaudi's Palau Guell. Both recommended. Overall we had a very relaxing stay and would revisit.

Room Tip: Upper floors such as 4 and 5 at the front looking down onto Calle Ferran.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived at the Rialto hotel on march 31 around 930 AM. We asked for a room with balcony, and were very happy to get the key on arrival. The room (218) was on the second floor facing the very busy Ferran street. The room was clean, bathroom spacious enough and it looked as if it was remodeled lately. Water presuure in the shower a bit slow. We stayed four nights, and the Airconditioning was working fine. Breakfast was very nice, and even included a few local dishes like paella, jamon and more.
As for the location, the hotel , in the heart of the Ghotic Quarter is a few minutes walk from La Rambla, the Boqueria market and the shopping area around the Placa Catalunya. We strongly recommrnd taking the Red City Tour bus for two days, if you are interested to get to most attractions.
We will stay again at the Rialto on our next Barcelona visit.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony, street view, a must for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a declared 3 stars hotel. We have been there as a part of a vacation deal (low budget) - weekend/ So, here is an honest review:
Pros: Great location - you can get to many attractions by foot, quiet, small and clean rooms, new bathrooms. No special accessories in the room but we would not expect too much from 3 stars hotel.
Cons: our room had a weird (sewage) smell coming from the bathroom which you suprisingly get acclimated to after 5 min and don't feel it unless you go outside and come back. The window could not be locked (and there were bars). The bad is Ok but I woke up with a backache (I am not sure that it was completely the mattress's fault). The breakfast is awful (I had better in an hostel in Belfast).
The elevator (1 out of 2) was broken and we had to use stairs many times if we did not want to wait. The service was fine, however one representative (Adolfo) declined us a simple free local phone call when we wanted to find out details about our flight home.
Room safe costs money (+they use a key and not a PIN - which theoretically can easily be copied).
No free WiFi even at the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask about view and check the room before accepting it. Safe costs 2 Euro/day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 353DavidK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Rialto has a winning location. In the middle of the gothic quarter and only three minuets walking from the Rambalas ave. you won't find a better place to stay while in Barcelona.
Beside the great location the hotel offers simple (sometimes tiny ) rooms. The bathroom is functional and was nicely decorated.
ours had a balcony to the street which was nice but you must have the window closed at night for there's noise from the bars around. Try to ask for a room that doesn't face the street..
The breakfast room is large and variety is good.
To sum it all, a very good choice for a reasonable price in the heart of Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#247 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#453 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#353 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#250 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#287 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: Carrer de Ferran, 40-42, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rialto 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rialto is one of the most centrally located hotels in Barcelona and also one of the most popular thanks to its unbeatable location, close to las Ramblas, the port and the Boqueria market. Its privileged location in the tourist and commercial centre of Barcelona and its excellent value for money make it a safe bet to enjoy their visit to the city. The Hotel Rialto is located in the popular Gothic quarter of Barcelona, next to the Ramblas. From here you can reach in a few minutes walking landmarks of the city, such the market of la Boqueria, Plaza Catalunya, the Liceu or Cathedral in the oldest part of Barcelona. In the surrounding streets you will find, in addition, numerous bars and restaurants. The Rialto Hotel sits on a historic building in the Centre of Barcelona, which was the birthplace of the famous Barcelona artist Joan Miro. The hotel has 205 rooms with simple decor while functional, with wooden floors and modern bathrooms. All the rooms have air conditioning and heating, bathroom with shower or bathtub, hair dryer, magnifying mirror and amenities, telephone, safe (charges apply) and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Rialto Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing